Flok Review

  • 35 comments
  • Updated on:
Date Established
2011
Location
NYC, Tel Aviv Israel

Overview:

Flok offers marketing solutions to small-to-medium sized businesses via the Flok mobile app.

Ido Gaver and Eran Kirshenboim, both natives of Israel and graduates of Tel Aviv University, founded Flok (formerly called LoyalBlocks) in 2011. The software was originally designed to offer affordable marketing tools to small businesses but has now been adopted by larger chains such as Subway, Dominos and TGI Fridays. Currently, Flok provides service to over 70,000 businesses in the US, Israel, the UK, and Australia.

Managed through a merchant’s dashboard and powered by unique patented technology, Flok offers a quality product at relatively competitive prices. Over the last two years, Flok has begun to emerge as a fully featured, scalable customer management platform with some intriguing new features.

Pricing:

Flok has three pricing plans and provides an option to demo the software before going live. Here are some of the details:

Starter 

  • $19.90/mo ($199/year)
  • 250 Club members
  • 500 push messages
  • Limited email marketing
  • Digital punch card
  • Customer chat
  • Email only support

VIP 

  • $79.90/mo ($799/year)
  • 1000 Club members
  • 1500 push messages
  • 750 emails
  • Analytics
  • Beacon & Autodetect
  • In-app purchases (for customers)
  • Automation
  • Dedicated expert support

Ultimate

  • $119.90/mo ($1190/year)
  • 5,000 Club members
  • 10,000 push messages
  • 5,000 emails
  • All Pro features
  • Package support

Cancellation Policy: Monthly subscriptions can be canceled at any time, but cancellations after the 7 day trial period will not be refunded. If you opt for the annual subscription you will receive a discount, but will be obligated to pay the cost of the full year’s subscription even if you cancel. Any subscriptions that are not canceled are automatically renewed.

Ease of Use:

flok

Overview. It helps to think of Flok as two apps: one for the merchant and one for the customer. Everything about your program will be managed through your dashboard, which can be demoed by creating a merchant username and password on the Flok website. The dashboard is well designed, featuring large boxes and text and complementing colors; it has been simplified and condensed to improve navigation. The layout is also pretty intuitive, with navigation buttons on the left and top right. You’ll find program stats and marketing options on your Home Page.

Setup. Flok takes you through a series of steps to create your app from start to finish. In order to complete your app you will need to complete settings for the following:

  • Design – During this step, you can choose a theme color and upload your logo and cover photo for your app.
  • Rewards – You’ll need to create at least one reward for your customers.
  • Punch card – Set up the number of punches to complete a card, and choose when punches should be given. Punches can be awarded when a customer visits, or when they scan a QR code.
  • Campaigns – This step allows you to select automated notifications for your program.

In addition, you can beef up your loyalty program by adding extra rewards, status cards, campaigns, and promotions. Flok provides other features such as analytics, email marketing, and customer insights, but these features aren’t visible in the free demo version of the dashboard. Flok provides you with an account manager you can contact during the initial setup and for ongoing support.

Customer App Use. For customers, use of the Flok app should be fairly easy. They will need a smartphone to download the Flok app from Google Play or the Apple Store. After the app is installed, they’ll decide whether to allow location tracking and push notifications and/or enable Bluetooth. A Tinder-like step allows the user to swipe left or right on the types of businesses they’re interested in patronizing. Flok has a search feature your customers can use to find your business, and other Flok users can see your business if it’s close by. Once a customer joins your loyalty program you’ll be added to their “My Clubs” list for easy access.

Customers get credit for each visit to your store by scanning a QR code after making their purchase; the app tracks everything else, notifying customers when they are eligible to receive a reward or elevated to a new card status. To redeem rewards, customers show staff their reward or status card on their phone. It’s worth noting that, as a merchant user, you’ll probably want to download the customer app as well to see how many other Flok-using businesses are in your vicinity. The value of the app to the customer goes up significantly the more places they’re able to use it. I happened to be in a less urban area when I gave it a try, but was pleasantly surprised to see a number of businesses within driving distance that were Flok-compatible.

