Advertiser Disclosure

ShippingEasy Review

Visit Site

ShippingEasy Review

Advertiser Disclosure: Our unbiased reviews and content are supported in part by affiliate partnerships, and we adhere to strict guidelines to preserve editorial integrity.
Date Established
2011
Location
Austin, TX

Pros

  • Excellent customer service
  • Easy to use
  • Numerous integrations

Cons

  • Slight learning curve
  • Some features need improvement

Overview

It takes a lot of faith in a product to brand it with the word “easy.” You’d better deliver on that promise, or suffer the wrath of critics and consumers alike. The other hurdle to deal with is that “easy” isn’t typically associated with quality (e.g. “Easy Mac”). Recording artist Eazy E did well for himself in the hip-hop world, but a relaxed attitude can also be an Achilles’ heel. I guess what I’m trying to say is, the term carries some baggage.

This brings us to ShippingEasy, a Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) application that promises to simplify the fulfillment process for your business. Like many of the startups I’ve reviewed, this company is headquartered in Austin, TX.

The mission for this product is pretty simple: Give business owners the most streamlined shipping experience possible, integrating every major eCommerce platform with an automated shipping system that gives you deep postage discounts. You can enjoy savings up to a 46% discount on USPS rates, and get tracking data synced in real time across all your sales channels. That’s not all, though. If you want to know more, I’ll be covering some of the other features once we get into the bulk of the review. Let’s do it.

Visit ShippingEasy

Pricing

ShippingEasy prices their product based on the number of shipments you send out per month. Each step up in pricing includes more shipments and more personal customer support options. Here are the current plans:

Starter

  • $0/Month
  • 50 Shipments/Month
  • Support: Knowledge Base
  • No Training

Basic

  • $29/Month
  • 500 Shipments/Month
  • Support: Chat, Email, Phone, Knowledge Base
  • Exclusive Setup & Training

Plus

  • $49/Month
  • 1,500 Shipments/Month
  • Support: Chat, Email, Phone, Knowledge Base
  • Exclusive Setup & Training
  • Advanced Dedicated Training

Select

  • $69/Month
  • 3,000 Shipments/Month
  • Support: Chat, Email, Phone, Knowledge Base, Dedicated Account Manager
  • Exclusive Setup & Training
  • Advanced Dedicated Training

Premium

  • $99/Month
  • 6,000 Shipments/Month
  • Support: Chat, Email, Phone, Knowledge Base, Dedicated Account Manager
  • Exclusive Setup & Training
  • Advanced Dedicated Training

There’s also an unlimited Enterprise plan available for businesses with more than 6,000 shipments/month. The Enterprise plan costs $149/month.

In addition, you can choose to add-on ShippingEasy’s built-in customer relationship management and inventory management features for an additional monthly expense. View prices on ShippingEasy’s pricing page.

Accounts can be changed or canceled at any time.

Visit ShippingEasy

Web-Based Or Locally Installed

ShippingEasy is web-based software.

Hardware & Software Requirements

There are no requirements other than a web browser and an internet connection.

Ease Of Use

Happily, ShippingEasy lives up to the promise in its name. The interface is simple and easy to navigate, and it doesn’t take a master class to get everything up and running. Everything is labeled clearly, and I didn’t encounter any obvious bugs as I stepped through the fulfillment process.

The workflow is straightforward. Start by importing your orders into ShippingEasy. All I had to do was enter my Shopify URL, and I was redirected to my Shopify admin. Once there, I clicked to install the ShippingEasy app. When I completed that process, my Shopify orders automatically transferred into my ShippingEasy account.

Once orders have been brought into your account, select the ones you wish to fulfill and click “Create Shipments.” Then, click on the “Shipments” tab above, and you will arrive on the page where you can set your parameters, including the carrier, postage rate, packaging, weight, and so on. You will then have the option to purchase and print your postage or to make the payment and leave the printing step for later.

The printing page gives you the option to print a shipping label, a packing slip, or both. From there, it’s just a matter of physically printing out the materials and you’re ready to ship! The entire process takes less than five minutes.

