ShopKeep Review

  • 97 comments
  • Updated on:

Need Help Choosing?

Click Here

Phone Number
888-966-8912
Date Established
2010
Location
New York, NY

Highlights:

  • Simple, reasonable pricing
  • Great for small businesses
  • Intuitive design
  • User-friendly
  • Robust back-office features
  • Highly functional register
  • Raw ingredient tracking
  • MailChimp integration
  • Excellent customer service

Overview:

ShopKeep is a simple, elegant piece of software. It is aimed squarely at small businesses and has carved out a space catering to food and beverage sellers. That said, most retailers, food-seller or not, will feel at home with this iPad POS system.

Just $69/Month/Register, free 14-day trial, pay-as-you-go, no support fees, no termination fee.

ShopKeep released version 2.6.7 of its app last year (though version 2.8.2 has come out since then), with a new design that offers improved ease-of-use, more dynamic features, and all around increased efficiency. The new version definitely performs as advertised–it’s quick and responsive–though it’s not completely without its flaws. ShopKeep is most often celebrated for its simple pricing structure, though the offline functionality and excellent (award-winning) support offers are pretty nice too.

If you’re looking for a new POS or are already using ShopKeep and wondering if it is worth it, read on, or….

Price:

You can call ShopKeep at 888-966-8912 or try a free trial of the ShopKeep software for 14 days at no charge (no credit card required). The sign-up process is simple and fast.

ShopKeep is a no-contract, pay-as-you-go, monthly subscription service. There are no extra fees for maintenance and service, and all tech support is included in the monthly charge. ShopKeep’s pricing is simple:

$69/Month/Register

  • 24/7/365 Support
  • 60 days of Free Support from a ShopKeep Expert
  • Free ShopKeep Pocket™ iOS App
  • No contract, no commitment

It’s worth flagging the company’s price for additional registers as one area for improvement. A feature that I’ve seen (specifically in NCR Silver) is a per-sale charge on additional registers, which becomes static after a certain number has been reached. This means that retailers that only need an additional register for a few sales during peak times aren’t lumbered with an extra monthly fee.

Cloud-Based or Locally-Installed:

ShopKeep utilizes a hybrid setup. The app runs locally from an iPad and syncs data back to the cloud when there is an Internet connection. In the event of an outage the app continues to run with all features except for integrated credit card transactions. You can always work around this by setting up a backup hot spot router or by running the application on iPads with cellular data plans.

Specific Industry:

ShopKeep is excellent for small specialty vendors, such as wine shopsspecialty foodgift shops, toy stores, concession stands, bakeries, cafeterias, and mall kiosks. It is also well-designed for use in foodservice applications, like small cafes, ice cream shopscoffee shops, and food trucks. Full-service restaurants might also be a good fit for ShopKeep since it recently introduced open check and sever-less syncing (open a check on one iPad, close it on another).

Specific Size of Business:

ShopKeep is ideal for small to medium sized businesses. Though it can handle multiple locations, it isn’t necessarily for the large retailer. This is by design, and ShopKeep has done well to stay in this niche. The total inventory ShopKeep can handle has increased to 10,000 items, but the interface and back-office functions don’t attempt to be a large-scale replacement. The iPad register can only host up to 270 item buttons. The rest of your inventory, if it numbers higher, can be rung up by barcode scanner or manual search.

Ease of Use:

I can usually make a snap judgment about whether or not I will enjoy using a piece of software. It seems to me that most user interfaces fall on a spectrum: lifeless and corporate on the one hand, warm and intuitive on the other. ShopKeep rests happily in the latter category.

The visual design of the iPad app is sleek and modern, with fluid animated flourishes. There are sound effects for the buttons but (fortunately) a mute option is located close by. It’s enjoyable to use, and it is never a hassle to locate rarely-used functions.

When you first log in to your Back Office, you’re guided through a comprehensive setup process. You are given a rundown of basic features and also the opportunity to define any basic details of your store (name, address etc.) that will be shown on receipts.