A number of newer features have also been added to improve and expand the functionality of Flok:

  • Chat/Chatbot: This is a really interesting idea that may have variable utility depending on the nature of your business and the availability of personnel. The consumer app has a chat feature that allows your customers to ask questions of a chatbot you can program with a number of set responses. In the event the customer asks a question your bot isn’t prepared for, you can be flagged to enter the chat and answer the question yourself. I don’t have a great sense for how much the average customer would use this feature, but it seems like it has potential. The chatbot can also be programmed with triggers–like birthdays–that will initiate a response or an offer from the bot. This tool has been a major focus of the Flok team of late, so you can expect updates and upgrades to it as time goes on.
  • Email Marketing: The higher-level tiers now offer email marketing which, when combined with the other features offered, goes a long way toward Flok’s goal of becoming a full platform for customer loyalty and retention. It’s not quite a full ESP (email service provider) experience, but if you don’t have very complex email marketing needs, Flok can easily stand in for a dedicated service.
  • Customer Notes: You can now manually make notes about individual customers to help with your own, human-on-human customer interactions (what their favorite order is, for example).
  • Foot Traffic Tracking: This is a new analytic feature that helps give you a sense of how many people are entering your store and when.

Customer Service and Technical Support:

Flok offers phone and email support as well as additional online resources.

  • Phone. You can contact Flok on a general phone line at 1.855.855.6925. If you’re assigned an account manager or marketing consultant, depending on your plan, you can contact them for ongoing support as well. Phone support is available Monday to Friday, and they promise a return call by the next business day if you call after hours.
  • Email. You can email support@flok.com with any issues you have with the software, or email your account manager directly. You can also use the email form available on their Contact Us page.
  • Chat. Web chat is available through the Flok site 24 hours a day. You can get general sales and product information from reps using this feature.
  • Web. In addition to the FAQs and Support Center, you can access video tutorials on Flok’s YouTube page and additional articles on the blog. I found the Support Center to be the most helpful. I encourage you to read the Deals and Rewards section to answer basic questions regarding your loyalty program.

Negative Reviews and Complaints:

  • Billing Complaints. This has been a bone of contention since Flok’s inception, and while the company does have the cancellation and refund policies within the terms of service (now written in all caps), there’s still quite a bit of rancor surrounding the issue. Flok still has a C rating with the Better Business Bureau, and I think a little humanity and better customer relations would go a long way here. I also think Flok’s automatic renewal policy is a bit much. For month to month contracts, forgetting a subscription means you’re out a few bucks. If you initially sign up for an annual subscription, however, forgetting to cancel can cost you several hundred dollars. Here are a few complaints from customers who canceled their Flok subscription:

“…I had cancelled my account 2 quarters ago. Got billed 2x for $60… Went though a hassle to get the refund. I finally did get my money back and my account was closed. Now I got a $100 dollar reoccurring charge. Called back and the so called Supervisor (female) was very rude and wouldn’t even release her name to me as to who I was speaking with…” – M.P.

“…I asked her to please cancel, very nicely. She was so mean and nasty. Told me I should have been paying attention and that she can’t not charge me because I should have been on my game and called 2 weeks ago. I asked her about notification, paper or email, ‘nope, we don’t notify you. It’s your job to be paying attention…'” – Dierdre Q.

“…Cancel after 14 days, but you can’t cancel on-line, you have to wait for them to call, but it takes days and days…” – Jake Richards

  • Program Limitations. This may not be an issue if most of your customer base is technically savvy, but if a considerable portion of your customers are old school or have not-so-smart phones (anything that isn’t an iPhone or Android), Flok is a limited program. As smartphones become more ubiquitous, though, this becomes less and less of a limitation.

Positive Reviews and Testimonials:

You can view a few testimonials from Flok merchants on the company blog. Overall the customer app gets 4 out of 5 stars on both Google play and the Apple iTunes store, and the program has been successful for many businesses. Here are some of the things people love about Flok:

  • Easy to Use. Setup takes a few minutes, and the process for editing your loyalty program isn’t fussy or complicated. You don’t have to install any software, and the program itself doesn’t affect how any of your other systems work. The only thing your employees are required to do after setup is look at a customer’s phone when redeeming rewards. The system tracks your customer’s punch card for you and automates many other functions so you don’t have to do much else.

