Advertiser Disclosure

Global Payments Review

Compare

Global Payments Review

Advertiser Disclosure: Our unbiased reviews and content are supported in part by affiliate partnerships, and we adhere to strict guidelines to preserve editorial integrity.

Taking $3,000 per month or less in card payments?

You’ll save with Square

Date Established
1967
Location
Atlanta, Georgia
Frank Kehl

Frank Kehl

Frank Kehl has been writing about merchant services, payment gateways, and international money transfer services since 2015. He has a Bachelor of Science degree from Penn State and a Juris Doctorate from the Ventura College of Law. After a long and enjoyable career of traveling around the world as an Air Force navigator, he’s comfortably settled down in the wine country town of Paso Robles in California’s scenic Central Coast region. He enjoys reading, photography, hiking, and numerous other outdoor pursuits.
Frank Kehl



To learn more about how we score our reviews, see our Credit Card Processor Rating Criteria.
Leave a comment

53 Comments

Responses are not provided or commissioned by the vendor or bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the vendor or bank advertiser. It is not the vendor or bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

    Marya Ricker

    Organization Name: Tri-City School of Music

    Why is this company still in operation? They have got to be the WORST company I have dealt with, and trust me, I’ve had to deal with some shady companies when I started up my business.I have never been so poorly treated and been forced to deal with ONE PERSON who controls everything before like this company. I don’t know why they even have a 1-800 number because for the past 3 months, EVERY SINGLE CALL, They refer me back to the one person who holds the cards to my account.They completely screwed up and close my account by accident and now there is 11k of transactions floating in space somewhere and they cannot locate the funds. Meanwhile, I have employees who won’t be able to pay their mortgage during the holiday season. WHAT A JOKE.There needs to be government intervention on a company like this. This is truly a racket with the worst possible customer service treatment I have ever experienced.

    1
    • Organization Name: Tri-City School of Music
    Gord Walsh

    Organization Name: Future Quest Wireless INc.

    Global Payments increased our monthly account charge from $40.00 to $65.00 and then all the way to $130.00 per month. We have been trying to cancel our account for 7 months! They just keep pulling money out of our account even though we have cancelled service and not comleted a single transaction. Their service is terrible and their product is even worse. Their virtual terminal looks like its from the eighties. And, they monthly fees are ridiculous. We switched to Stripe, who have no such fees and a much more modern interface, with incredible customer service.

    1
    • Organization Name: Future Quest Wireless INc.
    Jean-Pierre Desjardins

    Organization Name: PME TELECOM INC

    Not a trusty com^pnayno answer, no call back no reply to emailno ombudsman, no anser, no replyDo not deal with them as they are not trusty and no customer service at all, if you love waiting on a call and being told that they will call you back in 24-48 hours and never get a call back, than they are a fit for you

    2
    • Organization Name: PME TELECOM INC
    Roy Song

    Organization Name: Happy Lemon

    I have three business locations all using Global Payments for POS transactions. I noticed huge raise of monthly fee from March 1. It turned out they mentioned the some fees in last October’s statements (embedded in a 20 page long statement with several sentence). I asked for cancelling their service and was told there is a 500 cancelling fee. Okay I can pay the 500 to save 500 each month each location. They didn’t respond my cancellation email and keep charging me monthly fees. Worst experience and lost money with Global Payment.

    1
    • Organization Name: Happy Lemon
    Ashley K

    Organization Name: Pleasant Smiles

    Absolutely the worst company to work with for any business as they felt it necessary to hold funds due our account at theirdiscretion, and 48+ hours later we are still waiting for the issue to be resolved. Poor customer service. I highly recommend finding someone other than these fine people to do business with.

    1
    • Organization Name: Pleasant Smiles

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Sam

    I am a current user of OpenEdge (transitioned from Accelerated Payments). We’ve been using it for 5 years. I periodically evaluate costs and competing offers which I’m doing now. I’ve had no issues with weird or unexpected costs. I haven’t had much reason to contact support but when I have had to contact them, it’s been positive. So, I’m confused with the various negative reviews . This report was positive but I didn’t see any positive reviews. I understand that negative reviews come easy and people don’t seem to have time to write a review about “it works like I expected” but curious, am I missing something ?

