WorldPay Review

  • 69 comments
  • Updated on:

Need Help Choosing?

Click Here

Date Established
1989
Location
Atlanta, GA

Overview:

WorldPay (formerly known as RBS WorldPay) is a worldwide payment processor and acquirer with locations all across the globe. The company has been in business since 1989, when it went by the name Streamline. It helped pioneer Internet-based payments way back in 1994, being one of the first in the market for this service. In 2001, WorldPay opened its U.S. headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia. Today, the company is owned by Advent International and Bain Capital. While WorldPay processes all over the world (as the name suggests), I’m going to be focusing on its US-based services for this review.

Much like Elavon, First Data and Chase Paymentech, WorldPay is a very large processor. The numbers are not easy to find, but if you know where to look, you can cobble together an idea of how big the company is. According to a March 2015 press release, WorldPay processed 10.7 billion transactions, valued at more than $500 billion — or, you know, half a trillion dollars — in 2014. That’s a LOT. If you check out the rather lackluster testimonials page, you’ll see that WorldPay claims to service more than 150,000 businesses in the U.S. alone — not counting its massive international client base.

Generally when you see those types of numbers, you expect to see a ton of complaints, but WorldPay surprised me. Compared to the company’s size, the WorldPay complaint count is actually under the norm. However, the complaints we do see are severe enough to give us pause.

The one thing that I did notice about WorldPay was that many of its merchants were unhappy about the early termination fee. In the past WorldPay would charge a flat $495 if you were to break your contract before the three-year term was up, but the company lowered that amount significantly in 2012. Some merchants have complained of termination fees much higher than that. Regardless, the best way to avoid a cancellation fee is to ask your WorldPay rep to waive it for you — but there are trade-offs.

Last year, we had no problems recommending WorldPay. But we’ve heard what you had to say, especially in regard to customer service. WorldPay gets a 3.5 stars from me. It’s got some progress to make in its sales and advertising transparency, as well as its customer service efforts, before it can regain its former rating of 4 stars. I’d love to see WorldPay providing more educational resources, and maybe even some info on interchange-plus plans, in addition to its other key struggles.

Check out the full review for more information, and be sure to comment with your thoughts!

Products and Services:

WorldPay has pretty standard offerings in terms of products and services. I like the bookkeeping and POS software integration. (We also review POS and bookkeeping services, so make sure you check out our reviews before making any decisions). Overall, I have no major complaints here. Products and services include:

  • Terminal leases/sales: WorldPay can offer you a free terminal, but make sure you understand all stipulations surrounding this deal, some of which I cover later in this review. Also check out our article on buying and leasing terminals.
  • Payment gateway/virtual terminal: Gateways come through Authorize.Net.
  • Mobile payments: Most processors offer options for phone/tablet-based processing, as well as wireless terminals. WorldPay Mobile will supply you with an app and one free card reader (additional free readers offered depending on your processing volume). We haven’t had a chance to check out the app or card reader, but the Google Play reviews for the Android version are positive. The scant iTunes reviews? Not quite so much.
  • Integrated cash register/POS options: To check out your POS integration options with WorldPay, see the list of registered partners here.
  • QuickBooks integration: I always like to see options for integrated accounting software. It can be a huge added convenience for your bookkeeping.

Other Services:

  • Gift/Loyalty card programs
  • ATM services
  • Cash advances
  • Terminal supplies
  • Check processing

Fees and Rates:

Last time we reviewed WorldPay, we noted that it disclosed absolutely no fees on its website. This time, we’re happy to say we have at least some information. Currently WorldPay is offering new merchants three years of guaranteed pricing — but it’s worth reading the fine print.

Here’s what WorldPay is offering:

  • Signature debit transactions at 0.99%
  • Standard credit transactions at 1.99%
  • Rewards credit transactions at 2.6%
  • Corporate/T&E/Keyed-In credit transactions at 3.30%

On top of that, there’s a $0.20 per-transaction fee.

Here’s the fine print:

*Offer expires June 30, 2015. Customer must be new to Worldpay. Requires execution of Worldpay’s standard 3 year Customer Processing Agreement and related Addendum. Subject to credit review and approval. Offer available only to merchants who have processed less than $5,000,000 of credit and debit card transactions in the previous 12 calendar month period. Offer applies only to Worldpay rates for Visa®, MasterCard®, Discover® and PayPal™ credit and signature debit, along with certain other specified fees. Other fees apply and are subject to change. Additional detail, terms and conditions, including early termination fees, are set forth in the related Addendum.

On the plus side, this is very transparent. There’s no “starting at” hedging or other weasel words. It’s better than a provider promising rates “as low as 0.29%” that you’ll never see. However, this is in theory a limited-time offer (I’m always wary of those, because often times they aren’t; it’s just a marketing technique to make you feel urgency). If the page does go away, please let us know! We’ll be keeping an eye on it as well.

That obviously doesn’t cover existing merchants or the people who sign a contract without that guaranteed pricing deal. And WorldPay otherwise does not have any publicly accessible resources on the topic, or pages explaining how rates are assessed.

WorldPay does offer interchange-plus plans, but doesn’t openly advertise this fact. You can also expect to pay the following scheduled fees:

  • PCI compliance fee
  • Statement/administrative fee

…as well as chargeback fees when one occurs.

Overall, you can get sensible pricing options with WorldPay. There are no junk fees and no application fees. I like that it’s not promising “the lowest rates anywhere,” a claim that makes all of my Spidey senses tingle.

Oh, and if you ever get an agent pushing an application fee on you from WorldPay or anywhere else, tell them to hit the road and check out some of our top-rated payments processors.

Contract Length and Early Termination Fee:

At WorldPay, you’ll get the standard contract term of three years, auto-renewing for one-year periods. The early cancellation fee structure is actually a little better than the industry standard. The following fee disclosure is taken directly from a WorldPay contract:

(a) $295.00 per location if such Early Termination occurs on or prior to the first anniversary of this Agreement,

(b) $195.00 per location if such Early Termination occurs after the first anniversary of this Agreement and before the second anniversary of this Agreement, or

(c) $95.00 per location if such Early Termination occurs on or after the second anniversary of this Agreement and before the third anniversary of this Agreement.

Note: The above mentioned cancellation policy is relatively new. In the past WorldPay would charge a flat $495 early termination fee (ETF). Regardless, there’s a simple solution to all this ETF business. Just ask them to waive the early termination fee when you sign up. Make sure that it’s on paper, and that you have a copy of it. That way you won’t have to pay anything to get out of your contract.