You’re then shown how to add inventory, either on an item-by-item basis or by CSV mass import, and how to add buttons on your iPad register. With these basics covered, you’re ready to go. As mentioned, it is a very intuitive interface, and simply exploring the different menu options is enough to get you acclimated to the system and its features. Once set up, you will do all your reporting, employee time tracking, and inventory receiving on the web platform. Beyond that, most of your interactions are with the iPad app. In addition to the register functions, there are also a handful of managerial actions that can be accessed from the iPad.

One of the bigger improvements ShopKeep made in version 2.0 is changing how the app handles managerial access. All users have certain level permissions, mainly to ensure cashiers can’t access the more advanced capabilities. Previously, however, a manager with higher access permissions still needed to enter separate codes to access the register and managerial tasks. For example, they would have enter a four digit manager’s code to open the shift and specify the money in the till, then log back in with a different three digit PIN to access the register. Now a manager only needs to enter one code to access the register and other features.

Version 2.0 marked a significant improvement on version one, which was not as user-friendly. Version 2.6 continued to develop on the intuitive workflow, and version 2.8 (the latest release) smoothed out some of the bugs that remained. To get a better idea of how easy ShopKeep is to learn, check out the video below.

 

Hardware and Operating System Requirements:

ShopKeep runs exclusively on iOS 7 (iPad 2 or newer) and the iPad mini. As for peripherals, ShopKeep has an online shop with all the hardware that works with the software. You don’t need to purchase your hardware through ShopKeep, but keep in mind that you do need to purchase the brands and models that the company supports. Peripheral compatibility with the iPad can get very specific so it’s best to stick with what has been proven to work. ShopKeep does offer a few bundles, ranging from a starter kit with an iPad stand, cash drawer, receipt printer, and card swipe, to kits geared specifically for retail or quick serve establishments. Most are around the $1000 mark so they won’t carve out a massive dent in your budget.

Features:

You can see a full overview of ShopKeep’s features here. The register’s capabilities are comprehensive: ringing up items, adding modifiers, taking payments, splitting tenders, quick discounting (item and order level), easy returns and refunds. As mentioned before, the in-app functionality is very intuitive and doesn’t require any additional expertise or training. Setting up your iPad button layout is also a seamless process, managed from your back office.

Staying on the back office for a moment, what’s truly impressive is the wealth of features included. Again, large businesses may find that it falls short of their needs in some areas, but a small business that operates one register will be paying $69 a month for some relatively advanced tools. The same is true for outlets with more than one register. For a low cost of entry you get access to a system that manages your inventory, your customers, and your employees’ time, keeps a record of all your transactions, offers a variety of reporting options for analyzing all this data, and provides unlimited technical support by phone, live chat, and email.

The inventory functionality, in particular, deserves to be highlighted, because it goes above and beyond what you’d expect of a product aimed at small businesses. In addition to keeping track of the quantities of each item, you can also set reorder points, utilizing a reporting function to generate a clear report detailing what, how much, and from which vendor to order any low stock item. Most impressively, though, ShopKeep is able to inventory items as raw goods then create assemblies based on this information. While this could be useful for a retail setting that bundles items together, its greatest value is to foodservice providers who need to manage inventory at an ingredient level. If you’re making burgers, say, you’re not keeping track of how many Patty Melts you have on hand; you need to know the quantities of each ingredient: the patty, the rye bread, the cheese, the onions.

All this said, ShopKeep’s inventory features are not quite as advanced as some other implementations I’ve seen. Users aren’t able to define the unit measurement of each raw ingredient, so it’s up to you to know that you’re tracking potatoes by the pound and cheese by the slice. And though you can define the cost of each raw ingredient, when you create an item composed of those ingredients, ShopKeep doesn’t total them up and auto-define the cost of the item. In the case of our Patty Melt, you would have to add up the costs and enter them in manually. I’ve seen stronger examples of this feature (POS Lavu), but it comes at the expense of other features. Needless to say, each system is going to have its trade-offs.

Another recent addition worth mentioning is the MailChimp integration.

