Advertiser Disclosure

Flok Review

Compare

Flok Review

  • 39 comments
  • Updated on:
Advertiser Disclosure: Our unbiased reviews and content are supported in part by affiliate partnerships, and we adhere to strict guidelines to preserve editorial integrity.
Date Established
2011
Location
NYC, Tel Aviv Israel
Phylicia Joannis

Phylicia Joannis

Phylicia is a freelancer, indie author, and Google addict. She used to scout all of New York’s free venues in her spare time, but now she’s reviewing loyalty rewards software for Merchant Maverick. Her professional background includes technical writing and research, though she’s also fluent in toddler gibberish. When she’s not crying over spilled milk, Phylicia enjoys reading, writing, and conducting random Google searches.



Leave a comment

39 Comments

Responses are not provided or commissioned by the vendor or bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the vendor or bank advertiser. It is not the vendor or bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

    Laura

    Organization Name: Vitruvia

    Worst rewards app! There refer a friend feature is hidden so nobody has been able to use it. Customer service is terrible. I’m supposed to get email notifications when someone posts a question and even though that feature is turned on I don’t get them. Save your money because this is worthless!

    1
    • Organization Name: Vitruvia
    Pepe

    Flok has been nothing but a parasitic leech to our bank account. The service really did nothing positive for us since our customers found it difficult to use their app. We cancelled our account and sent their useless beacon device back, and they still continued to charge our account. They even charged $100 claiming that they never received the beacon back. If you want a parasitic leech on your bank account, sing up with flok. If you don’t, stay away from this useless company.

    1
      Veronica Mijares

      I asked the manager to please cancel my Flok account. He said he wouldn’t cancel it until I send the white beacons back. We did send the beacons back and after they got it, we got charged again. They refused to give us the money back. They don’t tell you they will charge you auto renew even if you cancel with them. Do not do business with them, they have tons of bad reviews. When you call they just tell you it was something you agreed to, but can’t show you your signature or agreement at all and don’t respond.

        Lisa Cyrulik

        Flok charged me an annual billing for an account I deleted a year ago. I have tried to reach them via email to customer support AND their Facebook page and have received no reply. If I attempt to log in to my account it shows “suspended” because they are unable to process payment. That’s pretty interesting… since I’ve been charged the money!! This is terrible business conduct.

          Chris Ryan

          Lisa, we canceled your account as requested and even issued a full refund on your account – but you still felt it necessary to say that our service was poor? I’d hope you’d reconsider especially since we’ve contacted you, confirming the cancelation and issued a full refund.

            Elaine

            Can someone please contact me??????

              Skip Strong

              After reading such a slew of negative comments (all of which received a courteous explanation and rely from Flok), I felt it was necessary to submit my honest review. My business: Tubby’s Ice Cream has used paper punch rewards in the past with limited success. I spent a lot of time checking out the features and details of a great many mobile rewards apps, before deciding on Flok. We were offered very good promotional pricing which Flok would honor every year as long as we maintained our account. Since signing up the customer service has been top notch! I was helped with the initial start up phase, as well as the few follow up questions that we had shortly after getting started. My representative has followed up since by checking in to make sure that everything was running smoothly. We have enthusiastically and actively launched our reward campaign. A visit to our website will demonstrate my point. To date our success with the Flok app has been outstanding. If you expect to sit back and do little or nothing to promote your program, you will get just that; little or nothing. I love the back office data that we can access on our office computer, or right from my mobile phone. The program gives us great flexibility and allows us to contact our customers with specials that only club members can get. This flexibility has given us the ability to acknowledge our customers by making then feel appreciated and welcomed. Flok works especially well if you incorporate it with social media, such as Facebook, and Twitter. Don’t listen to all of the one star reviews, and remember there are two sides to every story.

              5
                Katherine Minks

                Terrible customer service. App is too complicated for a small business. You’d need one person just dedicated to drawing customers in on the app. They auto renewed our policy without notice for the current year After our year was up. When we asked to be reimbursed since we were cancelling, they said no refund for a year we didn’t even use service! Augh

                1
                  Chris Ryan

                  Thank you for the feedback – getting customers to join your club is the goal of every loyalty program – every successful business knows that getting members on the app is the only effort required for immediate ROI. And while we could have even helped market you to our massive ecosystem of users – the magic just doesn’t happen with no ones effort. Regarding your payment, your subscription renewed per the plan you selected but you never contacted us or went online to cancel, nor did you send back our beacon device. If you want to cancel and not renew – you just need to tell us! I hope this helps.