Okay, one caveat here. You can get a sign-up bonus with WorldPay of $250-750 depending on your first month’s processing volume. If you’d like to get this cash in pocket, you’ll have to take on the ETF in your contract. But it might be worth the trade-off for you. This offer is also set to expire shortly, but we’ll be keeping an eye out.

Sales and Advertising Transparency:

I don’t like sales gimmicks and I don’t like fine print. These two misleading tactics almost always appear together, where they significantly reduce sales transparency. Beware of the asterisk (*), and be especially skeptical when you see an asterisk but can’t seem to find the fine print footnote.

Free Terminal:

Let’s start with the free terminal sales gimmick. WorldPay claims that if you sign up with them, you’ll get a free terminal or mobile card reader. While some providers actually provide good “free terminal” deals, I don’t like the stipulations involved to claim your (not so) free terminal from WorldPay.

First of all, mobile card readers are dirt-cheap anyway. Square and PayPal literally give them away, no questions asked. So don’t let WorldPay make you think it’s doing you some big favor by sending you a mobile reader. Not to mention the company will charge you for shipping. It’s not expensive, but it’s still something.

You’ll also have to sign up for the standard three-year contract (and termination fee) if you want to qualify for a free mobile reader or terminal.

Speaking of the terminal, these stipulations also apply:

Limit of one free terminal per physical location, not to exceed five free terminals in total.

A $499 per terminal fee shall apply in the event (a) customer fails to activate a terminal within 60 days of signing the Customer Processing Agreement by processing at least $20 of transactions during such period for the location receiving the terminal or (b) if customer terminates within one year.

This might not make a difference to you, but it’s something to be aware of. I’d recommend you skip the free terminal deal and buy one outright. If you can’t afford it, then consider taking the sign up bonus offer and putting that toward a credit card machine.

Other Transparency Issues:

Beyond these gimmicks, WorldPay doesn’t offer much in terms of transparency in its advertising. You’ll find some educational material on the website, but it’s not extensive (however, I do give bonus points for the incorporation of an actual search bar on the site). Apart from the 3-year guaranteed pricing offer, there’s no disclosure of rates and fees. I understand that some of these costs don’t have a standardized value, but they could at least disclose the existence of some annual, monthly, or incidental fees, along with a description of rate pricing structures like tiers (bad) or interchange-plus (good).

On a positive note, I do like that you can find WorldPay on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. Public communication is good for transparency! However, when I looked, the most recent 3 posts to the WorldPay page (I also like that Facebook fans can actually post directly to the page), they were all complaints about customer service. WorldPay does seem to respond to those comments, but with a generic canned response. The Twitter account doesn’t show a lot of engagement, even though it’s active. More than anything, WorldPay seems to excel on LinkedIn — which makes perfect sense to me given that WorldPay is a B2B service and LinkedIn is a great B2B platform.

As I’ve said, WorldPay’s site is actually searchable, something that makes me incredibly happy. There are also educational resources scattered throughout the site, though you’ll need a merchant account to access the bulk of support resources. If you head over to the Insight page, you’ll find white papers on important topics. However, you’ll have to put in some contact information, and every box is mandatory — which means you should expect some emails and maybe a phone call about WorldPay services.

Customer Service and Technical Support:

WorldPay offers 24/7 customer support. We personally contacted the support team at midnight PST to see if we could reach a real, live human being. Thankfully, we did. You can also use live chat during business hours.

Based on the comments of our readers, many merchants seem to get sub-par customer service from WorldPay, including unresponsive account representatives and unhelpful customer support staff. Since our last review, there’s been an uptick in US-based complaints. That’s not a good sign.

Also worth noting: On WorldPay’s Contact Us page, under “Other Help,” there’s a section about complaints and the complaints procedure. It’ll even take you to a page where you can file your complaint. Bear in mind, this takes you from the US site to the UK site.

If you’ve had experience with WorldPay’s customer service, please let us know.

Negative Reviews and Complaints:

For a company as large as WorldPay, I was surprised to see that the company doesn’t have many complaints. Don’t get me wrong, there are complaints, but compared to the company’s size, the number is pretty low. At the BBB, WorldPay has 264 complaints in the past three years (up just slightly from 256 complaints when we looked last year), with an A+ rating. Just 65 of those were in the past 12 months, which is definitely down from the 108 last year. That’s a slightly promising sign.

Less promising is the fact that 83 complaints were not resolved to the satisfaction of the customer — that’s about one-third of the complaints total. Remember to take this with a grain of salt, since tactics differ from sales rep to sales rep. And as is usually the case, most of the issues revolve around billing/collections issues and problems with the service.

A total of 56 complaints come up through Ripoff Report (up just slightly from the “about 50″ we quoted last year), and we’re happy to say WorldPay is at least responding and attempting to contact the people who posted their complaints.

Here are some common problems that you may want to look out for:

  • Withholding of funds/termination of accounts: This can happen for a number of reasons. Chargebacks and/or suspicious charges can easily raise a red flag that will either get you suspended or shut down. You’re going to want to learn how to avoid holds and minimize chargebacks if you plan on signing up with WorldPay.
  • High cancellation fee: There are a decent amount of complaints regarding WorldPay’s early termination fee. In the past, it would charge $495 if you wanted to break your contract. That number has been lowered recently ($295 within first year, $195 within second year, $95 before completion of third year). If you don’t need any free equipment or a sign up bonus, you can certainly get this fee waived. Some people have complained of much higher termination fees (sometimes 4 figures) when they tried to cancel their service.
  • Non-disclosure of contract terms: This is related to the early termination fee in most cases, or to the auto-renewal clause that triggers the early termination fee even after the initial three-year term is up. In many complaints and company rebuttals I’ve read, this comes back to independent agents who sell WorldPay processing. It’s an incredibly common practice in sales, and can lead to a poorly regulated and poorly trained sales force. Make sure you have a copy of your contract and read it thoroughly.

Positive Reviews and Testimonials:

You’ll find a few video testimonials on the WorldPay YouTube channel, some of which feature merchants who seem like genuinely satisfied customers. Others seem awkwardly scripted. I’m not saying that these are falsified in any way, just a little too tightly controlled for my preference. I’d rather hear from the merchant in his or her own words. Still, it’s nice to see a small collection of video-based reviews.

Scattered throughout the site you’ll also find the occasional case study relating to WorldPay services. It would be fantastic if these were all collected in a single place — but they’re not.

If you’d like a little more endorsement than what’s available, try to ask your sales rep for references, specifically for businesses that operate in your same industry. They should give you information for merchants they have personally signed up.

Final Verdict:

There are plenty of great merchant account options out there, and since we last looked, WorldPay has fallen behind. The company definitely has the resources and the knowhow to set you up with good payment processing. The sticking point appears to be sales tactics, contracts, and billing, all of which are closely entwined.