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      Gail

      Organization Name: Oxford Learning

      The absolute worst service and business I have ever dealt with. Underhanded, sneeky, set up fees and user fees before you even get started, DO NOT USE GLOBAL PAYMENTS..YOU WILL BE SORRY YOU EVER DID!

      1
      • Organization Name: Oxford Learning

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      william popek

      Organization Name: A&W Turf

      At first was ok with their charges. Then a customer who received goods sold to them complained and lied about the product so to get a chargeback. We tried to defend however the person at Global Certified that the customer statement (over the phone) was true. We had pictures and everything. Did not matter. A thousand dollars was taken out of our account. The local representative told us to take the customer to small claims court. IT never should have gotten this far. Looking for another card processor as of now

      1
      • Organization Name: A&W Turf

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      elizabeth tuohy

      Organization Name: gael living

      It took them from Nov to Feb to set up an account, the fault mostly was with one banking outlets who behaved bizarre and let them and their agents down in how they behaved. The bank in question is not held in high esteem in the country it’s based, so not too many surprise things did not go so normal. That said GP were the go to and not the bank of third party involved, GP role with the customer meant they had been able to step in when time lines got out of control. When the (thankfully, not a bank I would have optioned for this) merchant bank refused application, left seeking another provider. So had wasted 4 months, missed christmas entirely and then left with no known other option. Until I contact to get refund, then they wanted me to go again with another merchant so another possible 4 months. Looking at a possible total of 8 months if history repeated. Which was ludicrous in any business world. I politely refused and they were more than happy to keep any payments I made to them, ignoring even most very basic market stall standard of customer service, refund policy totally and utterly failed to deliver, had no indication having a customer service policy at all, as I asked what it was, never got any. They have very good telephone service agents, but overall management standards something else. The agents left in embarrassing position of delivering nothing as far as solutions or policy, when they check it does not seem to exist.
      I know have to seek legal route which will not be worth either the time or the money, and I assume based on this is how they assume it is possible to walk away from having due regard to customer when things go wrong. This is just not good enough in world trading environment. How can there be so many standards put on a market stall and yet seems still none for those in the most trusted business services

      • Organization Name: gael living

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      MARGO FREIGANG

      Organization Name: MADISON & MUSE

      Our company has been steadily growing in the 2.5 years since we began. After a particularly large sale, Global Payments phoned to say it had put a hold on our account until we provided annual returns prepared by our accountant. It was as sudden as it was inconvenient and we were left feeling that if they had account managers work with their accounts once in a while, they would not require such a heavy handed response. We’re looking for alternatives.

      1
      • Organization Name: MADISON & MUSE

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      Pat Logan

      Organization Name: Thrifty Nickel

      Global says I opened an account with them in 1997, but they have no signed contract that they can find. This account became inactive in 2001, but I was still being charged fees of over $60 a month. I did not realize I had this account until I sold my business in 2017. I did get regular statements from my current credit card processing company, but in addition, I also got one from American Express and Global Payments. I assumed (and you know what that does) it was another statement from another Credit Card company, but did not know they were a processing company. So, since the account became inactive in 2001, I have been charged approximately over $18,000 in fees. The fees escalated to over $350 and more than $400 a month in the last 4 years. I don’t know how they get away with charging such fees on an account that doesn’t process anything. I’m going to say, if I had this account and it went inactive, I sent in all the necessary paperwork at the time to cancel the contract, but they can’t find that either. Stay away from this company.

      • Organization Name: Thrifty Nickel

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      Mathieu Baribeau

      Organization Name: Westmount hearing Clinic

      These guys doubled my rates from about 2-2.5% to 4.7% overnight , then trying to contact anyone about this was impossible, then I decided to cancel my services and agree to pay a cancellation fee of 575$. Two weeks after sending the proper documentation, they still had not cancelled the account and they charged me 175$ even though I did not use the machine at all during the previous month. These guys are robbers, stay away if you want to have a good mental health

      1
      • Organization Name: Westmount hearing Clinic

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      Georges Ghawerghi

      Organization Name: Frigo Georges

      Don’t use this company. It is not for small business. They rush you to sign the contract without disclosing all the fees. They take on average 5% to 7% from any sales and they put other charges on there statement that I never heard off, they give you BS reasons for the charges. . They won’t address any issues and always say that I will receive a phone call within 2 days but they never call. They are a scam company that makes millions of $$$ a month off of small vulnerable companies that can’t fight back. Shame on them

      1
      • Organization Name: Frigo Georges

      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

      Neil

      I echo what everyone else has said. Don’t use this company. They take on average 7% from my sales and they put random charges on there that if you do call and reach anyone, they give you BS reasons for the charge. One i had was a PLATFFEE for $199.00. It was only in one month and they said it was a charge for security upgrades to there system to make our company secure. They won’t address any issues and always say that I will receive a phone call within 2 days but they never call. They are a scam company that makes millions of $$$ a month off of small vulnerable companies that can’t fight back. Shame on them.