“…The app is simple, fun to use and both the staff and customers love it…” – Steve Munzer

  • Great Features. Flok has developed some pretty good features to enhance your loyalty program and customer relationships. The company has taken great pains to improve and add to existing features, and it’s not an exaggeration to say that it’s a much better program now than when we last looked at it.

“…The chat feature is particularly amazing and adds a new dimension to remote customer communications…” – Jimmy Branch

  • Flexible Pricing. Flok offers flexible pricing plans to match your business needs. Contracts are optional and promotional offers abound. Knowing what you’re signing up for is the key to a good experience, so don’t be afraid to ask questions about your terms and conditions.

“…Honestly, it streamlines serving your customers, give you a great personal connection at a great price…” – Jared

Features:

For a mobile based app, Flok has a pretty well-rounded list of features:

  • Mobile Customer App. Flok allows you to customize your app with different color schemes and your company logo. The app is available for iPhone and Android users and has fairly decent functionality.
  • Business App. Flok has recently added a business app that allows you to access your program using an iPhone or Android smartphone. The app includes chat features and geo-targeting functions in addition to analytics and other program features.
  • Digital Punch card. The punch card feature within the mobile app tracks your customer visits and rewards. Punches are given in one of two ways: per visit using the check-in feature, or per purchase by scanning a QR code. You can print a QR code directly from your dashboard and give it to your staff to award punches to customers.
  • Auto Check-In. iBeacon technology automates the check-in process, letting you know when customers arrive and allowing you to send customized messages to them while in-store.
  • Mobile App Building. Flok can build an independent application for your company which users can download and access outside of the Flok app (such as the Dominos App).
  • Statistics and Analytics. Flok offers information about your loyalty program through easily understood graphs and charts. Check out a brief demo here. More in-depth data interpretation is offered depending on the plan you choose, but some of the tools offered include:
    • Roi Wizard – The wizard calculates how the Flok program impacts your bottom line… hypothetically speaking. It’s a useful illustration that compares in-store recruitment to recruitment by Flok , but it’s not a hard data analysis.
    • CRM (Customer Relations Management) List – This list gives you information on members in your loyalty program including their last walk in, their current status, and additional notes.
    • In Store Now – This list shows customers currently in your store. You can send direct messages to these customers for promotional offers.
    • Mailing List emails – You can send mass email campaigns using the Flok Invite Contacts tab on your dashboard.
  • Rewards. Rewards created for your loyalty program are divided into two categories: In-store rewards and Status Card rewards.
    • In-store Rewards. There are six rewards you can activate to encourage more traffic for your business:
      • Welcome – This reward is given after a customer joins your loyalty program.
      • Facebook Referral – This reward is given for customer referrals through Facebook. You get to set the values for “X,” and rewards are given in three steps:
        • When a customer invites “X” number of friends to join your loyalty program on Facebook
        • When “X” number of invited friends join your loyalty program
        • When a friend invited through Facebook visits your business
      • Facebook Check-in – This reward is given when a customer checks in on Facebook.
      • Happy Hour – This reward is given on certain days and times of your choice.
      • Lottery – This reward is given to your customers after a certain number of visits; any number of your choice can be used.
    • Status Cards. Flok allows you to reward customers in tiers based on the frequency of their visits. You choose the limits for the Gold and Platinum status and all customers begin with a Silver status. You determine the rewards members can redeem each time a customer shows their status card.
  • Push Notifications. Push notifications send messages to your customer in real time through the Flok app. These messages can be managed in two ways:
    • Automatic Campaigns – Flok has three campaigns that can be activated to automate messages to your customers
      • Visit Reminder – This campaign sends a message to your customers if they haven’t checked in within a certain number of days.
      • Geo-Target – This campaign sends a message to customers within a certain range from your store location.
      • Birthday Special – This campaign sends a message to your customer on their birthday.
    • Custom Reward or Virtual Money Campaigns – These campaigns are customized by you. Set the parameters for the reward, recipients, expiry date, and area.
      • Reward – You can choose from a general offer of your liking or a virtual cash offer of any amount.
      • Recipients – Your campaigns can be sent to Silver, Gold, or Platinum members, or everyone.
      • Expiration Date – You can set the campaign expiration for 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week or 1 month.
      • Area – You can set up a custom area to send your campaign using the map tool or select anywhere.
    • Chat Features – Real time chat functionality between the merchant and the customer.
      • Chatbot – Can be programmed to initiate interactions with customers in your store, or to answer specific customer questions. When it’s unable to answer, it will alert you, allowing you to enter the conversation.
  • Email Marketing – You can keep in touch with your customers with Flok’s built-in email marketing functionality.