To improve its score, WorldPay needs to increase its advertising transparency at the corporate level. I’d like to see fewer sales gimmicks and more educational information, especially information that’s, you know, easy to find. Information about rates and fees – including interchange-plus plans – would be greatly appreciated. But most importantly, I want to see real improvements in customer service, not just generic responses to complaints. Until that happens, WorldPay will be keeping a rating of 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Whatever payment processor you choose, be careful and remember that you have negotiating power, no matter how small your business is. At the risk of being mistaken as dating advice, keep this in mind: If WorldPay can’t meet your needs, someone else can. We recommend you check out our top-rated processors.

Tom DeSimone
Tom loves asking tough questions and getting straight answers, so he has a lot of fun calling payment processors for Merchant Maverick to cut through their smoke and mirrors and find the real deals. He has run a full-time editorial business from his home in New York’s Hudson Valley since 2010 and could not imagine a better job. When not busy writing and keeping credit processors honest, Tom enjoys backpacking in the mountains.
Tom DeSimone
Leave a comment

69 Comments

    Susan Clark

    If I could give 0 stars I would. We recently (4/1) switched to WorldPay. Worst mistake ever. They have continually held our finds without explanation. I still have one payment of $1300 that was paid by client 60 DAYS AGO. I’ve had several payments delayed for 6 weeks.

    We are B2B and are using WorldPay for collecting Consulting Invoice payments. We are an incorporated company in TX since 1987 with excellent credit ratings. I cannot get past a low level employee to discuss this problem. They just say that the problem is in another department.

    I can’t think I am the only one having this problem. Now I see from the notes above that a cancellation fee may apply?

    STAY AWAY FROM WORLDPAY! REALLY! Cheap prices are only good if they pay you the money instead of kiting the payments.

    Rating11111
    Tom

    ATTENTION!!! World Pay is going to charge us over $9,000 to end our contract early! We are a small business and cannot afford this. We recently had to buy a new POS system and it requires us to use a different processor. World Pay is not willing to work with us or be understanding of our situation whatsoever. We have been doing business with them for 10 years too. Way to treat your customers World Pay!

    Rating11111
    Matthew Humphrys

    For a company whose job it is to deal with payments they sure have a hard time working out their own finances. We joined Worldpay and were told (as a small business startup) that we would have to pay £200 to set up and then £15 a month if we didn’t process enough transactions.
    The set up process was appalling with many, many calls to them and a delayed go-live date because they wouldn’t activate our account properly.
    Then, we started getting invoices through with ‘non-compliance’ charges almost double what they said we’d have to pay.

    We cancelled within 7 months because it was so appalling and THEN they contacted us to say that our direct debits hadn’t been paid and we owed £294. I was taken by surprise by this and negotiated and paid a £150 settlement fee (loads of free money for them – all our customers chose to pay through paypal in the end). When I got back to the office I realised that our direct debits HAD gone through and I called back for a refund, which was declined and I was fobbed off to another department to try and solve it (which wasn’t solved).

    THEN TO FINISH IT ALL OFF, Worldpay sent the £150 debt that I PAID to a debt collection company and I had to spend time on the phone to them explaining that I’d already paid it and giving them reference numbers. I am totally disgusted by this useless, money grabbing rip-off company with the POOREST customer service ever.

    If you rate your time and want to just get on with business, this is NOT the company for you. All my claims can be backed up with proof if anyone needs to see it.

    Rating11111
    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Donald. We apologize for the inconvenience that holding your funds caused. Unfortunately we are required to investigate certain transactions but we would more than happy to take a look at the status of the hold with our Risk Department and also look at your account to see what can be done to try to prevent a hold from occuring again in the future (it could possibly be that we can request to raise your processing parameter amount). Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated
    Donald

    Promises they CAN’T keep, they talk a great game but if you process any large transactions they will hold your money for no apparent reason and without justified reasons, they claim their fraud department is looking into the transaction, but the fraud department NEVER makes any attempts to contact the party making the charge and World Pay keeps you money for 3-5 days earning interest all the while.

    STAY AWAY FROM WORLD PAY!!!

    Rating11111
    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Donald. We apologize for the inconvenience that holding your funds caused. Unfortunately we are required to investigate certain transactions but we would more than happy to take a look at the status of the hold with our Risk Department and also look at your account to see what can be done to try to prevent a hold from occuring again in the future (it could possibly be that we can request to raise your processing parameter amount). Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated
    Arnold Chung

    I’ve been calling to cancel my contract for over 10 days now. Everytime i called i waited over an hour and still never got to speak to anyone from this company. Also, said that they will call back if i leave my number. I left my number twice and never got a call back. I wanted to cancel my contract in November, but they said I had to call in May which my contract ends. Now, I cant get a hold of them…..

    Rating11111
    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Arnold. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns regarding your account cancellation and apologize for the hold time. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated
    Brian Marshall.

    This is by far the worst company to ever have to work with and here are some reasons
    1. They only use 1 emv high speed terminal the vx520 that only can be used from the one they sell you
    2. The people that build the files are not effective
    3. There phone system is just as incompetent as the company try calling you’ll see
    4. Even if you use there terminal it will take them days to figure out how to program them the deployment and file build team must have been hired from a crew that has been fired from radio shack.
    5. No one really cares how long you wait I would be embarrassed to be associated with world pay in any way if you want to save a few years of life stay clear no run!!!!

    Rating11111
    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Brian. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns regarding your account. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated
    Denise

    DON’T SIGN WITH WORLDPAY! Our experience with this most devious company has been a nightmare. They lied about their fees, The “free Terminal” as well getting right back to us with a copy of our contract. When we finally did get our copy, after harassing our sales person repeatedly, it was eight months later. The original contract I remember signing had three pages with my signature and initials. The copy we got eight months later had four pages, the last of which stated that we had to have $5000.00 in sales during the first full month of service, had no signature and had never been seen by anyone at our gallery. Needless to say they took $499.00 out of our account about six weeks after we signed up.
    To add additional insult, we had a larger than usual sale a couple of weeks ago and they are holding the money for six months even though the customer contacted his credit card company to verify the sale, and a copy of the invoice was faxed to Worldpay. This same customer is an art collector and has made large purchases in the past. Also the customer has the art in his possession and the artists have no income. But none of this matters to this vile company. I read all of the comments above and see that many of the complaints are similar to ours. If you are a small company do not sign up with Worldpay!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Denise. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. We would be happy to take a look into all of your issues, specifically your addendum for the terminal. If it is not signed then we would owe you a refund. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further. If you are also able to scan and email the contract copy that you have please feel free to go ahead and do that as well. If not we can provide you with a fax number when we reach out to you.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worlpay US, Inc.