                    Doris Salicrup

                    This application doesn’t respond they offer. They didn’t full fill what they said. Finally the sales person was gone and noboby knows anything. They over charge in a month and didn’t return the deposit. I can tell the application don’t work at all.

                    1
                      Chris Ryan

                      Hi, we never charged you anything – you didn’t even sign up directly with flok.com. You signed up with your credit card processing company and they were the ones billing you. I’d hope you’d consider updating your review since we haven’t billed you anything, especially more than we were supposed to. And if you’re seeking a refund of some sort, again – you should contact your credit card provider – since we haven’t billed you. Hope you’d really consider revisiting this review since it seems to be a misunderstanding.

                        Debbie McMenemy

                        BUYER BEWARE!! I signed up for the annual subscription with Flok, and it includes an AUTOMATIC RENEWAL! If you don’t contact THEM before hand then they just run it on through without any notification whatsoever! And then you cannot cancel it until the year’s subscription has run out. Sneaky business practices in my opinion.Horrible customer service; very difficult to find a way to contact them on the app, completely unclear when your renewal is coming up, and they don’t bother asking. The rep made it my fault/responsibility to contact them before renewal without any notification from them. Best companies will send you a notification 30 days before renewal. That is NOT who these people are.Also, there aren’t enough businesses using flok to really drive any business my way. Not enough users for me. I would recommend checking how many businesses are really signed up in your area before you sign up with these guys.

                        1
                          Chris Ryan

                          You can contact us anywhere, perhaps at the ‘Contact Us’ section on the website. You can also call us directly since our phone number is published on the website. You can even contact us here per the conversation we’re having now. We send emails over the course of your entire life cycle with us, in fact – we sent you an email 25 days before you were billed. We hoped this was an indication that you’re still paying us but thank you again for the feedback.

                            Nancy Henrichsen

                            Worst customer service of any company I have dealt with. No follow-up at all after implementation or following that time to make sure you are getting what you need from this platform. No reminder that your annual subscription is about to renew and hit your credit card. No refunds once that payment has hit even though you cancel one day after the renewal anniversary. Not one ounce of compromise from customer service on refund of subscription even though you have not used the platform and certainly do not want to renew it, and failed to remember exactly when your auto renewal is going to hit. I would never recommend. If there was a negative star rating, that’s what this company would get.

                            1
                              Chris Ryan

                              Thank you for the feedback. You got a dedicated Account Manager (me, personally) for your annual subscription of just $199 for our PRO plan – which we gave to you at a 10X discount. We also contacted you to give you a personal tour when you first got started and followed up over the course of your whole first year with us. Customer service like this for just $199/year – but it sounds like you’re defining customer service as issuing refunds no matter the case. You have 365 days to cancel your service and you can do so with anyone, at anytime, for any reason, with no notice and no cancelation fees. The only rule being if you want to cancel your renewal, you just need to do so anytime over the course of that entire year. I reviewed your case and saw this did not happen – but wish you nothing but the best in the future.

                                Ann vapor Gautier

                                i ordered this about a year ago at $199. i run a small business by myself. their rep contacted me a couple of times to set it up. he said it would take about 1/2 hour. i had his number and just never had time to call and get it set up. last week the charged another $199 to my bank acct. i tried calling them that day and the next to get my money refunded. they finally called me back today, a week later. and of course they can’t refund my money. i’m not suprised. so they have gotten me for $398 for a product i never used.

                                  Chris Ryan

                                  Hi Anne, I saw the notes and see that Ross contacted you to help you on 6 separate occasions but was never able to connect with you directly. You can cancel with anyone, for any reason, at anytime, with no notice and no cancelations fees. We also do offer a 14 money back guarantee so if the cancelation comes in 14 days of when you start, we’ll honor a full refund. If at any point you want to cancel you can – you just needed to tell us. I’ve ensured your account has been canceled and there shall be no further charges.