Integrations and Add-Ons:

There are no additional integrations or add-ons.

Security:

Flok merchant accounts are protected by a username and password login procedure. The company doesn’t offer any other notable security features.

The Loyalty Test:

So boiling it down to the essentials, does Flok:

Increase Repeat Business? – Yes. Flok is structured to incentivize your customers both short and long term. Digital punch cards encourage short-term loyalty and status cards encourage long-term loyalty. You also have useful marketing tools such as email and push campaigns to encourage ongoing patronage.

Generate new business? – Yes, mainly in two ways: through the Flok network and through social sharing. The Flok app adds you to the larger network, listing your business and its proximity for Flok members to see. Social sharing through Facebook check-ins and referrals also increases exposure and incentivizes your current customers to advertise on your behalf.

Give you a competitive edge? – Yes. Geo-targeting allows you to send notifications to customers in your area at any given time, increasing the likelihood that your efforts will result in foot traffic. Flok technology offers advantages with which paper punch cards simply can’t compete. It saves time, automatically tracks punches and rewards, and offers useful reports and insights that are designed for easy reading.

Final Verdict:

Overall, the Flok product is a viable solution for brick and mortar stores, particularly those that rely on heavy foot traffic. If you’re ready to upgrade to a digital loyalty program or looking for a replacement to your current program, Flok may be a good fit. Many of the technical gripes suffered by previous iterations of the program have been fixed or improved, and new features have been added without sacrificing usability.

The company’s commitment to improving the program shines through with frequent updates and new features. However, while things are looking really good on the technical end, Flok still has some work to do on the customer relations side of things. These issues are not serious enough to justify avoiding the product, in my opinion, but I would suggest a cautionary approach to long-term contracts.  If Flok can shape up on that end, they’ll have a killer app.

Phylicia Joannis

Phylicia Joannis

Phylicia is a freelancer, indie author, and Google addict. She used to scout all of New York’s free venues in her spare time, but now she’s reviewing loyalty rewards software for Merchant Maverick. Her professional background includes technical writing and research, though she’s also fluent in toddler gibberish. When she’s not crying over spilled milk, Phylicia enjoys reading, writing, and conducting random Google searches.
Leave a comment

35 Comments

    Lisa Cyrulik

    Flok charged me an annual billing for an account I deleted a year ago. I have tried to reach them via email to customer support AND their Facebook page and have received no reply. If I attempt to log in to my account it shows “suspended” because they are unable to process payment. That’s pretty interesting… since I’ve been charged the money!! This is terrible business conduct.

    Chris Ryan

    Lisa, we canceled your account as requested and even issued a full refund on your account – but you still felt it necessary to say that our service was poor? I’d hope you’d reconsider especially since we’ve contacted you, confirming the cancelation and issued a full refund.

    Skip Strong

    After reading such a slew of negative comments (all of which received a courteous explanation and rely from Flok), I felt it was necessary to submit my honest review. My business: Tubby’s Ice Cream has used paper punch rewards in the past with limited success. I spent a lot of time checking out the features and details of a great many mobile rewards apps, before deciding on Flok. We were offered very good promotional pricing which Flok would honor every year as long as we maintained our account. Since signing up the customer service has been top notch! I was helped with the initial start up phase, as well as the few follow up questions that we had shortly after getting started. My representative has followed up since by checking in to make sure that everything was running smoothly. We have enthusiastically and actively launched our reward campaign. A visit to our website will demonstrate my point. To date our success with the Flok app has been outstanding. If you expect to sit back and do little or nothing to promote your program, you will get just that; little or nothing. I love the back office data that we can access on our office computer, or right from my mobile phone. The program gives us great flexibility and allows us to contact our customers with specials that only club members can get. This flexibility has given us the ability to acknowledge our customers by making then feel appreciated and welcomed. Flok works especially well if you incorporate it with social media, such as Facebook, and Twitter. Don’t listen to all of the one star reviews, and remember there are two sides to every story.