ShopKeep-MailChimp-SignUp-Button-BO

Though some POS systems do offer in-house email marketing, it’s often at the expense of features that only dedicated email broadcasting software (like MailChimp or AWeber) can provide. By partnering with a third-party, ShopKeep deftly sidesteps this problem.

Notably, ShopKeep has recently fixed one of its most glaring problems: the inability to set different tax rates. Now, in addition to being able to set a default tax rate for your merchandise, you can assign special tax rates to specific items with the new Tax Groups feature.

Integrations and Add-Ons:

Currently, ShopKeep integrates with the following services:

  • MailChimp
  • QuickBooks Online
  • AppCard – This is an “integrated loyalty program that provides personalized offers, impressive reporting, and syncs with your ShopKeep sales data.”

Compatible Credit Card Processors:

Though the company favors its own payment solution, ShopKeep Payments, a number of integration options for card processors are offered, and you’ll almost certainly be able to keep the processor you’re using or find one that better meets your needs. ShopKeep recommends getting in touch directly to check if your processor is supported. If you need help selecting the best credit card processor for your business let us know. It’s what we’re good at.

Customer Service and Support:

Given the fact that the concept for ShopKeep emerged from a retailer’s frustration at having his software constantly break down and not having the required support available to get it back online, it makes sense that ShopKeep owes its success to the fact that it is a customer-centric operation. Unlimited support–by email, live chat, or phone–is included in the monthly price. The support microsite also offers clear and comprehensive articles and video tutorials on every aspect of the software.

Of course, there are the obligatory Facebook and Twitter feeds, and the content is relevant and engaging mostly because it provides links back to the ShopKeep blog, which goes far beyond the standard corporate “blogorrhea.” There are the expected press releases and standard patting-of-their-own-backs posts, but there are also two other sections which are regularly updated with good content.

“Counter Culture” features the success stories and strategies of ShopKeep’s customers. Additionally, the blog is the point of entry to ShopKeep’s Small Business 101, a collection of business advice for the small time entrepreneur, with information on zoning, permits, licenses, a small business guide to social media, and tons of other material. I’m doubtful most entrepreneurs will actually read the bulk of this material, but it does reflect ShopKeep’s intention to offer as much advice and guidance to their customers as is feasible. Also, in case you’ve forgotten about this from the beginning of this review, ShopKeep has won awards for its customer service.

Negative Reviews and Complaints:

Reviews of the ShopKeep app at the iTunes store and elsewhere are overwhelmingly positive. I took a look at the negative reviews at the app store and noticed two trends. The first is that many of the negative reviews seem to have been written by merchants who didn’t thoroughly research ShopKeep before signing a year-long contract (you can generally get a reduced price if you sign up for a year-long subscription) and are now angry that it doesn’t have the functionality they wanted.

The other trend I noticed was that several of the complaints involved lack of features that are now part of the app: onscreen tipping for credit transactions, no split checks, lack of different tax rates, and no kitchen printing. ShopKeep has listened to customer feedback and addressed those problems, which is always nice to see from a software company.

Positive Reviews and Testimonials:

Even people who find fault with ShopKeep are quick to point out how happy they are with the overall product–especially when it comes to customer service. The software is currently being used by many satisfied small businesses across the U.S. You can check out some testimonials on the ShopKeep website or visit the Apple App store to see what other users have said (the app has a 4 out 5 rating based on 579 ratings).

  • Positive Highlights – Most positive reviews highlight the worry-free offsite data storage, easy-to-use interface, great tech support, and easy tracking of sales.

Final Verdict:

ShopKeep continues to impress. Though the software has moved on to version 2.8, the core functionality remains unchanged (and that’s not a negative). There have been some feature additions, but all of this POS system’s good aspects have been maintained.

That said, there are still some features I’d like to see added. Specifically, greater accounting and email marketing software integration, and the inclusion of an eCommerce integration.

ShopKeep remains one of the best iPad POS systems out there. Those familiar with our reviews know we wouldn’t say this lightly. For any retailer or quick serve cafe owners doing their research, ShopKeep deserves a try (call them at 888-966-8912).

