Advertiser Disclosure

Beanstream Internet Commerce Review

Compare

Beanstream Internet Commerce Review

Advertiser Disclosure: Our unbiased reviews and content are supported in part by affiliate partnerships, and we adhere to strict guidelines to preserve editorial integrity.

Taking $3,000 per month or less in card payments?

You’ll save with Square

Date Established
2000
Location
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Tom DeSimone
Based in New York’s Hudson Valley, Tom has written for Merchant Maverick since 2013. His work is cited by publications including TechCrunch, Washington Business Journal, and Bank Advisor. He currently serves as Partner Marketing Manager, where he works to connect exceptional brands with the readers they serve best.



To learn more about how we score our reviews, see our Credit Card Processor Rating Criteria.
Leave a comment

16 Comments

Responses are not provided or commissioned by the vendor or bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the vendor or bank advertiser. It is not the vendor or bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

    Gaetano Moccia

    Organization Name: lorenzaonline

    Something funny is going on at Bambora aka Beanstream in February they were withdrawing money from my account and they told me that it was a charge back and I never saw it coming never heard hide or hair until the money was taken out. Finally they told me it was from an account that was dormant I had not used it for 2 years and shut the site down a year ago so how did that happen? still not sure but they told me that they will refund my money on on April 15 still the money never came then they told me that it would be on April 25th so I am waiting. I looked at my bank account April 20th and another withdraw now what are we merchants pay for there takeover with creative bridge financing.I Want my money period

    1
    • Organization Name: lorenzaonline
    Bambora

    Organization Name: Bambora

    Hi Gaetano,

    We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. While we would never charge for an account that has been closed, sometimes mistakes can be made for a dormant account that we still have on file. Again, we are sorry that you had to experience a delay in the refund, but we have been able to confirm internally that the money has found its way safely back to you. If you have any further questions, please contact us.

    We wish you the best of luck,
    Bambora

    • Organization Name: Bambora
    Matthew Robinson

    In april this year the large majority of our customers had historical payments, previously processed by us, debited from there account.This resulted in some customers having thousands of pounds debited from there account in one hit with no prior notice.We was informed that Beanstream had re-processed a large number of previous transactions due to a technical issue.This had a substantial negative effect on our business. Our customer service department was inundated with customer complaints for 2 weeks.We had over 30 customers cancel with us leading to us losing an estimated £6000 worth of payments in May.Loss of future revenue from the customers that had cancelled.In May we received 29 chargebacks that directly resulted from the Beanstream error.We are nowstruggling to gain a new payment merchant facility due to volume of chargeback in May.To date we haven’t even had full explanation of what happened or apology from Beanstream.

    1
      Jonah Brown

      SproutPOS is not worth getting. Use Square for a POS and get a Debit/Credit reader from a provider like Helcim. It has bad formatting and it took several emails just to have receipts the items purchased. The online dashboard is just as bad.I just wrote my 12th request for a full refund and they keep delaying the email saying they are looking into it. There is no Terms of conditions available online or Refund policy. Although they provide information saying their merchants should do this: http://www.beanstream.com/boarding/website-requirements/. I did finally get to see the termas and conditions after 3 email requests to see it.Customer service up to the refund request was good and quick.I ended up switching to Helcim. Great company.I you choose to use SproutPOS, don’t buy it! Getting a refund is an apparent pain. Ask for their refund policy and terms and conditions before you do anything.

      1

        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

        Jonah Brown

        They finally gave me my refund.

        2

          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

          Beanstream

          Hi Jonah,

          Sorry to hear all the trouble you had with sproutPOS. With it being in beta we did have a few kinks to work out, but that isn’t any excuse, so we do apologize. We have listened to your feedback and have since hosted our terms and conditions on the new sproutPOS website and made our refund policy more clear.

          Thanks for the feedback. Wish you the best of luck,
          Beanstream

            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

            Amber

            We’ve used Beanstream for the last two years, at my developer’s request. There is a ludicrous amount of paperwork compared to any other processor that I’ve dealt with, getting a response from a human that sounds like anything but a well-trodden excuse is impossible, and they seem to look for any opportunity to have me sign off on higher rates whenever I am requesting a change (for instance adding USD processing somehow triggered a document with triple my current monthly rate for CAD processing). Maybe this was once a worthwhile company, but I think those days have passed. I shall be taking my business elsewhere.

            1

              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

              Beanstream

              Yikes! It sounds like we dropped the ball. We apologise, that is not how we want our merchants to feel or be treated. We are working to nix all paper apps and streamline the onboarding process with our online web signup. I couldn’t look up your file without your last names so have limited information on your support and sales profile. If you would like us to explore your case further please contact us.

              We wish you the best of luck,
              Beanstream

                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                Rob Oswin

                After 12 years in business together, I am presently having a dispute with Beanstream and they literally keep dropping my calls??? I am on the 4th call now trying to get a refund, but I guess they don’t want to talk about it… Not cool Beanstream, Keep your money!

                1

                  This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                  Beanstream

                  Sorry about that! That was not cool, we have issues with our phone lines for a few days back in November but the issue has since be resolved. We are really sorry about the extra hassle you went through to get your refund. We have also enabled live web chat to avoid this kind of situation again!

                    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                    Xavier

                    Beanstream is the biggest joke! After spending thousands of dollars with them, they realize that their system was approving transactions without actually having the funds. What are they going to do about their faulty system? Absolutely nothing, and our business is taking a substantial loss. Do yourself a favor, avoid Beanstream, you’re better off paying a bit more to avoid huge losses down the road. Customer service = 0/5. Accountability = 0/5. The first issue we come across, they leave us hanging. AVOID BEANSTREAM.

                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                      Sam

                      We been using beanstream for over 3 years staff loves it and client have no problem , so we don’t have to worry about payment process !More time to take care of other things !Sam

                      5

                        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                        Steve Walsh

                        I have used Beanstream for over 8 years and have found them to be great. My only criticism would be they hang onto your money for too long, they deposit the funds into your account at 12 midnight of day 3 so basically 4 days, which for me is too long. Rates are negotiable depending on sales volume.

                        4

                          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                          Steve Krenz

                          We have been setting up our merchant account with BeanStream, and building our store for the last several months. We are just now opening up our store for business and the first sale we get back was declined because Beanstream doesn’t accept Discover or American Express since we are a US based company. WHAT?!! We’ve been going back and forth for months and this was never brought up. Beanstream’s rates are very competitive and had great reviews so I was excited about working with them, but this has changed everything.

                          1

                            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                            Jay

                            I have used these guys as my gateway for 4 years now with not one complaint, and recently reviewing my processor for a change (chasepaymentech) Beanstream was very helpful in this matter. The on-line system is fairly easy, reporting is well done, really no complaints.Do shop around for Beanstream partners for a good rate.This review was spot on.

                            5

                              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                              jim peddle

                              Thanks for the writeup on this company and please update as you get more data.

                                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                              Leave a Reply

                              Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                              Your Review

                              Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.
                              Please read the "User Review and Comment Policy" before posting.

                              Share