    Hi David. We are currently assisting with this complaint based off what was written on another blog. Someone will be reaching out to you shortly if they have not already done so with the findings of our investigation. Thank you for your patience

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    David Chzaszcz

    My small business (1 person coffee cafe) signed a Merchant Services Processing contract with WorldPay (division of Citizens Bank) in June of 2014. The Sales person showed and documented in the sales material that I would only be occurring fees of ($22.49) along with my small percentage on each Credit or Debit transaction. A the next month I was hit with multiple undisclosed transaction fees of over $80.00, making my monthly fixed fees over $100 per month, with my actual variable individual Merchant Processing transaction fees being about $70, (total monthly fees now at $180.00 per month average) In December of 2014, I was hit with an undisclosed $129.00 annual fee, and now in January 2015, another additional $4.95 a month. Fixed fees are now 66% of total cost, but the sales agent for WorldPay, documented them as approximately less than 20%. Additionally, WorldPay never returned a copy of the contract despite a number of requests. In February a contract was finally returned to me showing only my signature, no signatures from WorldPay, including the sales agent, and all initialed pages were not my initials, forged and not the correct initials.

    Another fact the Sales Agent did not disclose is that there is a fixed $0.22 fee for each swipe in addition to the variable percentage.

    Despite several documented conversations with WorldPay Customer Service, only $50.00 was refunded a few weeks ago, but no World Pay Senior Management resolution calls from WorldPay were ever received despite consistent promises that management would call to help resolve.

    Another point, WorldPay uses my merchant account to pay each 3rd party vendor they employ on the routine processing and each subpartner (31 in my case), so they get the $0.22 for each one each month, plus the percent of the transaction. REAL DOUBLE DIPPING HERE!!!!!!

    Last, WorldPay will not return information on how to terminate the contract early, despite the contract warning if not terminated early properly, additional fees will be levied against my small one person business.

    From doing some competitive analysis, I am finding WorldPay is overcharging my small one person cafe over $1000.00 annually, and they are not providing documentation to help me cut my losses properly.

    DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER USING WorldPay FOR MERCHANT SERVICES, YOU WILL PAY 4 TO 5 TIMES WHAT THEY QUOTE YOU.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi David. We are currently assisting with this complaint based off what was written on another blog. Someone will be reaching out to you shortly if they have not already done so with the findings of our investigation. Thank you for your patience

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Alex

    STAY AWAY

    I got a call in January about my enquiry, Im talking to a guy and I said I will get back to him he said they is no harm in getting it started if you give me your details then once you are ready to send your ID in and sign the direct debit mandate form, okay so I give him my details phone calls ends. I get the emails. We can’t procced without you signing the direct debit mandate form, we can’t procced without you sending your ID okay just as he said. I decided I’m don’t want to use them so ignore there emails. About 20emails late the emails stop, then I get a card machine through the door, okay then so I turn it on give it a little test the amount being £0.10 the I turn of and don’t use again, a month later £150 has being taken out my account so I contact the bank first as it says debit transaction (which is using a card) never use my card for that much for a company called s/line then I find out this is Worldpay. So I tell me bank to do a charge back as they have taken the money without my conccent. The bank informs me I have to contact them and they can’t do anything. Wait a minute someone has taken my money from my account without me giving them conccent to do so and your telling me they is nothing you can do why? Because the way s/line take the money. its a debit transaction but no debit card was used to make the transaction so a refund can not be issued (by my bank) WTF so it’s not a debit transaction then it’s a direct debit transaction. They have used my sort code and account number to take the money so refund it that way. They carry on to say the same thing. Unreal (natwest once this is sorted im changing my buissness account and no longer want to use you) I also find out natwest works with Worldpay NO WONDER THEY CAN REFUND MY MONEY
    Long story short. I’ve not signed anything. Not agreed to anything yet they have taken money from me (this is illegal!?) and I call them up and they tell me someone will get back to you in 9 days it’s my money. You can’t take it without me agreeing and signing and I havent. Just because you sent me the card machine that your fault!!

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jason Livings

    Stay away from this company, its start of well but end in tears.

    Here is my email to them!

    I’m sending this email to complain about your service.

    There are three companies involved Streamline, Cardsave and Worldpay.

    I have been a customer for a few years with Streamline. July last year I noticed money coming out of my business account from Streamline. I knew this wasn’t right as the account hadn’t been used prior as we had addition to the family. I contacted Streamline and was told the company is now Worldpay. I was told these charges were a monthly subscription charge. I was never informed of this and I asked if I could cancel my membership / contract as of immediate effect. Worldpay said I could but it would cost me £180 for an early cancellation fee. I explained I never signed anything, how on earth could you justified this fee. Worldpay said there is another option we could reduce your monthly fee and you could cancel at the end of the contract. I said do I have another choice, Worldpay said no!. Now when I agreed to use Streamline I was under the impression there would be a small fee around 25 pence and a percentage of 3% per transaction. I never would have signed up for a monthly fee of around £25 per month. I just wanted out and agreed to the reduced monthly figure and said I would call again in December.

    Around December the 10th I called Worldpay and spoke with a lady whom kindly cancelled my agreement and confirmed there would be no further fees / charges and thanked me for my business.

    I have recently been charged for annual management fee and non compliance charge and enrolled on annual subscription fee. I contacted Worldpay in January to ask why have I been charged for a service I cancelled back in December. Worldpay said we are only going by instructions from Cardsave. I then contacted Cardsave who said they haven’t requested any money from me and that I wasn’t on their system. They assured me that I have been removed from the system and worldpay would need to do the same.

    I then contacted Worldpay for another time to find out why I’m being charged for a service that I’m not using. I was told I would be refunded the last amount charged for the account. This has been put back into my account and the direct debit cancelled.

    I have now received another letter asking for more money and an email from RSC_Debt Management Collections & Recoveries both stating different amounts.

    I have been stressed over this matter and spent too much time complaining over the phone, I would like someone to please put an end to this nightmare and return all of my money.