      1

        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

        Mike Thayer

        MySchoolBucks.com, under the umbrella of Global, does NOT utilize the standard practice of providing a confirmation page to the user that a payment is about to be made. They took a “payment” from me yesterday, 12/12, even though I have been paying autopay for the last 4 years on the 23rd of each month. No, I wasn’t hacked, all I did was put a stop date on that autopayment for April 2, 2018 yesterday… There was no payment confirmation screen for me to authorize, nothing…. I authorized the stop payment ONLY, yet an unauthorized, unconfirmed payment was taken as well. I found out about the erroneous payment later than afternoon. A confirmation screen, prior to a submission for payment is a standard best practice for financial transactions and the MySchoolBucks.com site does NOT take that step. MySchoolBucks.com (Global) is refusing to reverse the charge.

        1

          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

          Beverly Banks McKinney

          Can you tell me how to contact Global Payments ? My bank was no help at all.

            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

            Jessica Dinsmore

            Beverly,

            A quick google search lead me here, to their customer support. Hope that helps!

              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

              ReGear

              Worst on every but on talking. Nothing would be informed and there were too much of hidden charges with Zero explanation. Ridiculous service and response from the team. Initially we were informed absolutely no charges except the transaction fee. When we asked for the report again the amount that gets credited and the report does not match. Latter when we asked for clarification they started sending report with different terms. When we asked explanation again new logic was thrown out. I would term them as super fraud and cheating company. Finally we gave up with out refund as we were aware that it is not worth.

              1

                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                Bharat Mistry

                Can somebody in Global payment help me get my 40k plus money. From December 2016 the money has accumulated to more than 40k. Two people were working for last three months saying you will see money in 10 days but nothing has happened I need some higher authorized person to contact me we are very small business. Me and my wife is going through tremendous amount of stress. Please help

                1

                  This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                  Rob Martinsen

                  ABSOLUTELY UNREASONABLE PEOPLE AT GLOBAL PAY.
                  THEY FROZE $3900 FOR 6 MONTHS. Some people complain about them taking a few days…. How can anyone stay in business if global pay decides to hold your funds for 6 months?
                  After speaking with them on the phone they said… “we are freezing $3900, now moving on”. I will be contacting the better business bureau this week for sure.

                    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                    supper day

                    This is a disgusting company!!!!!Stay away from them! they always over charge you so you need to keep an eye on your bank account all the time, and i am horrified by their customer service!There was a customer made a payment through the phone for two rings which are over £25 K, and this guy provided his address so we type in the card machine which shows matched so the card machine cleared the transaction, and the guy’s driver came to pick up these rings.After two days the global payment contacted us and inform us that was a fraud, so they just recalled the money back without our explanation, and the staff simply just said if that was a phone transaction then they don’t take any responsibility so we need to face this £25k lost by ourselves.My question is, as an small business, how can we know if the transaction is fraud or not, Global Payment has this mobile phone payment service, as long as customer provide the correct card detail and address information to us, if the payment went through, then it’s fine to us, Global Payment should increase the security and inform us for any suspicious transaction, but not after two days. After this, they debit us £6000 straight away from our account, I was shocked when I noticed this, so I called my back to stop that, fortunately the bank took action and the £6000 came back to us. They said they will give us 10 days time to proof everything, but why they just debit us straight away without noticification? Later we also notices in the past 10 days payment from our customers didn’t came to our account, and we called global payment, and the staff said the money has been cleared, its our bank’s problem, they hold the money, so we called our bank, but our bank said there is no sign shows any money coming in, so we keep calling the global payment and finally a staff told us that they hold all the money because they need to recall the £6000!This is how they treat their customer, they never listen, they just do whatever they want! in order to avoid more loose we stopped to use them immediately. I m horrified by this company! Now I dont know how to resolve this mess! I have to leave them! If you still thinking of use global payment, then you will definitely regret, they are not helping your business to glew, eventually, they will cause closure of your business. Absolutely disaster !This is my worst experience in my life, and this was my first time loose so much money in the business. Thank you Gobal Payment! you really taught me a big lesson!