                                    Jake Richards

                                    Tried to cancel subscription before trial ended, but the call center (based in Canada, not New York) did not return calls in a timely manner. Two weeks of phone tag, they cancelled my service, but failed to tell me that they were still charging for the full year. If I’d known that was the case, would have just kept it for the year. Atrocious customer service, highway robbery. Cancel after 14 days, but you can’t cancel on-line, you have to wait for them to call, but it takes days and days, by which time you are SOL. Will tell everyone I know to stay far far away.

                                    1

                                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                      Chris Ryan

                                      Jake – I’d really appreciate if you were more truthful in your review. We don’t have a call center and we are certainly not located in Canada – so I really have no idea what you’re talking about. We’re not hard to contact – our number is 1-855-85-LOYAL (right on the website) and it rings right to my staff in New York. I also contacted you personally and we sent you several emails with no response. The reason you were charged for the year is because that is the plan you selected, and we only heard back from a month and half after we gave you a free trial. It sounds like your confused so if you wish to discuss this, contact me – I’m easy to find 🙂 chrisr@flok.com. Also, if you return the device we sent you (we sent 3 emails asking you to return this) I’ll also credit your account for the beacon fee.

                                        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                        Daniel Bergbauer

                                        ShockingWell this app is well thought out for the US market, its not up to standard for what the Australian market needsApp fails ll the time and this makes the customers madonce you leave the service they even when saying they will not continue to charge your account and then after contact reverse the amount which is fine but we on the Australia end get charged fees for this poor customer service totally not impressed

                                        1

                                          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                          Sean Webster

                                          We have been using Flok for about 2 years now and have thoroughly enjoyed working with this company. Our account rep, Chris Ryan, has been an awesome asset. He has always been able to handle any issue that we’ve had and if he couldn’t, he would find someone to help us asap.

                                          Technology is always going to have issues, but what really stands out about this company is the customer service and timeliness to take care of that issue. I will continue to recommend and refer to our clients to use Flok for their business. Thanks for being awesome guys!

                                          P.s. Did I mention that they have some seriously awesome product features that keep customers engaged and coming back.

                                            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                            Michael

                                            “Nickel and Dime Operation”
                                            After having been promised that there was a “Constant Contact type” component to the product, we bought the year only to learn it was pretty much in “beta”.
                                            As they were less than responsive to questions as well…
                                            We therefore elected to opt out (for now) and asked to be charged for the 1 month we tested and refunded the balance, only to be refused.
                                            Instead, they took us for $294 and lost any possibility of revisiting the possibility of us as a Client.
                                            Should have paid more heed to there previous name and rating w/the BBB…I’d stay away from these guys

                                              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                              Chris Ryan

                                              Hi Michael, thanks for sharing your feedback. When you selected that annual plan, we gave you a significant discount on our standard pricing (I invite you to confirm this on our pricing page). As a result, we don’t prorate the service again in the event you’d like to cancel the service after the 14 money back period we also gave you. You can cancel at anytime with anyone for any reason with no notice and no cancelation fees. The only rule we implement is if you sign up for an annual agreement and change your mind a month later – we don’t issue refunds retroactively on top of the discount we already gave you. If you have any other questions please don’t hesitate to contact me.

                                                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                Ricardo Flores

                                                I really don’t know why all the comments are negative? I’ve been using Flok (formerly LoyalBlocks) for almost two years now at my restaurant. I will admit, it had it bugs when it first came out, but now it seems to work flawless on every single customers phone. Not only that, it increases business by a lot because it literally has so many features built into it to help you bring back previous customers. There are other loyalty reward programs, but none come close to Flok. I am literally about to cancel a “Belly Card” contract after only using it for one week (i wanted to see if it was better than Flok). I am willing to pay the $650 early cancellation fee to Belly after only using it one week, because I know in the long run switching from Flok to any other loyalty program would only make me lose more money.