    I would like to know what you intend to do about this complaint.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jeannie

    My experience with WorldPay has been unfavorable–to say the least. The told me that my contract had a missing page, when I have page 1 of 3, 2 of 3, 3 of 3. They said the information on annual fee and termination fee were on the back side of one of the pages which in their minds did not constitute a separate page! Then they claim any of the fees they want to charge they are entitled to under the “terms and conditions” as a broad umbrella. I would never recommend these folks to a small business. Additionally, they would not review the recorded call from their sales person when I repeated asked her, “no additional fees.” Awful.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Jeanine. We recently saw your post about your rates and fees and contract and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Varese Ferrao

    I am a small start up business and am also involved in a trust that renovates properties and rents to people who for one reason or another cannot rent elsewhere. My business got an order from the trust, but as I am in charge for buying from the trust, I used my credit cards to pay for the items, to be refunded by the trust when the work is done. Worldpay after 2 weeks still haven’t credited the money to my business saying that I cannot buy from my own business? Are they suggesting I buy from a competitor-or defraud the tax man by not putting sales through the business? My credit card companies have debited me and I ma liable for the accounts and said there is no problem on their side. My business has to start the work this weekend or the orders will be cancelled, but without my business having funds I cannot buy the balance of the materials needed…………..Gary from the UK transaction team says it’s the credit card banks…they all deny this…..

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Varese. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further. We apologize for any inconvenience.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Michelle Rhoades

    I overlooked the fact that I was getting charged the $14.95 and was satisfied with World Pay. I am very upset with there merchant support. I am dealing with a charge back dispute and World Pay is not helping me resolve this issue. I am very disappointed how this has been handled. If I cannot get a response I will find another processing company. I am sure I will find another since I get 10 phone calls a day from other companies wanting to make an appointment.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Michelle. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further. We apologize for any inconvenience.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Nathan

    Overcharging crooks! Always bringing in new charges for new reasons that don’t make sense. Say you have to verify your credit card machine or pay a monthly fee. They send you a link that doesn’t work to verify. Even when you do get through the right link, they say you didn’t fill it out right. They will nickel and dime you to death! They love to keep charging you after your account is closed. I don’t reccomend them to anyone!!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Nathan. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further. We apologize for any inconvenience.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Trish Stumpf

    I had issues within 2 months after switching over to WorldPay. I’ve experienced everything that you’ve each stated. I was never told about a contract, nor early termination fees. They give you the whole “you’re paying too much with your current merchant services, we can save you hundreds to thousands of dollars” I was promised better rates, w/ little fees. I was looking over my paperwork prior to signing on WorldPay, there was a few monthly charges, and one called WorldPay Advantage $14.95, when I asked what it was, I was told it was for my supplies, WELL… I disclosed ALL the perks with my current Co., WorldPay came back w/ we will give you all that AND better rates. One of those perks, was I’d receive free rolls of terminal paper, which at the time, I’d currently been receiving from my other Co. I was told it would be removed. 2 months go by and I was unable to access my account after countless attempts, I end up calling and customer service had to log me in. Enter the first problem, They had been charging me for that WorldPay Advantage…. I think OK, FINE it’s for unlimited products and although I don’t require that many paper rolls a month, it might benefit me. Then in due time, I call to order paper rolls, and I was given an ridiculous amount I had to pay PLUS shipping?!!! Oh hell no, I demanded to speak to a supervisor, she infact removed the WorldPay Advantage. (I could buy my paper rolls cheaper at my local supply house) That issue seemed to be resolved, then my next statement, I noticed after removing the WPA, they added another monthly charge for $7, AND a $60 AND $49.99 for a failing of Compliance and some so called Yearly fee for the handling of my account. I’m really starting to feel like a victim at this point. I called again to address these inquiries, I was told the $7 monthly fee couldn’t be removed BECAUSE since I wasn’t paying for the WPA program, they had to charge me something. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? And of course, I was stuck paying the $49.99 regardless.
    I’m furious, but thought ok, they reversed the $60 because they clearly didn’t inform me about updating my account yearly, the one thing that confused me about all that was, I’d only been with them for about 5 months and there was no need to update anything because NOTHING changes. I rode it out for another year, through all the fee increases and them not negotiating those increased fees on top of all those little added monthly charges and what not. Then that $49.99 went to $99.99, I went through the roof. I called to terminate my account at which point I’m told, that my contract isn’t up until July 2014, WAIT WHAT, CONTRACT? Well apparently I’m stuck til then, and still desire to assist me, or encouraging me to even want to stay.
    Here we are now in November because in all honesty, it’s a pain have to switch things over and then you fear you’re going to endure the same horrific battles all over again with another Co. It again comes down to that uncertainty of that monthly statement, and never knowing what additional costs you’re going to be paying. That WorldPay Advantage reared its ugly head AGAIN! I was charged that $14.95 in addition to 3 other charges. I called for an explanation, got NOTHING. I said, fine, I’m done, CLOSE MY ACCOUNT NOW.
    I get transferred to another customer service agent and they had the nerve to ask me why? I listed them one by one, and then I was asked if I’d tried negotiating with the Co, I said yes and they weren’t interested. I proceeded to tell her, I was paying nearly triple than what I was paying with my prior Co. I was financially unable to continue paying these amounts. She then says, well, I’m sorry to hear that but now you’ll have to pay a termination fee. I replied, Uh NO, that is not true, she closes with, you’re in contract until June 2015. I’m livid, because as I stated earlier, it was to be June 2014 and even that was news to me. That conversation left a bad taste in my mouth, so I thought I’d shoot the sales manager that signed me an email. I sent him copies of statements, showing him what they have been doing. He said he’d look into it immediately, and one issue I addressed regarding the WPA program, he said the Co. told him that WorldPay took it upon themselves to sign up ALL their customers, customers were supposed to get emails altering them and if they chose to cancel, they would have to follow the guidelines to do so. First off, I never got any email, Second, you already knew I never had any use for this program because we’ve already went round and round about it, Third, and MOST IMPORTANTLY, what you just did is highly illegal, especially in my State of Wa. You CANNOT, sign anyone up for anything without their knowledge, authorization or signature. Because of the lack of respect and consideration that I’ve received and due to the unethical bad business that I’ve endured, I have had no choice but to turn it all over to my attorney. I am truly sorry to each of you that have had such horrific experience and
    I’m suggesting we set in motion a Class Action Lawsuit
    Trish

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Trish. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    charles cook

    This company is the worst! This year they slipped in a discount club membership that you paid for and notified us by email. The opt out link did not work – it took many phone calls and lots for time to opt out of something I never signed up for.The customer service is a crap shoot – most have a terrible attitude and speak to you horribly. I never get my questions fully answered -you just go around and around. I have been nicked and dimed and dread looking at my statement. You will never get a answer if you question. They said I had an outstanding charge floating for 9 days – there was no way – we batch out every night. I suggest you run away.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Charles. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further. We apologize for any inconvenience.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Roger Hall

    THIS COMPANY ARE A BUNCH OF THIEVES! They will continue charging you for a year or MORE AS THEY HAVE DONE TO ME!!!!! Avoid this company at all costs!!!!!!!!!!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Roger. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further. We apologize for any inconvenience.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi David. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    David Saylor