                    1

                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                      NATHAN

                      Money is taking to long to come in take a payment on monday comes into acount on thursday and only clears the next tuesday wednesday ridiculous beware i wouldnt recomend

                      1

                        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                        Global Payments GP

                        Hello Nathan, I’d like to look into this for you. Will you please email your contact info to socialmedia@globalpay.com, so I can get the right people to get back in touch with you?

                          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                          Dejan

                          Very bad service, due to constant addition of new fees. Pure exemple : debit transaction is 0.05$ but suddenly additional fee for Tap Flash fee of 0.06$, so in total it’s 0.11 $ the transaction.PCI fees added without any notice and they know how to charge. When called, no one can even help to remove them, so I call them stealing liars

                          1

                            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                            Karin

                            If i could give them 1 star I would. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY – THEY ARE A RIP OFF! THEY CHARGED BE $1100 FOR $7800 WORTH OF TRANSACTIONS! DO THE MATH THATS 14% !!!! STAY AWAY FROM THEM

                            1

                              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                              Mia

                              With my personal experience only, I think this review missed the mark. My experience with Global Payments has been very similar to those already mentioned in the comments. It tops the cake for the worst company ever to deal with as a small merchant. Their fees upon fees upon fees is disgraceful, and even though I signed a 3 year contract and agreed to those ‘fees’, I had no real idea how they interpret these fees until I processed a transaction. What I thought they meant and what they actually turned out to be is very sad, especially on any CC cross borders. Their initial VISA and MC percentages seemed reasonable, but then some turned into over 30% of the actual transaction (with fees), causing me to actually loose money on the deal and drop my jaw in disbelief! Their monthly statements are full of many, many acronyms requiring way too much time trying to decipher them, and finally giving up. I’m not a lawyer as you probably figured out. Any questions about the bill must be sent in writing , another time waster. I’m sure they know they are misleading us as small merchants, why else would they make things so complicated and hard to understand? That’s not how to make customers happy. I’d be out of business fast if I treated my customers this way. Thanks for all the tips from the other comments about termination difficulties, I have sent them my termination notice 7 months in advance and hopefully they get it….but if not I have enough time to keep sending it until they do get it and acknowledge it. I will never recommend Global Payments, and warn ever merchant I know about them.

                              1

                                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                red pepper restaurant

                                hi, this is dinesh from red pepper restaurant sector 11 noida, my payment is not comming from last two days, when i checked from costomer support team then he told me that we deduct your payment for wireless machine as the renewal charge, even i am not using wireless machine for payment because i am using only broadband card machine for payment, and its MID No. is 70001092001703. how can you deduct money without my permission. when i am calling to my RM mr. ajay parth, he is not pickup my call. now i dont want any service from you and dont want your machine. so please i am requisting to you please take back your machines.

                                1

                                  This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                  balwant singh

                                  i have registered my complaint regarding global payment machine before one week that time costmer care person give me time 48 hours for resolve complaint. but any body did not come to my place and no any response from that side, so now i am thinking that this my big mistake, why i purchased global payment service. again i will not renew my service. this service is totally money waste, global payment dont have any support for costmer. so now i am requesting to my other costmers that please dont take global payment in future. very bad service.

                                  1

                                    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                    Research Solutions Group

                                    I am no longer using Global Payments and here’s why. In January 2016 the last month using Global, I had five transactions according to their records totaling $222.54. Global charged me $74.62, 331/2 percent? My current processing company would charged me for the same charges $8.54, which is .035 percent plus 15cents per transactions. This is criminal as far as I am concerned.

                                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                      Brad Friesen

                                      Global payments is truly a leader in the worst service, rates and systems. Ending a contract with them is difficult but not half as bad as trying to get in contact with your actual account manager. Our small business has been charged various (system access fees) for credit cards that we don’t accept and after 6 weeks of phone calls and emails we still don’t have any real clarification of what the charges were for. If you can actually get through to the call center expect to wait over 30 min. We have had technical difficulties with the hand held units also. We have since fired global payments and went with Elvalon and we saving over 60% which is huge for us, also the account manager is accessible so communication is never a problem. I would advise any small business to never deal with global payments.