    5
    Katherine Minks

    Terrible customer service. App is too complicated for a small business. You’d need one person just dedicated to drawing customers in on the app. They auto renewed our policy without notice for the current year After our year was up. When we asked to be reimbursed since we were cancelling, they said no refund for a year we didn’t even use service! Augh

    1
    Chris Ryan

    Thank you for the feedback – getting customers to join your club is the goal of every loyalty program – every successful business knows that getting members on the app is the only effort required for immediate ROI. And while we could have even helped market you to our massive ecosystem of users – the magic just doesn’t happen with no ones effort. Regarding your payment, your subscription renewed per the plan you selected but you never contacted us or went online to cancel, nor did you send back our beacon device. If you want to cancel and not renew – you just need to tell us! I hope this helps.

    Doris Salicrup

    This application doesn’t respond they offer. They didn’t full fill what they said. Finally the sales person was gone and noboby knows anything. They over charge in a month and didn’t return the deposit. I can tell the application don’t work at all.

    1
    Chris Ryan

    Hi, we never charged you anything – you didn’t even sign up directly with flok.com. You signed up with your credit card processing company and they were the ones billing you. I’d hope you’d consider updating your review since we haven’t billed you anything, especially more than we were supposed to. And if you’re seeking a refund of some sort, again – you should contact your credit card provider – since we haven’t billed you. Hope you’d really consider revisiting this review since it seems to be a misunderstanding.

    Debbie McMenemy

    BUYER BEWARE!! I signed up for the annual subscription with Flok, and it includes an AUTOMATIC RENEWAL! If you don’t contact THEM before hand then they just run it on through without any notification whatsoever! And then you cannot cancel it until the year’s subscription has run out. Sneaky business practices in my opinion.Horrible customer service; very difficult to find a way to contact them on the app, completely unclear when your renewal is coming up, and they don’t bother asking. The rep made it my fault/responsibility to contact them before renewal without any notification from them. Best companies will send you a notification 30 days before renewal. That is NOT who these people are.Also, there aren’t enough businesses using flok to really drive any business my way. Not enough users for me. I would recommend checking how many businesses are really signed up in your area before you sign up with these guys.

    1
    Chris Ryan

    You can contact us anywhere, perhaps at the ‘Contact Us’ section on the website. You can also call us directly since our phone number is published on the website. You can even contact us here per the conversation we’re having now. We send emails over the course of your entire life cycle with us, in fact – we sent you an email 25 days before you were billed. We hoped this was an indication that you’re still paying us but thank you again for the feedback.

    Nancy Henrichsen

    Worst customer service of any company I have dealt with. No follow-up at all after implementation or following that time to make sure you are getting what you need from this platform. No reminder that your annual subscription is about to renew and hit your credit card. No refunds once that payment has hit even though you cancel one day after the renewal anniversary. Not one ounce of compromise from customer service on refund of subscription even though you have not used the platform and certainly do not want to renew it, and failed to remember exactly when your auto renewal is going to hit. I would never recommend. If there was a negative star rating, that’s what this company would get.

    1
    Chris Ryan

    Thank you for the feedback. You got a dedicated Account Manager (me, personally) for your annual subscription of just $199 for our PRO plan – which we gave to you at a 10X discount. We also contacted you to give you a personal tour when you first got started and followed up over the course of your whole first year with us. Customer service like this for just $199/year – but it sounds like you’re defining customer service as issuing refunds no matter the case. You have 365 days to cancel your service and you can do so with anyone, at anytime, for any reason, with no notice and no cancelation fees. The only rule being if you want to cancel your renewal, you just need to do so anytime over the course of that entire year. I reviewed your case and saw this did not happen – but wish you nothing but the best in the future.