    I am a retired Veterinarian who used WorldPay as a credit card processor. I retired in April,2014 and called to cancel my WorldPay account . I was told the cancellation fee was $195.00 . The women I spoke with said to call back in 1 month and the cancellation fee would be $95.00. Since I turned 72 years of age I forgot and noted the fact WorldPay continued to charge me monthly on my bank account .WorldPay has clipped my bank account for more than $500.00 since I closed the Veterinary Clinic. This has been a NIGHTMARE TO STRAIGHTEN OUT AND AVOID DIANE IN BUSINESS REVIEW BY ALL MEANS. Dr. David Saylor

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Christine. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Christine

    My story is very similar to many of the above negative reviews…I recently changed POS systems from Retail Pro to ShopKeep. I had been with RBS Lynk before it was acquired by WorldPay for the first 7 years of my business. I never was given any details about my contract obligations when I was registered as a merchant with them by a Retail Pro agent back in 2007. WorldPay had been charging me a lot more during the past 3 years of my business so when I changed to the new POS I went with Payment Revolution (a partner of First Data), who charges a lot less for processing payments. There is no contract with them and no early termination fee. There are no PCI Compliance hoops to jump through or fees to pay with Payment Revolution. Their customer service is excellent and professional.

    I digress… When I called WorldPay to deactivate my account back in January 2014, I was given the run around by the customer service rep who told me I would have to pay a $495 early termination fee. I told her I would absolutely not pay them that when I had been paying them $90 in admin fees and PCI Compliance fees every month before any actual processing fees. I told her that these fees were excessive and unnecessary. She continued to give me scripted and impersonal responses, having no sympathy whatsoever. I told her that I would not deactivate until the renewal period in order to avoid the fee. The next month I called back and spoke to yet another rep and got the same run around. At that point I went to my bank and deauthorized Worldpay’s ACH rights to my business accounts. My annual renewal period, I was told, was in July. So, prior to making the call to deactivate as planned I got a ACH notice that they had tried to charge my account for the early termination fee. When I called into Worldpay the rep told me that my account had been deactivated prior to the renewal period. How convenient for them! She then told me that I would receive a collection bill in the mail soon. I will deal with them and settle the amount for much less than the full charges for sure.

    To conclude my story, here’s my perspective… This company rips off merchants and they don’t even have to. They think they can get away with over charging merchants who don’t know any better and don’t have an honest merchant services rep who can protect them from this kind of extortion. Yes, this is extortion at its worst. They literally have a whole list of different fees that they add to merchant invoices that they will not take off when you call in to complain about them and ask for their purpose. I think that other X-WorldPay merchants need to file a class action law suit against them to let them know that this is just down right wrong. I own a small business and every penny is important. I think no matter how large a business gets, the payment processing costs should stay as low as possible. Beware of WorldPay, they are way overcharging companies. Don’t be one of their victims!

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Eric

    I do not do business with World Pay, nor do I own or operate a company. I work with a competitor. The purpose of this post is to disclose something I’ve noticed when I come across a WorldPay statement.

    Regulated Visa Debit, whether card is present or keyed is 0.05% and $0.21 across the board. Period. WorldPay however states the Interchange ranges from 0.07% – 0.09% on their statements. This practice does NOT protect the consumer as whatever markups they are pitched are not “true cost” to the merchant. Sure you can think your account is Interchange Plus 0.15% and $0.10, when in reality it’s not.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Stuart. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Stuart Gold

    So many things wrong with this company. Their website and reporting functions are out of the dark ages. They keep a reserve of cash against chargebacks and when you terminate the service they won’t give it back without a fight. Their customer service is awful, unresponsive and dismissive to the point of being rude.

    There are so many better alternatives – you should not use this service!

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Worldpay US, Inc.

    Hi Ron. We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Ron Headlee

    Ripoff!!!! No other words for them. Had a 3 year agreement where as rates were to remain the same. Even have a letter from their employee stating if anything changes as per conversation, contract or letters, we may cancel without any charges. They sent me a 2 page contract with my initials at bottom of contract pages. After i started complaining about raising and adding rates they informed they could do this as per contract….(pages 3-10) Bull… I never received this contract as they state and I initialed all pages of contract I received. Now they have a collection company harassing me, who also cant read or understand plain english. Original charges was $410 and offered $240 to clear. So stay away from these guys…. Ripoff!!!!!

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Kenny McGee

    Does nobody else think that companies like Streamline, Worlpay etc, should have some sort of duty of care to the retailers? We were hit with £22+ in charge backs in one month which seem to be entirely our responsibility. In our case there were a number of companies approaching us via our website who all placed orders and paid with CC. Our administrator thought nothing of it as it was much like normal business. If a card was declined the customer had a logical reason and offered another card. Again this in itself was not unusual as we often deal with small companies that need to juggle money. When the charge backs came in it totalled over £22K and Streamline refused any responsibility. Upon investigation it was apparent that CVC’s, names and addresses did not match. I think it was careless of Streamline to allow transactions like this to go through as they were obviously bogus. Admittedly our administrator should also have been more vigilant but come on Streamline get a grip of this. Just because you have covered your ass, please have a thought for your Customer!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    JonnyT

    I regret the day I signed up with this F-rated company. They promised the world and their published rates were lower than Merchant Warehouse. The cell phone reader was not compatible with an Iphone 5 at first, then they decided to triple the monthly minimum charges which violated the entire promise. I cancelled them and they wanted a huge termination fee. I hollered to no avail. Worse, I keep a low balance so I ended up with two OD charges with Citizens. They did go back to the original terms, but now I have to count the days until I am outta there. They are a horrifically bad reflection on Citizen’s Bank – a shame, since my banker there is as good as they get.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    WorldPay US, Inc.

    We recently saw your post and would like to address your concerns. Please provide us with your merchant ID and contact information by emailing customer.Impact@worldpay.us and we will reach out to you to discuss further

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jeremy M

    We have been WorldPay customers since our company’s inception in 2008. I signed a three year agreement initially and bought my credit card processing machine through them. They raised my percentage rate without informing me (to extremely high rates). I neglected to notice this for some time. I called to complain this October, and they “lowered my rates to the lowest possible”. I then compared rates with other options, with theirs still being incredibly high. I opted to change companies. I made a call to cancel my service and was informed that I would have to pay $495 to “cancel my service”. They offered to lower my rates again. I said that they said that they were as low as possible per their customer service. They said that they could in fact go lower. Shame on me for not keeping track of them earlier. I lost a lot more than $495 through those rates. They made an ACH withdrawal of the $495 without my permission and after I specifically said that I do not authorize them to take the funds.