Get Started With ShopKeep

Jordan Nelson

Jordan Nelson

Jordan is a writer and editor from a quaint little town just south of Portland, Oregon. She has been publishing her works for just over two years and is constantly expanding her portfolio. When not writing the next great American novel, Jordan can be found lusting after a condo on the East coast, spinning in her swivel chair, and downloading movie soundtracks on iTunes.
Jordan Nelson
Jordan Nelson

Latest posts by Jordan Nelson (see all)

Leave a comment

97 Comments

    Jules Boutique

    For the most part I like Shopkeep. Their customer service has been great. There are a few things that it doesn’t do for me but then I’ve been pleased with the reports and a few other things I’ve learned about that I didn’t realize I could get. It appears that the people that work there are doing their best to make it as user friendly, affordable and adaptable to any type of business that they can. I would recommend them to another business.

    Rating33333
    Emily Held

    Shopkeep has amazing customer service. Im not too computer savvy and often find myself calling the 800#. Every time you get a real human incredible helpful within a minute. They can talk you through any stressful situation in no time. Im very happy with shopkeep, the software is so simple to use and understand. Even for me. I’d definitely recommend it for any business.

    Rating55555
    Mark Logan

    1) Credit card processing fees are withdrawn from your account without prior notice or invoicing – you better make sure you budgeted otherwise it could be a rude awakening;
    2) The bluetooth credit card reader sucks!! – Our servers have carpal tunnel from having to rerun cards. Half the time we enter the card numbers in manually which really sucks when you have 10 people in line waiting for beer.
    3) We ordered gift cards 30 day prior to out anticipated date of needing them and got them 6 weeks later (missing the Christmas 2015 holiday season). We paid for expedited processing and Shopkeep was persona non grata.
    4) Very inefficient workflow. For example, when you finish a ticket it goes back to a home screen which then requires that you tap the “+” icon so that you can start a new ticket, instead of defaulting to the new ticket screen. Yeah, I know it sounds nit-picky but deal with it 200 times a night and it adds up.
    5) YOU CAN’T ORGANIZE OPEN CHECKS BY NAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When you have 20 tabs open and you’re trying to find and close a tab for a guest, it takes forever. I’ve spoken to the Shopkeep folks about this several times and their response was “Yeah, uuumm, we aren’t going to to do this”. So if you run a business where you have more than 4-5 tabs open at a time and desire a way to organize beyond chronology and server…look elsewhere.
    6) Charts for items sold are very limited…to really figure out what you sold you need to create a .csv file, import into Excel and then you have a graph…but now you have to save it as a separate Excel file somewhere on you computer, sort a pivot table and create a graph rather than being able to view it in Shopkeep.
    Our business is expanding and we are looking to add another POS register to keep up. Unfortunately, we’re not looking at Shopkeep.

    Rating22222
    Liz Ozkan

    We bought the chip card reader from Shopkeep. Paid $249 and IT DOESN’T WORK. I’ve complained repeatedly, asked for a refund, and have been told each time that they are working on the software! How dare a company sell a product that doesn’t work? This company has no integrity as far as I’m concerned.

    RatingNot Rated
    Tom schmitz

    I ran into a major problem with Shopkeep. The program is set up so cashiers always have access to their x report. No manager key or password needed. This function can not be turned off.
    I have been in retail for over 35 years. Every electronic cash register I have ever seen requires a manager key to run reports. For a reason. In my bar business I struggle to keep my bartenders honest. By giving them access to the sales report I lose one of my most powerful tools. I’m sure other bar owners know what I mean. The folks at Shopkeep obviously don’t.
    I will have to look at other systems until they correct this glaring mistake.

    Rating11111
    Arlene

    Red Wing Arts Association chose Shopkeep for their POS in March 2015. We made a major transition from 3-part NCR hand written receipt books to Shopkeep. As a nonprofit, the majority of the time unpaid docents staff the checkout desk. Their ages range from the mid-40s to 90+. I put together a training manual and worked with them to learn the system. They did very well.

    Shopkeep was easy to learn and has functioned well for our gallery that offers member artwork on consignment.