    Ann vapor Gautier

    i ordered this about a year ago at $199. i run a small business by myself. their rep contacted me a couple of times to set it up. he said it would take about 1/2 hour. i had his number and just never had time to call and get it set up. last week the charged another $199 to my bank acct. i tried calling them that day and the next to get my money refunded. they finally called me back today, a week later. and of course they can’t refund my money. i’m not suprised. so they have gotten me for $398 for a product i never used.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Anne, I saw the notes and see that Ross contacted you to help you on 6 separate occasions but was never able to connect with you directly. You can cancel with anyone, for any reason, at anytime, with no notice and no cancelations fees. We also do offer a 14 money back guarantee so if the cancelation comes in 14 days of when you start, we’ll honor a full refund. If at any point you want to cancel you can – you just needed to tell us. I’ve ensured your account has been canceled and there shall be no further charges.

    Jake Richards

    Tried to cancel subscription before trial ended, but the call center (based in Canada, not New York) did not return calls in a timely manner. Two weeks of phone tag, they cancelled my service, but failed to tell me that they were still charging for the full year. If I’d known that was the case, would have just kept it for the year. Atrocious customer service, highway robbery. Cancel after 14 days, but you can’t cancel on-line, you have to wait for them to call, but it takes days and days, by which time you are SOL. Will tell everyone I know to stay far far away.

    1

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Jake – I’d really appreciate if you were more truthful in your review. We don’t have a call center and we are certainly not located in Canada – so I really have no idea what you’re talking about. We’re not hard to contact – our number is 1-855-85-LOYAL (right on the website) and it rings right to my staff in New York. I also contacted you personally and we sent you several emails with no response. The reason you were charged for the year is because that is the plan you selected, and we only heard back from a month and half after we gave you a free trial. It sounds like your confused so if you wish to discuss this, contact me – I’m easy to find 🙂 chrisr@flok.com. Also, if you return the device we sent you (we sent 3 emails asking you to return this) I’ll also credit your account for the beacon fee.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Daniel Bergbauer

    ShockingWell this app is well thought out for the US market, its not up to standard for what the Australian market needsApp fails ll the time and this makes the customers madonce you leave the service they even when saying they will not continue to charge your account and then after contact reverse the amount which is fine but we on the Australia end get charged fees for this poor customer service totally not impressed

    1

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Sean Webster

    We have been using Flok for about 2 years now and have thoroughly enjoyed working with this company. Our account rep, Chris Ryan, has been an awesome asset. He has always been able to handle any issue that we’ve had and if he couldn’t, he would find someone to help us asap.

    Technology is always going to have issues, but what really stands out about this company is the customer service and timeliness to take care of that issue. I will continue to recommend and refer to our clients to use Flok for their business. Thanks for being awesome guys!

    P.s. Did I mention that they have some seriously awesome product features that keep customers engaged and coming back.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Michael

    “Nickel and Dime Operation”
    After having been promised that there was a “Constant Contact type” component to the product, we bought the year only to learn it was pretty much in “beta”.
    As they were less than responsive to questions as well…
    We therefore elected to opt out (for now) and asked to be charged for the 1 month we tested and refunded the balance, only to be refused.
    Instead, they took us for $294 and lost any possibility of revisiting the possibility of us as a Client.
    Should have paid more heed to there previous name and rating w/the BBB…I’d stay away from these guys

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Michael, thanks for sharing your feedback. When you selected that annual plan, we gave you a significant discount on our standard pricing (I invite you to confirm this on our pricing page). As a result, we don’t prorate the service again in the event you’d like to cancel the service after the 14 money back period we also gave you. You can cancel at anytime with anyone for any reason with no notice and no cancelation fees. The only rule we implement is if you sign up for an annual agreement and change your mind a month later – we don’t issue refunds retroactively on top of the discount we already gave you. If you have any other questions please don’t hesitate to contact me.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Ricardo Flores

    I really don’t know why all the comments are negative? I’ve been using Flok (formerly LoyalBlocks) for almost two years now at my restaurant. I will admit, it had it bugs when it first came out, but now it seems to work flawless on every single customers phone. Not only that, it increases business by a lot because it literally has so many features built into it to help you bring back previous customers. There are other loyalty reward programs, but none come close to Flok. I am literally about to cancel a “Belly Card” contract after only using it for one week (i wanted to see if it was better than Flok). I am willing to pay the $650 early cancellation fee to Belly after only using it one week, because I know in the long run switching from Flok to any other loyalty program would only make me lose more money.