If you ship a lot of similar products, you can even set up shipping rules to further automate your process. Once you’ve established those shipping rules, you can use the “Buy & Print” button on the “Orders” page to quickly purchase and print shipping labels and packing slips.

There’s also a handy shipping calculator available near the top of your dashboard, which I appreciated.

Overall, I think the software is very intuitive. I didn’t feel the need to run to a help doc at any point. If you have any aptitude with computers, I doubt you will either.

Features

Every ShippingEasy plan includes all of the software’s shipping features. Customer management and inventory management features are available at additional cost. Take a look at some of my favorite features below:

Shipping

  • Low Rates With USPS: Get Commercial Base and Commercial Plus pricing for all USPS products. Take advantage of savings up to 46%.
  • Free Endicia Account: An Endicia account is included with every plan.
  • Multi-Channel Sync: Manage orders from all of your sales platforms in real time. Use CSV files to upload orders in bulk. Sync shipping status and real-time tracking information back to your online stores.
  • Automatic Branded Emails: Send branded confirmation emails to your customers, complete with package tracking information.
  • Compare Rates: View real-time rates and services from multiple carriers.
  • Automated Shipping Rules: Set up shipping rules in order to automate your order fulfillment process.
  • Batch Order Processing: Print multiple shipping labels at a time.
  • Customs Forms: Automatically create customs forms for international shipments.
  • Options For Returns: You can choose to send scan-based return labels or send return labels on request.
  • Discounted Shipping Insurance: Purchase shipping insurance through Shipsurance. Set automation rules to simplify that process.
  • InstantLabel: Print labels automatically when an order is placed.
  • API: Create custom integrations with an API.

Inventory Management (Available at Additional Monthly Expense)

  • Multiple Channels: Manage inventory across all your sales channels.
  • Low Stock Alerts: Set low stock thresholds and alerts so you always have the right products on hand.
  • Manage Supplier Database: Assign products to your suppliers to remember where to reorder your products.
  • Purchase Orders: Create purchase orders (POs) in your dashboard.

Customer Management (Available at Additional Monthly Expense)

  • Multichannel Customer Management: Track customers from multiple sales channels. View customer activity and communications.
  • Customer Segmentation: Form customer groups based on sales demographics.
  • Email Marketing: Create email marketing campaigns and automate those campaigns.

Reports

Aside from the quick reporting stats you see on the dashboard, ShippingEasy has a tab that features more comprehensive reporting, including:

  • Complete Shipping Reports
  • Shipping Destinations
  • Shipping Services
  • Shipping Margin: All, Domestic, & International
  • Unshipped Order Reports
  • Product Sales Reports
  • Custom Reports

Integrations & Add-Ons

ShippingEasy features direct integrations with a variety of online marketplaces, shopping carts, and carriers. Here are a few of those integrated software:

eCommerce Platforms & Shopping Carts

  • Shopify
  • Amazon
  • eBay
  • WooCommerce
  • BigCommerce
  • Volusion

Payment Gateways

  • PayPal
  • Stripe Relay

Accounting

  • Xero
  • Intuit Quickbooks

Inventory

  • Stitch Labs

Carriers

  • FedEx
  • UPS
  • USPS
  • DHL Global Mail

ShippingEasy allows you to connect with many more software programs beyond these options. View the full list of integrations to see if your favorite software solutions are included.

ShippingEasy also provides an API, which allows you and your development team to build a custom connection to any other software you may choose to use.

Visit ShippingEasy

Customer Service & Technical Support

Customer service is one of ShippingEasy’s selling points. (Keep in mind that if you’re on the free plan, you will only have access to self-help support.) The online documentation is extensive and easy to navigate, so in many cases, you may not need to reach out to the support staff.

Here are the available support methods:

  • Support Tickets
  • Knowledge Base
  • Shipping Resources
  • Community Forum
  • Blog
  • Phone Support

Current users report that ShippingEasy’s support is helpful, friendly, and quick to respond.