    I asked to speak with a manager. She called me on a secondary number I asked not to be used and then was not available for two weeks. I called over five times trying to reach her. She finally told me that the contract was automatically renewing every year after the initial three year contract and that there was nothing she could do. I noted that this was never explained to me and that I had not signed any extension agreement. I do not have any records of notification through mail or e-mail that this was occurring. This experience has been one of the worst that I can remember in customer care and business dealings. I would advise anyone to stay clear of WorldPay and all of its services.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Leon Scholtz

    What a useless, incompetent and all round moronic company. They have done nothing but decieve and mess me around for 2 months costing me not tens, but hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of business. I have lost clients and suppliers because of the un profesional manner of which this company do day to day business. Phoning the UK customer service is absolutely pointless, after having to wait for someone from their tea$ to phone you back with a simple querry… You eventually have to phone back and keep leaving messages 5 to 6 times a day and when you finally get through to some sorry excuse of a supposed “manager”, yuou find out that the person who is supposed to be dealing with your account has not just lied and descieved you just for you to sign a contract, but has also gone on holiday for 2 weeks.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Zane

    I sold my business recently and called to cancel my service. They cancelled the service and charged my bank account $495. Upon inquiry, they said that I have signed a contract that says that I will be charged termination fee of $495 if I cancel within 3 years.

    I don’t remember signing any contract and was never made aware of this termination fee when I signed up for service. I asked for a proof of contract and they emailed me a copy. It had my name and signature which I never signed. The signature wasn’t mine and the writing wasn’t mine either. They said I should contact an attorney if I have an issue with this.

    I can’t believe that companies like this continue to exist in USA.

    Please be aware that they also charged me hefty monthly fee + PCI compliance Fee + Annual Fee + Transaction Fee + Settlement Fee + other fees.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Millie

    Reading these reviews makes me a little more relived that my parents are not the only ones having problems with WorldPay. My mother called to end services with them, they said there was a $195 termination fee. When she called to get additional information she was told she need to send a letter 90 days in advance saying she was ending her services. Not only that, but the representative she was talking to would not forward the call to anyone else.
    She also told me the representative failed to mention any of this!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    james

    I disagree. I am a former employee of WorldPay and the termination fees and conditions are plainly stated in the terms and conditions. 295 first yr 195 second yr and 95 third year which is very friendly terms. Also I never witnessed any accounts i wrote being severely raised. most complaints are from people that dont understand how the industry works. Just like other products increase in price so does a processors costs as well.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Tom DeSimone

    Hi James,
    I happen to agree that WorldPay’s termination fee schedule is better than the industry standard. I also agree that these numbers do appear in the terms and conditions, and that merchants should absolutely read these terms before signing. But at the same time, salespeople need to take some responsibility for the verbal disclosure of terms that merchants commonly complain about, namely auto-renewals and termination fees, but also things like reserve accounts, incidental fees, and rate increases. At the end of the day the sales rep doesn’t have any legal responsibility to make sure that merchants are aware of terms aside from providing the terms and conditions and getting it signed, true, but to say that “most complaints are from people that don’t understand how the industry works” really misses the point. If this is the case, then sales reps can easily avoid complaints by explaining “how the industry works” to clients, as well as the finer points of their merchant agreement. You know as well as I do that some salespeople will sweep unattractive info under the rug as best they can. (Not an assessment of WorldPay, but just the industry in general. The rep I spoke with at WorldPay was actually quite helpful.)

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    John Ward

    Call you cell phone company and ask to cancel their contract – guess what you get – an early termination fee.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Amad Ebrahimi

    John, just because the major cell carriers tag people with early termination fees, doesn’t make it ok for a processor to do the same…in our opinion. There are plenty of processors (and cell phone carriers) out there that don’t charge an early termination fee, and those are the companies most customers are flocking to.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    James

    That may be true, but if you knowingly sign an agreement with a term fee then why are you shocked when they bill you for it when you cancel early?There are not any cell phone carriers that don’t charge an etf unless it’s prepaid or you pay full price for the phone which can be as high as $650.00 I worked in cellular for 12 years. Also, if there is an issue don’t let it linger. Talk to your rep, customer service, or ask for a supervisor. Most companies will work with you instead of just losing you as a customer.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Janice Kuhlman

    I have been with WorldPay for a little over a year now. They recently jacked my rates up to almost double what they were. I called them to ask about reducing the rates and was told they couldn’t do any better. So I went back to the company I had before them. Sent them a cancellation notice and then opened a new checking account. They sent me a bill for my last months fees and I paid it. I was told they could not go into my new account as they didn’t have authorization to do this. So I used my new account to pay my final fees. I was being honest when I paid them their last months fee. They sent me a past due bill for the final fees so I called them. They said they never received my cancellation notice so we canceled it over the phone. Now they charged my new account with an early termination fee even though they do not have permission to go into this account. This is fraud! I am in the process of fighting this but they put the transaction through as a corporate withdraw so my bank is having issues with this. I was also promised $150 to $400 back after signing up varying by my first months volume. I never received this either. After my first months bill I was also charged $14.99 a month for PCI compliance when I was told there would be no charge for this if I did the online compliance checks. WATCH OUT FOR THESE PEOPLE!!! They are bad to deal with!!! I should have stiffed them for my final months fees and then I wouldn’t be in this predicament.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Patty M

    Sure, they don’t charge a fee for deactivation if, like me, you’ve been with them for over 6 years,but what they do is tell you that your conversation (recorded) to deactivate was not intelligible because the volume was too high, even though they never said they couldn’t understand us on the phone. Today I was charged $125, for a supposedly closed account and they’re saying it’s because they couldn’nt reach me by phone to reauthorize the deactivation, even though they have my phone number, email, address and bank phone number. Can’t rob you anymore one way, just grope to a lower level. You’re welcome RBS Worldpay for the $60,000 you made on me in transaction fees.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Erin Alexander

    I was not very happy with the customer service at all. The representatives were quite rude and there were lengthy hold times on the phone. Also, when I explained that I did not need their services anymore because the services were duplicated and better with PayPal, they charged my bank $195.00. I would not recommend doing business with WorldPay.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    John Ward

    call your cell phone and ask to cancel their service – guess what you get – an early termination fee…

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Nick M

    I arrived on this page because I was investigating changing over from WorldPay in the UK to WorldPay US.

    My nightmare began the day I started using WP. First it took a year to get up and running. I stuck with it only because of one very good individual within the company. We are in the education market providing a subscription service to teachers and schools. What has finished it for me after a process or repeated billing of charges and a whole bunch of other issues, was finding that subscribers in the US were having their cards rejected after they had been accepted on several prior monthly occasions. This is continuing after 2 months and I am loosing customers faster than I get them. I have brought this to their attention, and after having them agree that this is highly unusual, they have still not found a solution.