                                      1

                                        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                        redzep alili

                                        I am so surprised about your review. These guys are the worst.1. Their next day funding means , three days later. While the other processors do have actual next day funding,Global does not count weekends.Charge backs- Global sees the charge backs as their cash cow as they charge $ 25 per charge back. They won’t even bother to present your rebuttal to the issuing card. They are not on their clients sideAt the end they add minimum processing fee , no explanationThen the come up with pci fee,customer fee you name itSTAY AWAYPS: You did not reveal if you have any connections to these thieves

                                        1

                                          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                          anna

                                          I have stopped using their machine for more than six months now and wish to cancel my contract due to increasing fees and now the compliance fee on top of everything else.. this is a fee that does not need to be passed on to the merchant.. in my estimation Global has breached my contract and i have contacted the FCAC with no response.. is closing my bank account the only possible way to get them to stop taking my money? my current fees for nothing are 97$ a month…

                                            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                            Tom DeSimone

                                            Hi Anna,

                                            Customer support should give you cancellation instructions, which generally include some kind of written cancellation request to be faxed or mailed. When you send the request, be sure to get a confirmation. After the request is processed, it will be an additional 30 days before the account is terminated, so you will likely be charged another month of fees.

                                            Closing the bank account would stop the funds from being withdrawn immediately, but you will still technically owe the funds. They will take you to collections for any amount that continues to accrue after your bank account is closed and before your merchant account is terminated.

                                            That’s a big bill just to have the service available. If you’re looking for a new account, check out our highest rated providers. You can keep an account open for between $5 and $20 per month with these.

                                              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                              Ron Schaerer

                                              I used global payment inc (total merchant services) for 10 and they still charged me leaving them. They claimed that it was a renewable contract but I ask them to tell me exactly where I could find it in the signed copy I had in my hand and they said it had changed since then. So I asked for a new copy but they refused. I think your review is pretty much on the mark, but why go to a company that doesn’t put the customer first?? During those 10 years I was charged for many hidden and new things with NO explanation or even concern. They NEVER worked with me as a partner and my business IS my life. My new service is 37% less with one flat $12 service fee and no contract. Plus many more tools and graphics. The follow up with training calls, give me hints on how to make sure all my transaction qualify for the lowest rates, etc. I don’t know why anyone would want to become a ‘life partner’ with global payments when there are better deals with people that really care about YOU. Ron

                                              3

                                                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                Betsy Malone

                                                We have been moderately satisfied with Merchant Services until now. We were however very unhappy to find that we could not respond to their request of a W-9 form because they would not answer our fax, phone, email and snail mail. They then penalized US for not providing them with this tax form. We began trying to answer their request on 1/5/15, with their deadline being 2/1/15. We made attempts on 5 more occasions. After all this, we have been informed they will withhold fees from our account at the rate of 28%. We highly resent their penalizing us for their lack of response, their inability to take care of their customer.

                                                2

                                                  This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                  naz

                                                  We have had global payment in our retail store for 3 years now. Just recently a customer came wi5h bought items and left the store. Week later we had a letter from GP that we will be deducting your account with that amount. We rang up and were told that as the card were stolen and you were not careful we have to take money of you. How can we be CAREFUL the customer do not have STOLEN CARD on their forehead!!anyways they debited £150 and paid the card holder. What annoys me is that its not our fault at all and if GP are so caring they should pay and not retailers..we live on penny charges to earn income and only takes someone to do this..I am now cancelling my contract and spreading the word to all family and friends business. The monthly rentals are gone up without notice anyway.

                                                  1

                                                    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                    Tom DeSimone

                                                    Hi Naz,

                                                    It’s a totally unfair system, I couldn’t agree with you more. There is really no way to be able to tell if the customer is using a stolen/fake card or not. You can boost your chances if you ask to see ID and verify the signature on every purchase – but doing that would not only take time, it’s also likely to upset customers.

                                                    The game is rigged, and not in your favor. Accepting card payments comes with risk, and that risk is usually passed on to the merchant rather than the card issuer or the customer. Unfortunately, this is the same no matter who you choose to process with. Even so, many merchants choose to accept cards despite the risk because the added earning potential outweighs their losses.

                                                    I’ll be hoping that the thieves and fraudsters stay out of your store in the future.