Negative Reviews & Complaints

The internet is flooded with positive reviews of ShippingEasy, but it was difficult to find any negative feedback. Out of the dozens of reviews that I read, only a handful expressed any complaints about Shipping Easy. Here are a few trends that I noticed:

  • A Few Functions Could Be Improved: Customers have a few suggestions for ways ShippingEasy could expedite their data entry process. I’ve also seen some comments that suggest packing slips customization features could be improved. Fortunately, ShippingEasy has a very active feature requests page, and it appears major issues are quickly escalated.
  • Slight Learning Curve: ShippingEasy’s UI can be a challenge for some new users to learn. After that slight learning curve, however, daily operations should run smoothly.

While ShippingEasy has its weak spots, none of these are fatal flaws. If any of this concerns you, I’d recommend taking ShippingEasy for a trial run before signing up.

Positive Reviews & Testimonials

As I said before, most reviews of ShippingEasy sing the software’s praises. Here’s what commenters talk about most:

  • Good Customer Service: ShippingEasy’s users overwhelmingly report positive interactions with customer support. They say that support representatives are generally helpful, pleasant, and responsive.
  • Easy To Use: Once you overcome the very slight learning curve involved with using any software, you’ll find that ShippingEasy is remarkably easy to use. Any questions you may have are answered in the software’s knowledge base and community forum.
  • Most Platforms Are Supported: A shipping software’s primary purpose is to make fulfillment easier and more automatic. Seamless integrations with eCommerce’s leading platforms and marketplaces make importing and processing your orders a whole lot smoother.

Security

ShippingEasy is protected by HTTPS right from the login page. ShippingEasy is PCI DSS compliant, and they consistently update their security practices to protect your personal information.

Final Verdict

ShippingEasy is a great application that appears to be continually improving. It’s got a usable, easy-to-learn interface, the software runs without bugs, and a very loyal user base speaks highly of the support team.

While it still has a few flaws, the ShippingEasy team seems to be continually working to improve the software and make ShippingEasy an even more user-friendly solution.

I’ll heartily recommend ShippingEasy (especially to small and mid-sized businesses) with a perfect score of 5 stars. ShippingEasy gives you a lot for a good price, has good customer support, and seems to run well. How’s that for easy?

Get Started With ShippingEasy

Liz Hull

Liz Hull

Liz Hull is an eCommerce Writer for Merchant Maverick. In her two years with Merchant Maverick, she has tested and reviewed over 40 eCommerce platforms and published two ebooks on the topic of online selling. Liz has also been published in Startup Nation and Home Business Magazine Online. Liz has a BA in English and Spanish from George Fox University.
Leave a comment

6 Comments

Responses are not provided or commissioned by the vendor or bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the vendor or bank advertiser. It is not the vendor or bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

    Elliot G

    Site and service is good for most sites/carts.My main gripe is they don’t properly support Magento 2 even though they advertise it as supported.Case: A Magento 2 site is configured to process transactions in sale mode: authorizing AND capturing, creating an invoice at time of customer checkout.Their integration creates an extra $0.00 invoice for the order in Mage 2 which requires the clerk to flag as shipped in the magento back end. Big pain in the tail as it requires a couple of clicks per order processed. On a busy site is a major pain for the shipping department.It took them two weeks with a lot of back and forth just to get their support department to identify and acknowledge the problem. The problem was described clearly by me several times. Now that the problem has been identified, they are having their development department look at it.It is scheduled to be worked on at some point, but they are most likely going to freeze it’s release so as not to affect current users during the busy holiday season. Meaning Magento 2 users are S.O.L until after Christmas.Sounds like they could use a better testing framework to me.Hello Shipstation

    3

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      Sarah, ShippingEasy

      Hi Elliot,
      We have great news! As of February 2016, we now support capturing payments for Magento 2 stores. Sorry that this was not added in time for the 2016 holiday season, but we wanted to make sure you got an update that this option is now available in ShippingEasy. We’re including a link below with more information on how to capture your payment for Magento.