                                                5

                                                  This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                  Chris Ryan

                                                  Hi Ricardo, Thank you so much for the feedback! We’ve truly enjoyed having your business on the app and it looks like your customers have too 🙂 should you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me personally. Chris RyanChrisr@flok.com

                                                  5

                                                    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                    Phillip Dane

                                                    BEWARE! If there were a way to leave no stars I would. After receiving many “sales” calls reminiscent of used car salesman, I reluctantly agreed to try this company and their virtual punch service out. As soon as the payment was made, no follow up at all until the subscription was due. And beware, it’s an automatic renewal! And even all that would be okay to be honest. BUT.. The service is horrific. They sent a little white box (claimed they sent 3) and you are to place it at your location so when people walk in that have you in their loyal block aka Flok it should register them as 1 visit. There’s a setting to make it so that they can’t come in again and get a nothing “virtual hole punch” but it didn’t work and people were coming and requesting their free dinner. Chris and Ross claim to be willing to help out even in posts on this site. It’s all BS. They are now attempting to charge me $70 even after I explained that it was a real disappointment that I wasted $150. I asked that they not charge me any additional and perhaps I would try them out later when they get the kinks out but that was met with, “no, pay us $50 and we will not send you to collections” – Like I said, “used car dealers” and clearly they are a small outfit of scam artists who if they had a product that had value they would have been smart and said, “no problem, hope to have you back some day” Oh yes, they are charging me $100 per little white box (even though they sent 1) – Rip Off Company! Don’t buy the hype. There are other companies that have integrity you can go with. Just read all the reviews before dropping your hard earned cash.

                                                    1

                                                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                      Chris Ryan

                                                      Hi Phillip,

                                                      Thanks for your feedback. We very obviously have automatic renewals for all plans (monthly, quarterly, annual) as clearly defined on our website and comparable to almost all subscription based businesses. We sent you 3 emails after your account was suspended due to non-payment notifying you that you needed to send us the beacon back (this is also on the website). I can see the read receipts on all these emails that they were all received and opened – it appears you just ignored them.

                                                      Regarding the functionality of the beacon – there very much is a setting to deter multiple checkins, in fact – all customers cannot checkin more than once in a 3 hour period. We also offer a tool under your settings to adjust this if you want the checkin frequency to be higher or lower.

                                                      Since you got started, you’ve had your own dedicated support team (who you even named here) who reached out to you several times via email and left several messages with no response – if you wanted to talk, we’ve very much easy to reach (even on posts here).

                                                      After your credit card declined for payment and you refused to pay even part of your past due balance – we suspended your service (30 days later) and kindly asked you to return our device. We still haven’t got that device back and because your credit card declined, you haven’t been billed the replacement fee. Can you kindly send this back to us please?

                                                      If you wish to discuss anything with us please don’t hesitate to contact me personally and best of luck in your future endeavors.

                                                        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                        Manuel A Delgado

                                                        BEWARE!!!!!!! DO NOT SIGN UP FOR FLOK!!
                                                        Flok is an app I looked at trying for my business. They were quick to take my money, but silent when I tried to get support and then cancel my service. Then the “director” laughed at me on the phone when I asked for a refund. For me, it’s not about the money, it’s about the service and theirs is HORRIBLE!
                                                        Please share and spread the word.

                                                          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                          Chris Ryan

                                                          Hi Manuel, We spoke frequently throughout your service with flok so not sure why you felt we were hard to reach. I even reached out proactively with some tips to help you grow your business since you were struggling with new sign ups. It sounds like what you’re actually upset with is that we didn’t issue you a refund, even after we gave you 30% off our service fee. When we prorate our services for the quarterly plan you selected – we don’t also prorate that fee again in the event you wish to cancel. Sorry we couldn’t make this work for you but best of luck with your business in the future.

                                                          5

                                                            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                            Manuel

                                                            When I have emailed customer service and no one responds after multiple attempts, that’s what I would classify as “Hard to reach”. Having you laugh in response to my frustration, that’s what I would call “Poor customer service.” Our business has over 85+ years and loyal customers. I think I have learned a thing or two on how clients should be treated. You fall short. I am happy to have my subscription ending and will take the money I wasted as a lesson learned and a warning for others not to invest.

                                                              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                              Chris Ryan

                                                              We take the service side of our business very seriously and each client gets their own dedicated consultant – you worked with me personally. We never got an emails from you and you had my personally contact info – I never got any emails either. I’m not sure what gives you the impression I’m laughing at your frustration – I’m addressing your concerns the best I can. Again, very sorry we couldn’t work with you longer and best of luck in your future endeavors.