    AS I mentioned they are some great individuals within the company, but they cannot change the absolutely antiquated system they provide. For me Paypal used to be the bottom of the barrel, but no more. Now we offer Paypal as a payment option and what they provide makes WP look like something out of the stone age.

    I suspect that WP has become this way because they are owned by a bunch of Private Equity investors that have little or no idea – or really care – as to the desparately poor operation they are running.

    One last issue. If you want to use WP, then be prepared for regular Auditing of their monthly Invoices they provide. It is essential.

    From what I have read here it seems that changing over to WP US is not a reliable option. I wish I could say better, but the best advice I can offer anyone is STAY AWAY unless you have a fetish for pulling your hair out

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    akshay

    Thief, liars, looting the innocent are some of the first things that comes to my mind when i think about RBS-worldpay.
    they did not accept my credit card because they knew i could chargeback.
    they charged me $500 from my bank as application fees and then did not approve my application.
    when i wrote about the refund, they did not reply for 15 days.
    then i called them up and raised a ticket, then i received a mail asking for my bank details that they already had…
    then i sent a dozen mails in the next 2 weeks but no response… and then finally they replied that “worldpay has made the transfer to my account”.
    i haven’t recieved the funds yet, so i asked them for a proof of transfer and that was 10 days ago, the reply was “we are investigating the issue”.
    I am still waiting.
    I am amazed how easily these banks are committing fraud with customers and there is no one to monitor this or stop this.
    I am pissed off with the system.
    So here is a $500 tip – Boycott RBS-worldpay

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    N Harmon

    WORLD PAY (RBS WORLD PAY) They make you rent a terminal for credit card processing at $30+ per month. The terminal could be bought for under $150.00
    I tried to cancel service and they said I had to wait until November. I could buy out the lease for $275.00 I called in November and they said I needed to give a 90 day notice and it was too late for that because the termination window would expire.
    They then said since I called in June that they would count that and close the account. After 3 months they are charging me still. I called and they denied that I cancelled and now they want $495.00 to cancel. They have already charged my over $933.00 and I have not used them for any processing.

    Please there are many merchant services vendors.. avoid this one….

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Karen Ford

    We have used this company for a while now and they have been great. The Sales rep was very helpful. He went over all the fees with use when we signed up and they have been just like he said they would be. He came and installed our equipment and trained us how to use it. We have sent him other business and we have been paid for referring them to him. I have actually had months where I processed for free with Worldpay. The only time we have had any questions we call customer support and they were answered promptly. I highly recommend Worldpay and would not do business with anybody else.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Patty M

    I felt the same way too, after making them over $60,000 in transaction fees. Wait til you try to cancel, your bank account will suffer and they’ll give you one lame excuse after another as to why they have to keep charging you. Your welcome Worldpay, it was great, for awhile!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jeff Licks

    Patty, sorry, you didn’t make WorldPay over $60K. The Card Issuer (Bank) probably made $45K, Associations $10K and WorldPay $5K. They make only a sliver of the transaction fee

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Josh

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!

    I own a couple of coffee houses. We switched to Worldpay because we had a lot of left over gift cards from a previous location. We have had nothing but headaches from the very beginning. First off, it took them over a month to get the gift cards sorted out. We had to talk to multiple representatives who all gave us a different answer. That is a minor issue compared to most though. Second, if you want your funds available the next day, don’t EVER expect that to be the case. It will always be the day after. You also won’t receive deposits on Saturdays or Tuesdays. If there is a holiday (Thanksgiving in particular), you won’t see your funds until the following Monday. They have cost me hundreds of dollars in overdraft charges because of these practices. Third, be VERY aware of their hidden fees. They will quote you .10 processing fee plus interchange. After looking at our bill, we found many instances where we were charged .22/transaction, plus a dial fee. If you are using gift cards, you better make sure your patrons are using those gift cards. Worldpay charges a gift card dormancy fee. Last month alone, that fee was $19.
    On to their customer service. If you feel like talking to Worldpay, and happen to run across [edited: name removed], turn around and run the other way! He may sound like he knows a lot of info, but his favorite phrase is, “Let me pass this on to my manager, and have him call you.” I have heard this multiple times, and have never heard from a manager. He has also put me on hold, come back to tell me that he has another call, and needs to go. He told me he would call me back later that day. I called back that day, then two weeks later after not hearing anything.
    Think you are going to talk this company into cancelling their early termination fees because of bad practices? Think again. Upon calling to discuss this, they looked at my account and proceeded to tell me that, “it looks like all of your phone calls have been resolved.” FAR FROM IT! The manager then told me that they were doing nothing wrong. When I asked her about the quoted .10/transaction, and being charged more than that, she told me that she wasn’t able to tell me anything about my quote.
    Please please please reconsider using this company. They aren’t what they were when they were RBSLynk. This company is snowballing. Don’t get on board!

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Patty M

    Well written complaint and I hope people read this before believing everything Worldpay’s smooth talking, easy going sales reps say. I notice there’s no cheesy rep responding to you.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jeff Licks

    Hey Josh, very few processors can offer next day funding. In fact the day after that you said is actually pretty good. If your processor is part of a bank (BofA) than yes. If you process with ChasePaymentech and your bank is Bank of Idaho, aint gonna hapen next day (unless you pay a wire fee).

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Kort

    Worldpay has next day funding for any bank if you settle by 7:30 PM. Friday’s Saturday’s and Sunday’s sales are deposited on Monday between 10:30 AM and 3:00 PM. If you bank with either Citizens Bank on the East Coast or Charter One in the OHIO area (I think) you can settle up to 3 AM and get the same 10 AM – 3 PM deposits. I found out that “next days”, in the processing and banking world, are “business days”. Banks and the Federal Reserve don’t function on weekends and national holidays. In a processor’s defence, once they release funds it’s up to the FED and the banks to reconcile deposits.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    William Lorca

    I was trying to get the early termination fee waived but it was a no go. Maybe since they lowered it to a tiered ETF system, they are reluctant to drop it altogether.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Wil

    Hi, I am looking into getting set up with an merchant account for my online store. do you think that Worldpay is a good match. Also would I need to get another company as well, I know some other compaines you have to get something like Authrize.net or so. thanks for the help

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Amad E.

    Wil,

    It would all depend on what kind of business you are, and what type of processing you’re looking for. You can contact me directly if you like. I’ll be happy to help you out.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

Leave a Reply

Rating

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.
Please read the "User Review and Comment Policy" before posting.

Share