      Here is how to select capture payment for your Magento orders, if you don’t already have this option selected in your settings: https://support.shippingeasy.com/hc/en-us/articles/208183303-How-to-Capture-payment-on-Magento-shipments

      Based on the information you have provided, we believe we have also found your previous ticket with our support team and the problem with the 0 invoice in Magento has also been resolved as well. If you are having any further problems , please contact us here: https://shippingeasy.com/contact-us/

        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

        ISIAH PLATA

        Stay away!! The worst shipping solution ever, not because of the company itself but because of the insurance co. (Shipsurance) they use (same thing at the end though). Out of thousands of packages we sent in a year, we did a claim on just 10. Even though they were justified, they paid only one for about $35. Even for small claims they ask you for ridiculous stuff (pictures, affidavits from customers, letters, more pictures, estimates for fixing/replacing items, and so) It is just not worth it. The time you have to spend gathering information, sending emails and documentation back and forth is obscene, they just do it so you get tired of following up on your claim. They use all kind of excuses for not paying; To me, ShipStation is just a way to skim money from customers and ShippingEasy is the channel. They don’t even let you use the shipper’s insurance company, like ShipStation does.

        1

          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

          Sarah, ShippingEasy

          Hi Isiah,
          Sorry for the late response. Though it sounds like you have already found an alternate shipping provider, we wanted to add some comments for anyone else who stumbles across this post.
          We’re sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with our insurance provider, Shipsurance. Adding insurance should give you peace of mind when sending your packages. We completely understand that having to provide documentation to file your claim is frustrating, especially when you already have a lost or damaged shipment.

          Anytime you use a new insurance provider, we recommend that you look at their terms of use to make sure that your packages are compliant with the standards set to file a claim. Here are the terms of using Shipsurance, for your quick reference: https://support.shippingeasy.com/hc/en-us/articles/203082899-Shipsurance-Terms-of-Use

          We’ve also included a couple more links below to help you pack your shipment, and file your claim.
          We have some tips here on making sure your packages are ready to be insured: https://support.shippingeasy.com/hc/en-us/articles/207295713-Know-How-Protect-your-shipments-ensure-delivery

          Here is the process to file a claim: https://support.shippingeasy.com/hc/en-us/articles/204259589-How-to-File-a-claim-with-Shipsurance

          One more note: Shipsurance used to be underwritten by Lloyds of London. However, this is no longer the case. Shipsurance is now underwritten by Voyager Indemnity Insurance Company. Read more at Shipsurance’s website here: http://www.shipsurance.com/about This change may reduce some concerns from the past.

          With that said, we’re happy to help investigate issues with your claims on a case-by-base if you feel the resolution of the claim was incomplete.. We’re here to help!

          Thanks again for sharing your feedback.

            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

            Andres Alvarez

            no work my time, this company have a great costumer services but i dont recommend them for a woo commerce site, they still have to fix issues with the plugging it didnt work as i expect it. to complicated, to much to set up. and if you have more the 100 products you will expect days setting this up. sucks i’m going back to my old way i hope they do good but they didn’t work for me.

            1

              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

              Sarah, ShippingEasy Support

              Hi Andres.
              We’re sad to read that you experienced difficulty with the WooCommerce integration and felt that ShippingEasy was too complicated. We offer a robust feature set to meet the needs of every kind of shipper including a large number of WooCommerce merchants – some just starting out in ecommerce, and some that ship over 5,000 orders per day. There are many ways to use the application depending on how much automation you want to utilize. Yes, if you want to fully automate your process so that purchasing a label happens with just a couple of clicks, there is a bit of set-up involved to teach ShippingEasy how you ship. Of course, our support team is here to make sure that process is simple. However, if you’re less concerned with complete automation, there’s little to no set-up required. Simply pick your label format, selecting your orders, and purchase your shipping labels. We’re sorry our application did not work out for your company, but please reach out to our support team if we can assist in the future.

                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

              Leave a Reply

              Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

              Your Review

              Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.
              Please read the "User Review and Comment Policy" before posting.

              Share