    Equally important is that Shopkeep support staff are the best people I have ever spoken with on the phone. They are patient, listen to concerns and talk me through every issue to a positive outcome. We haven’t needed support often but when we do, it’s top notch!

    Rating55555
    Maureen Kenny

    Shopkeep is a very user friendly system, employees pick it up with ease. Support on the rare occasions I needed it has been thorough and expert. A pleasure since day one! I have referred several to the systems and they all have loved it also.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Tom Goodwin

    We have been using Shopkeep for 2 years at our retail bakery / coffee shop.

    The system is great in that it allows us to see what our customer count and sales are for each hour of the day. The cloud Back office allows us to look back to previous holidays and track sales of specific items that we only sell in season. The register is simple to setup and is very deep in features that help us track our inventory. A simple drink like a latte might have 30 options with sizes and add ons, but we can train a high school student in just minutes how to use it.

    Customer support is important when you buy any software based system that involves constantly improving hardware options and add ons like gift cards and the ability to accept EMV and Apple pay.
    We are open all hours and I have talked to customer support in Ireland at 2am, New York at 1pm and Portland at 8pm. We always get someone to talk to that understands our concerns and really does want to help us resolve any issues. Hardware is guaranteed for 1 year so if it fails or does not meet your expectations they will replace it.

    My biggest praise of the system is that my accountant (wife) gets all the information she needs. Always accurate, always on time!

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Rodney May

    I have been using ShopKeep for the last two years. It is very easy to use, inexpensive and customer support is outstanding. If you own a retail business, there is no other POS solution that comes close to matching ShopKeep!

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Nishal Nandwani

    Like with someone else on the reviews, Shopkeep pretty much deceived me. They’re very nice and polite, which makes you trust them. I asked the Shopkeep rep Henry Rossof to sign me up. He said there is an annual option and a monthly option. I specifically said I wanted to pay per month. He understood this as pay per month on an annual contract! Now I’m stuck with Shopkeep for a year. They did send me a contract to sign, but being at my place of business on a very busy day, I didn’t take the time to read it. (That’s my mistake) But he didn’t even mention that there’s an option for monthly payment on an annual contract vs the plain monthly payment option. I made the assumption, trusting his politeness. I’m giving everyone a warning to watch out with this company.

    After talking to a manager, she simply wouldn’t consider the misunderstanding, basically saying live with it, even though I said the app is completely useless for my business needs. They keep mentioning “legally binding” but of course, if they’re willing, they can opt to cancel the contract as agreed by both parties. Didn’t happen! That’s customer service for these folks.

    The only good thing is their competitive price, but for this service, pay a little higher for honestly much better service and definitely a much more useful POS. Theirs don’t have matrix inventory, no automatic promotions. Basic retail stuff. I might as well create an excel sheet to do that, but I’m stuck with this for 1 year! They said they’ll be adding matrix inventory, but couldn’t even give me a timeframe.

    Basically, check all avenues prior to signing up to Shopkeep, and be utterly careful with what they say vs. what actually comes out in writing.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Tony Bennett

    Outstanding customer service!