                                                    -Tom

                                                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                      Dorrina Moore

                                                      Does anyone notice that when global payments services attempt to take funds out of your checking account they word it as redep check, then when that does not work after several attempts they reword it as a POS, Again if that does not work after several attempts they change the batch number then they change the authorization date? If so please email me. I want to start a lawsuit.

                                                      1

                                                        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                        marie

                                                        Went with a reseller for almost 3 years, then had to suspend the business for several months…so when i reopened, i decided to go directly to the source, thinking it would save money. Hah hah joke’s on me!!At least they are an honest ripoff compared to some of the ones you review on here lol…As a micro business, they load us up with endless bs fees…a new one every other month, to the point that they take a ridiculous percentage of my sales. i have started to resent them with the burning hatred of a thousand suns and plan to get rid of them SOON!The good points-the money is always in the bank on time and in full…i have a wonderful personal rep to call, their telephone support has been most helpful, and their equipment lease is fair…You are right-this is not the processor for small business…just wish i had read your review back in 2012…thank you for this site

                                                        3

                                                          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                          Bryan

                                                          The sales rep hid the real rates they charge from me. told me he would cover $200 of my cancellation fee from another company. When my first statement showed up they had not removed the $200 and of course the sales rep no longer answered my calls. I’m about to switch to a new provider, I was told there was no cancellation fee but I’m sure there will be.I guess it really does come down to your rep.

                                                          1

                                                            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                            Matt Broache

                                                            Tom,Out of all the comments on the article, the only one you responded to was the person who just started using the service. So now your entire article can’t be respected or trusted. I just signed up with them too (although it wasn’t a choice since it’s simply what the reseller gave me) and I was out looking for reviews. There are a lot of valid negative reviews and it can be expected for a business this size, etc. But those reviews should not be dismissed. There are also many complaints about funds being held. All of the negatives are valid for any business. Why say let you know if you end up having any problems with GP if we can clearly see how you’ve handled all the other complaints about the company (by ignoring them). The one star I gave is for your article. You can’t be trusted now.MB

                                                            1

                                                              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                              Tom DeSimone

                                                              Hi Matt,

                                                              Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I agree that negative reviews should not be dismissed, and all of the common complaints from our comments section and from around the web are cataloged in the body of the review. Withholding of funds should definitely have been included in the common complaints section (it now is). Thank you for pointing that out.

                                                              As for my response to the positive review and not to the negative ones, this is not done to promote a positive outlook for this company. We are not in the business of complaint resolution, and merely provide a forum for complaints. Having merchants come by with praise for a processor is somewhat rare, so it tends to catch my attention and elicit my engagement.

                                                              So while our lack of public engagement with most of the negative reviews left in our comments section doesn’t mean we are ignoring the information provided, I think that you’re right in saying that we could do more to engage with the commenters who have complaints. I will be making that effort in the future.

                                                              Again, thank you so much for speaking up about this. We try to give as accurate a picture as possible through our reviews, and I certainly don’t want to compromise that.

                                                              Please come back to let us know how your processing experience is going, either in terms of your reseller or the Global processing protocols.

                                                              All the best,
                                                              Tom

                                                                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                CURT

                                                                Well I started dealing with a employee named Anna, and i have no complaints. I hope i never have any complaints. She was pleasing to deal with. So all is well so far.Thanks, CU/Pres.Hardrockgoldrefinery

                                                                5

                                                                  This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                  Tom DeSimone

                                                                  Hi Curt,

                                                                  That’s good to hear! Let us know how it’s going over there from time to time, or if you end up having any problems with Global Payments.

                                                                  Take care,
                                                                  Tom

                                                                    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                    Larry Mayfield

                                                                    This is the worst company I have ever dealt with and I was stupid enough to be a customer for 3 years . I placed call to customer service more than a few times, each time it became more awful than before and the other 1 just ok. it appears that the goal is to either place you on hold or transfer you to some one else so you can be placed on hold again. if that fails they just try to get you off the phone as quickly as possible without answering you questions. They try to bargain with you, with removing erroneous fees, and mislead into another contract, they lie or give you false information, it is clear to me that one particular representative has no common sense when it comes to customer service be assured I will make sure my voice is heard, as a small service disabled veteran owned company trying to to survive in this economy.