                                                                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                Steve

                                                                These people are criminals. I paid them in and advance of launching my business, never got the system set up. They took their money happily. Then decided to restart the service. Paid them for 3 months again and realized their product would not work with my structure. I asked to be refunded 3 days later and they refused. What kind of business does that ? Don’t deal with these criminals

                                                                1

                                                                  This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                  Chris Ryan

                                                                  Hi Steve, when you sign up – your start date is the day your app goes live (the moment your signed up), not whenever your business opens. Your plan (quarterly) renews every 3 months automatically like all plans (monthly, semi-annual, annual). You can cancel your service at anytime, for any reason, with no notice and of course no cancelation fees. While your app is live and you have our equipment your account will remain active. If you didn’t want to start your service until your business what open, you could have done that.

                                                                    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                    Laura

                                                                    Loyalblocks has the worst customer service of anyone on the planet. Their initial 7-day trial isn’t nearly enough time to even begin to get an idea of if the program works – it’s basically just a way to get your credit card number so they can start charging it. They send you a ‘welcome kit’ that doesn’t even show up until after the 7 days are over. I’m glad I ran across the review above, otherwise I’d have no idea that the box needed to be returned. Do NOT sign up with this company.

                                                                    1

                                                                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                      Chris Ryan

                                                                      Hi Laura, sorry to hear you’re disappointed in our customer service – but what you’re describing here is customer service, it’s that 7 days isn’t enough time for you. Please note: the 7-day ‘start free’ plan isn’t a trial, it’s just a courtesy so you can see your app live, demo the punch card and push notifications and all our other features. No loyalty solution would offer a trial in 7 days, it just takes longer to build value. Those 7 days are meant to give you chance to test drive the app before you’re billed anything. And, if you want to cancel in that period – you’re billed nothing. And depending on where you are, shipping might take a few days but that’s fairly standard. Regarding the return of the device, we send 3 separate emails over the course of 30 days notifying you that you still have our device and it needs to be returned – and included therein are instructions where to return the device. Hopefully those 3 emails clear up the confusion here.

                                                                        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                        Debbie

                                                                        Loyal Blocks? They make it almost impossible to cancel and will continue to Bill you even though you’ve stopped using their service, disabled their device and mailed it back. There’s many complaints on the BBB.

                                                                        1

                                                                          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                          Chris Ryan

                                                                          Hi Debbie, you can cancel your account in several different ways and your account will instantly be disabled, and no further billing will be deducted. Whether you call in, email your account manager or our @support.com email, go on our Help Center (which has instructions on canceling your account) or Chat us live on our site – your account will be canceled. I wouldn’t consider it impossible to cancel, but I’m sorry you felt it was difficult. If you feel you were billed anything after your cancelation, contact me personally and I’ll issue you a full refund: chrisr@flok.com

                                                                            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                            Henry Uri

                                                                            Loyal Blocks is the worst, Business Owners Beware of shady sales, billing and cancellations practices and non existing contracts they try to uphold. I cancelled my service a day after they billed me $50 and they wouldn’t prorate me the rest of the month. And they told me because I will still have full functionality and access until the end of the month. That wasn’t so. The rep even emails me that he has disabled my account. On top of that I get a $425 charge for not returning the little equipement box they sent me.

                                                                            1

                                                                              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                              Chris Ryan

                                                                              Hi Henry,

                                                                              If you were charged $425 for the device please contact me personally: chrisr@loyalblocks.com. We’ve never charged more than $189 for the Beacon and I checked your account, I don’t see any charges after your account was cancelled.

                                                                              To answer your question about the service, if you wish to keep your account active until your next bill date – you absolutely can, however I have an email confirmation from you asking for the service to be terminated – which it was.

                                                                              I’m sorry to hear your experience was poor but kindly reach out to me regarding the billing inquiry, I believe you’re mistaken but would love to chat in more detail.

                                                                                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                              Leave a Reply

                                                                              Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                                                                              Your Review

                                                                              Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.
                                                                              Please read the "User Review and Comment Policy" before posting.

                                                                              Share