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Rima R

    We opened our business from Day 1 using shopkeep at the recommendations of some friends who ran admin a local catering company. They insisted we start from Day 1 so that we could have a firm understanding for items and tracking and ease of transferring info to back office. I have read that ‘some’ shop owners have been able to become profitable in 3-6 months with claims that Shopkeep helped them, but I have yet to see for myself if we will fall into that category. We do like a lot of the functions of shopkeep as far as the front of house app goes. It’s super easy for the employees to navigate, and quite honestly – a lot of it is up to the owner or manager to set it up properly. It really is what you make of it as far as that part goes. The layout options and modifiers work pretty darn good as far as the needs of a coffee shop. Took a hot second to really understand how to work the layout but now that we have it down, it’s easy to change stuff on the fly from the laptop or iPad if needed. We also use Shopkeep payments. I opened my shop 7 weeks ago, and quite honestly I haven’t tons of time to really sit and analyze whether or not were getting the best rates and deals, so again I cannot confidently say whether or not I am pleased with it. But what I do like is that they send you a monthly paper statement that shows all your stats and sales and that is nice to hand over to the accountant for tax season. We did have a thing where when we first opened they asked us to verify something and because it was over a weekend we got radio silence and had to open using cash only for a few days. It was rough, but we got through it. Now we have the bluetooth swiper for payments. I love the compact function and it supposedly takes chip cards, although I had someone from Germany with a chip card and it would not accept the card no matter what I did to try. Sometimes the bluetooth disconnects and you have to re establish a connection. That gets a little frustrating when the lineup is long, but again, it’s not the worst thing ever and it is a wireless device that syncs with the iPad. The monthly fee seems reasonable enough, again I know there are some free services out there like Paypal and square but I think they do not have an in depth integration like shopkeep and I believe there’s just no way around it. And if you look at the other alternatives (like those crazy POS systems that are buggy and need to have a tech customize) they are expensive and overkill for a shop like us. Because we are a small, family owned and operated business I do recommend shopkeep for people like us. Yeah, there are a few drawbacks that are nit picky and marginal, but overall shopkeep is a very good option for someone riding that middle line such as ourselves – a custom POS would be overkill but we need more than just the basic free swipe app… At the end of the day, I’m pretty happy with Shopkeep.

    Rating33333

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Mai Lan Bradford

    I went with Shopkeep for our point of sale system because it allowed us to keep inventory but went with NorthAmerican Bancard for our merchant services. We hardly had any issues with our POS but were being ripped off by NorthAmerican. Never was able to access the website and were always being charged exorbitant fees each month and would never see the credits promised to us. At first they wouldn’t let me out of my 3 yr contract and my sales rep stopped taking my calls. I heard that Shopkeep started offering merchant services so I contacted them to see if I could switch to them. I told them I was still under contract so the customer service rep also notified me that the sales rep was a person that sold their products also so they wouldn’t be allowed to be my merchant services. I told them about my awful customer service from the sales rep and NorthAmerican so the customer service rep contacted my original sales rep to find out what can be done. He talked the sales rep to canceling my contract so I was free to go with Shopkeep. What a world of difference! It’s one stop shop- meaning I just have to go to one website and/or call one customer service number for all of my POS and merchant service needs. I hardly see any fees or at least they are so small I do not have a heart attack when I do notice them. I couldn’t be happier!

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Shelbi

    A OWNER of a RESTAURANT BAR!!!!!! I have installed Shopkeep in my business. It has been 1 month into it. I am sure this system is perfect for a one station RETAIL TINY business. I on the other hand was told this system would be able to handle what
    I have going on. I own a Restaurant/Bar that seats about 80pp and in the next year will double in size. I have set up 2 iPad work station and when I expand I will need to add in another 2-3 stations. Here is the problem….The 2 iPads do not fully talk to each other. Meaning that you as a server cannot be ringing things up on both iPads unless you as a server run 2 separate “X” on each pad that you finalized a sale on. Number 2, my business closes after midnight because I own a bar….So you will not be able to receive a normal “Z” report( sales for end of day) from Shopkeep. You will have to go back the previous day in order to get your full sales amount for a day of business. and then manually itemize your sales into departments. This has been very time consuming for me and my bookkeeper. The system defiantly has some gliches in it. And I found that setting up the hardware was very frustrating. They want everything to run on bluetooth but connecting and staying connected is hit and miss, especially if you live in a rural area like I do. Number 3, If you have multiple iPads, you will need to go to each one of them and “Z” out the iPads. What a pain!!! and a bummer because I always want to know what my sales are for the end of the day. Now I will need to go to each iPad and get the “Z” reports and then add them all up to get my sales!
    Needless to say I will keep trying to work with the system in this next year….but will be looking for something that is going to be able to handle the fast sales and the amount of sales that I will and am doing.