    5

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Ricardo, Thank you so much for the feedback! We’ve truly enjoyed having your business on the app and it looks like your customers have too 🙂 should you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me personally. Chris RyanChrisr@flok.com

    5

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Phillip Dane

    BEWARE! If there were a way to leave no stars I would. After receiving many “sales” calls reminiscent of used car salesman, I reluctantly agreed to try this company and their virtual punch service out. As soon as the payment was made, no follow up at all until the subscription was due. And beware, it’s an automatic renewal! And even all that would be okay to be honest. BUT.. The service is horrific. They sent a little white box (claimed they sent 3) and you are to place it at your location so when people walk in that have you in their loyal block aka Flok it should register them as 1 visit. There’s a setting to make it so that they can’t come in again and get a nothing “virtual hole punch” but it didn’t work and people were coming and requesting their free dinner. Chris and Ross claim to be willing to help out even in posts on this site. It’s all BS. They are now attempting to charge me $70 even after I explained that it was a real disappointment that I wasted $150. I asked that they not charge me any additional and perhaps I would try them out later when they get the kinks out but that was met with, “no, pay us $50 and we will not send you to collections” – Like I said, “used car dealers” and clearly they are a small outfit of scam artists who if they had a product that had value they would have been smart and said, “no problem, hope to have you back some day” Oh yes, they are charging me $100 per little white box (even though they sent 1) – Rip Off Company! Don’t buy the hype. There are other companies that have integrity you can go with. Just read all the reviews before dropping your hard earned cash.

    1

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Phillip,

    Thanks for your feedback. We very obviously have automatic renewals for all plans (monthly, quarterly, annual) as clearly defined on our website and comparable to almost all subscription based businesses. We sent you 3 emails after your account was suspended due to non-payment notifying you that you needed to send us the beacon back (this is also on the website). I can see the read receipts on all these emails that they were all received and opened – it appears you just ignored them.

    Regarding the functionality of the beacon – there very much is a setting to deter multiple checkins, in fact – all customers cannot checkin more than once in a 3 hour period. We also offer a tool under your settings to adjust this if you want the checkin frequency to be higher or lower.

    Since you got started, you’ve had your own dedicated support team (who you even named here) who reached out to you several times via email and left several messages with no response – if you wanted to talk, we’ve very much easy to reach (even on posts here).

    After your credit card declined for payment and you refused to pay even part of your past due balance – we suspended your service (30 days later) and kindly asked you to return our device. We still haven’t got that device back and because your credit card declined, you haven’t been billed the replacement fee. Can you kindly send this back to us please?

    If you wish to discuss anything with us please don’t hesitate to contact me personally and best of luck in your future endeavors.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Manuel A Delgado

    BEWARE!!!!!!! DO NOT SIGN UP FOR FLOK!!
    Flok is an app I looked at trying for my business. They were quick to take my money, but silent when I tried to get support and then cancel my service. Then the “director” laughed at me on the phone when I asked for a refund. For me, it’s not about the money, it’s about the service and theirs is HORRIBLE!
    Please share and spread the word.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Manuel, We spoke frequently throughout your service with flok so not sure why you felt we were hard to reach. I even reached out proactively with some tips to help you grow your business since you were struggling with new sign ups. It sounds like what you’re actually upset with is that we didn’t issue you a refund, even after we gave you 30% off our service fee. When we prorate our services for the quarterly plan you selected – we don’t also prorate that fee again in the event you wish to cancel. Sorry we couldn’t make this work for you but best of luck with your business in the future.