                                                                    1

                                                                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                      Tom DeSimone

                                                                      Hi Larry,

                                                                      That sounds incredibly frustrating. It’s disappointing to hear that GP’s customer service is performing so poorly. I hope that after your contract with Global is over you’ll consider some of our higher-rated providers. Keep us posted about your experiences.

                                                                      Thanks for your review,
                                                                      Tom

                                                                        This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                        Adham Tayfour

                                                                        very poor customer services, there were no help, called to get some information about one of my transactions and i had to call three days in a row and never got help at all

                                                                          This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                          Edward Banas

                                                                          I agree with all of the above comments above. I retired and sold my dental practice to a new owner. However, Global kept withdrawing money out of my business account as a “base charge” and denied receiving repeated faxes to STOP. I have since requested refund to my account for money they took out, but so far have not been able to get the funds they wrongly removed redeposited. To sum, they are crooks!

                                                                            This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                            Barbara Sprenger

                                                                            I’m in agreement with everyone here. Global Payments were the processor for my bank, so I went with them. They set up my account so that they OWNED my gateway — so I could never leave! (I had a Customer Information Manager on it with 750 clients. Couldn’t get credit cards from all of them all over again.) I fought Global, and eventually (after 6 months!) they let me change processors, but they still owned the gateway. Then 2 weeks ago — after nearly a year of using a new processor — they closed my gateway! For two weeks, I had no income and couldn’t process cards (or pay rent or bills or payroll…) as each customer service person gave me a different answer and said there was nothing they could do. My main contact at Global wouldn’t take calls at all. Eventually, one person at Authorize.net found a way to bypass them. But stay as far away from Global as you can!

                                                                            1

                                                                              This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                              Dmitriy

                                                                              Fees are EXCESSIVE Customer service reps are ARROGANT.
                                                                              When you want to cancel – their strategy is to record your request and then DO NOTHING, weeks pass by – no response, but they still BILL you.
                                                                              Standard term – 3 years, penalties are the LOST revenue, equal to the average monthly fees for the remaining months left on the agreement.
                                                                              Good luck trying to get the specifics (break-down) of it! TRULY – Global are like DOOD-to-DOOR scammers.
                                                                              Do NOT sign with them or with any AFFILIATED company they are dealing with.

                                                                              REMEMBER: You would pay $70/ month even if you won’t process a single transaction through them.

                                                                                This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                                Les Burrow

                                                                                I have been trying to settle a problem with them since May 2012 (now Oct 2012) They are the worst company to deal with. The right hand does not know what the left hand is doing. I have spent 1 month trying to speak to a “manager” in charge, but I am told he only signs letters, he does not take calls.
                                                                                A totally incompetent organisation.
                                                                                I am about to close a company account with HSBC bank because of the incompetence of “their” merchant service (or lack of it). A bank I have been with for 15 years will lose my business over an amount of £50.00 (I spend more on my lunch each day). Its not the money, its the principle behind it.

                                                                                  This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                                  Roxana

                                                                                  Yes, definitely the worst provider ever. Customer service is for a third world country, those that are decent. The rest are really not there. The average time of solving a problem ( and they created all) is a month. Global is a bad choice for small and average companies.

                                                                                    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                                    james michael

                                                                                    as we go through life we deal with all types of companies good and bad, but this is the worst i have ever dealt with and i was stupid enough to be a customer for 18 months. 8 of every 10 calls i placed to customer service was awful and the other 2 just ok. it appears that the goal is to either place you on hold or transfer you to some one else so you can be placed on hold again. if that fails they just try to get you off the phone as quickly as possible without answering you questions. i returned a machine 2 weeks ago, called last week and verified that they received the machine and then a week later they stole $750.00 from my acccount claiming they never received the machine and continue to drag their feet in reimbursing me the money. check your accounts closely with this outfit as there was no communication from them that they were going to withdrawal the money – they just stole it. if someone in this company says they are going to do something-get it in writing. many other processers out there-do not bother with this one

                                                                                      This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

                                                                                    Leave a Reply

                                                                                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                                                                                    Your Review

                                                                                    Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.
                                                                                    Please read the "User Review and Comment Policy" before posting.

                                                                                    Share

                                                                                    Our unbiased reviews and content are supported in part by affiliate partnerships, and we adhere to strict guidelines to preserve editorial integrity. The editorial content on this page is not provided by any of the companies mentioned and has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities. Opinions expressed here are author’s alone.