    Rating22222

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Mike Vetter

    We have been using Shopkeep for a year and a half in our retail store. We spent a great deal of time researching POS systems. Shopkeep was not a perfect fit but was very close to perfect. What really sold us on selecting them was their personal service. When you call you get a real person and they are very knowledgeable. They are constantly upgrading their system to include new services and refine older ones. We find their customer service to be top notch. As far as cloud based POS services go, Shopkeep is a great value and provide amazing features and customer service.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Marina Rozen

    Before I opened my business that my hubby and I created from scratch, I searched high and low for just the right POS system for my “mom and pop” small business. After seeing a local cupcake company use ShopKeep, I decided this was the right fit for my children’s indoor play cafe. I knew I didn’t need a complicated system with bells and whistles. ShopKeep is the right fit and I enjoy the easy step-by-step instructions on how to install, how to continue operating under various conditions, and the most important aspect of any business is feeling and knowing someone cares on the other end. Thank you for letting me share my experience!

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    GardenStore

    I purchased and set up ShopKeep for my store about a year ago. There were some initial hick ups but our advisor helped to clear up our initial issues. What we were not told however was that the adviser only lasted 2 weeks(the length of their free trial). This was upsetting because their 24/7 on call support team, seemingly consisted of a group of teenagers to early twenty year olds who had never used the program before. I had the IT Manager for my store calling and working with them every other day and he was answering more of their questions than they could answer of his. Each phone call ended with a “well try this and maybe it’ll work. If not just call us back”. What I don’t think they understand is that each time we have to call them, there is a 15 minute wait(minimum) and then another 15+ minutes of giving our account information and re-explaining the issue that is occurring. It doesn’t appear that they take notes over calls or if they do, not detailed ones. The option to upload Excel spreadsheets to enter your inventory and to make changes was a very appealing feature for us. The downside of that feature being that there is a 1/100 success rate. Very rarely would the spreadsheet succeed in uploading and then when it did, it would take 7/564 items(Our last upload attempt), leaving us to manually enter a vast majority of our stock individually. To top it all off, every month ShopKeep was sending out notices about their “EMV Promise” and Newsletters about how the EMV Chips were coming and how ShopKeep “Has us covered”. As I am writing this post (5/19/2016) they still do not have compatibility for EMV chips or the ability to read them. About 2 months ago, we had an issue with an EMV card chargeback. The card read as correct and a few days after the transaction we received emails from our payment processor and bank, stating that the transaction didn’t go through and we got hit with a $5000 loss of inventory from that transaction. Our bank refused to reimburse due to the card being EMV chip enabled and not being processed using an EMV chip reader. So, we contacted ShopKeep to let them know of the situation and so that we could be re-imbursed(As their EMV Promise stated). They then informed us that they will not be fulfilling their end of the EMV Promise because the transaction was over $500 and because we didn’t use the EMV Reader to read the card(keep in mind that their software is not compatible with EMV Readers yet). Everything with this company is a gimmick. I haven’t even touched on how buggy the POS interface is or how god awful back office is. BackOffice is constantly crashing or will slow to a halt while you’re in the middle of using it. I have had to re-enter countless items and re-do several forms because of their buggy website.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Louisa Parkinson

    Customer service is the key as THINGS happen! It’ imperative to have someone on the other end of the phone who can walk me through whatever the issue is: credit card machine reboot, reprinting receipt , printing out a specific report. And they are all nice, calm, and ready to help. This is not the case with other technology companies I have partnered with where I am left wishing they were trained by shopkeep!
    System wise, I researched a great deal before going with shopkeep even though they seemed more geared toward food and I’m retail, but I have not been disappointed. As the months go by and my knowledge increases, I have not once thought, “wow, I really wish Shopkeep could do this ___(fill in the blank.) Thanks Shopkeep! I really feel like you are a partner in my business, not just a service.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    TRI-COUNTY FEED

    I love that is is sophisticated and user friendly at the same time. I have read through all of these reviews and I honestly don’t know what they are talking about? There are 3 of us at our store that use the system and haven’t had ANY issues whatsoever. I have bar-coded 95% of our merch and it works really great!
    I saw SHOPKEEP on a receipt from another Feed Store and we are both still waiting on a referal fee, but besides that, everything has been smooth sailing and I wold recommend this POS system to anyone!! Thanks for everything ShopKEEP!
    _Amanda_

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Emily

    Hey Amanda,
    I am just starting up with shopkeep and I am curious as to how you are doing your receiving of invoices from distributors? Are you using a separate software system for your receiving?