    5

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Manuel

    When I have emailed customer service and no one responds after multiple attempts, that’s what I would classify as “Hard to reach”. Having you laugh in response to my frustration, that’s what I would call “Poor customer service.” Our business has over 85+ years and loyal customers. I think I have learned a thing or two on how clients should be treated. You fall short. I am happy to have my subscription ending and will take the money I wasted as a lesson learned and a warning for others not to invest.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    We take the service side of our business very seriously and each client gets their own dedicated consultant – you worked with me personally. We never got an emails from you and you had my personally contact info – I never got any emails either. I’m not sure what gives you the impression I’m laughing at your frustration – I’m addressing your concerns the best I can. Again, very sorry we couldn’t work with you longer and best of luck in your future endeavors.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Steve

    These people are criminals. I paid them in and advance of launching my business, never got the system set up. They took their money happily. Then decided to restart the service. Paid them for 3 months again and realized their product would not work with my structure. I asked to be refunded 3 days later and they refused. What kind of business does that ? Don’t deal with these criminals

    1

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Steve, when you sign up – your start date is the day your app goes live (the moment your signed up), not whenever your business opens. Your plan (quarterly) renews every 3 months automatically like all plans (monthly, semi-annual, annual). You can cancel your service at anytime, for any reason, with no notice and of course no cancelation fees. While your app is live and you have our equipment your account will remain active. If you didn’t want to start your service until your business what open, you could have done that.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Laura

    Loyalblocks has the worst customer service of anyone on the planet. Their initial 7-day trial isn’t nearly enough time to even begin to get an idea of if the program works – it’s basically just a way to get your credit card number so they can start charging it. They send you a ‘welcome kit’ that doesn’t even show up until after the 7 days are over. I’m glad I ran across the review above, otherwise I’d have no idea that the box needed to be returned. Do NOT sign up with this company.

    1

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Laura, sorry to hear you’re disappointed in our customer service – but what you’re describing here is customer service, it’s that 7 days isn’t enough time for you. Please note: the 7-day ‘start free’ plan isn’t a trial, it’s just a courtesy so you can see your app live, demo the punch card and push notifications and all our other features. No loyalty solution would offer a trial in 7 days, it just takes longer to build value. Those 7 days are meant to give you chance to test drive the app before you’re billed anything. And, if you want to cancel in that period – you’re billed nothing. And depending on where you are, shipping might take a few days but that’s fairly standard. Regarding the return of the device, we send 3 separate emails over the course of 30 days notifying you that you still have our device and it needs to be returned – and included therein are instructions where to return the device. Hopefully those 3 emails clear up the confusion here.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Debbie

    Loyal Blocks? They make it almost impossible to cancel and will continue to Bill you even though you’ve stopped using their service, disabled their device and mailed it back. There’s many complaints on the BBB.

    1

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Debbie, you can cancel your account in several different ways and your account will instantly be disabled, and no further billing will be deducted. Whether you call in, email your account manager or our @support.com email, go on our Help Center (which has instructions on canceling your account) or Chat us live on our site – your account will be canceled. I wouldn’t consider it impossible to cancel, but I’m sorry you felt it was difficult. If you feel you were billed anything after your cancelation, contact me personally and I’ll issue you a full refund: chrisr@flok.com

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Henry Uri

    Loyal Blocks is the worst, Business Owners Beware of shady sales, billing and cancellations practices and non existing contracts they try to uphold. I cancelled my service a day after they billed me $50 and they wouldn’t prorate me the rest of the month. And they told me because I will still have full functionality and access until the end of the month. That wasn’t so. The rep even emails me that he has disabled my account. On top of that I get a $425 charge for not returning the little equipement box they sent me.

    1

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chris Ryan

    Hi Henry,

    If you were charged $425 for the device please contact me personally: chrisr@loyalblocks.com. We’ve never charged more than $189 for the Beacon and I checked your account, I don’t see any charges after your account was cancelled.

    To answer your question about the service, if you wish to keep your account active until your next bill date – you absolutely can, however I have an email confirmation from you asking for the service to be terminated – which it was.

    I’m sorry to hear your experience was poor but kindly reach out to me regarding the billing inquiry, I believe you’re mistaken but would love to chat in more detail.

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Review

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.
Please read the "User Review and Comment Policy" before posting.

Share