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Karsyn

    Shopkeep is the best POS available on the market. It is simple to use, reliable and very economical. Support is always available , the shopkeep team is wonderful, courteous always ready to help in anyway. I would tell every business owner this is the way to go , you will never find another POS as good as Shopkeep.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Saleh Al Lawati

    For me shopkeep is the best app out there. serves my needs just perfectly.
    some things can be improved like adding some accounting features.
    otherwise all good my side.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Andrew

    While the product they offer is really intuitive and great for a small business use extreme caution when entering into a contract with shopkeep as they use very deceptive sales practice with. They will do and say whatever it takes to lock you into a contract and then not follow through with the terms or let you out of the contract based on those statements. I was quoted that they only charge interchange + .06 for a CC fee. I specifically asked about other fees that are not considered interchange by CC companies, but instead considered ‘in addition’ to. They informed me the only fees I will get charged are true interchange +.06.

    Upon receiving a bill with those additional NABU, APF fees, I contacted their support team. Only to be told by their rep the following (copied directly from email). This was following our phone call where he basically told me ‘it is what it is, deal with it’

    ‘The point is the fact that these fees are not in our control. They are charged by the card brands themselves and anything the the card brands charge are considered interchanges as its the wholesale rate of the card. Also note that it says these fees are across the board for all merchants.’

    He sent me an attachment which says the exact opposite, and states fee’s are in addition to, not considered part of.

    ‘There was plenty of negative publicity surrounding the NABU and APF fees when they were first implemented, since this money is in addition to the interchange fees you’re are already being assessed by the issuer’s bank and the card brand network for the part they play in processing your credit card transactions. These fees are the same across the board for all merchants, and they will appear on your monthly credit card processing statement, usually as a separate line item. You may see them listed as NABU, APF, Network Access Fee, or VS APF-CR indicating the charge was made with a Visa credit card, or VS APF-DB for a Visa debit card.’

    After a couple more emails expressing my displeasure of the deceptive marketing, and then not being let out of my contract (The fee’s not being part of it, was the only reason I signed the contract to begin with). I received a call from Mike Rosenbloom, their VP of Channel. While apologetic, he chalks it up to a ‘training issue’. That is not acceptable to take an issue of deceptive marketing and call it a training issue. At the very least they should have offered the opportunity to end the year long contract, but all they offered was a $20 statement credit, which was not the point. I wasn’t looking for a freebie, which may placate some customers. What makes the issue right is allowing the opportunity to get out of a contract that you only signed based on the information the sales rep pushed you.

    I would not use their product in the future after my contract ends, and would strongly urge you to find another option as well. At the end of the day, shopkeep is not what they claim, and are just another company taking advantage of a small business by offering one thing and delivering another.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Anik Wild

    We love shopkeep and the support team is amazing.
    It’s the best POS solution for out business.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Bryan Johnson

    Great system…Really wish they could add a option where we can see open tabs from the back office…our old system had it and is was an excellent way to see how busy our business was remotely…Hope you guys can get this added soon..!!!!!!..Other than that we love it!!!!

    Rating44444

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Thom Nichols and Cindy Andrews

    This has been a very good product for us as new retail store owners. Their customer service is outstanding. Anytime we have needed some additional training or had any questions, they are only a phone call away. The staff are very pleasant to work with. Being a small, we are not using all the features yet however the ones we are using have been easy to implement and work with. We have been very happy with our choice. Plus we really like that they go through our local bank.

    Rating44444

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Loren Couch

    All, I am considering SK for a small retail store. My problem – I need to be able to print 3 receipts. For example, one receipt from AAA company, another receipt from BBB company, and a third receipt from CCC company. Has anyone encountered this issue and come up with a work around? Thanks.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Neil Thompson

    Amad,

    You’re a god-send! And hilarious to boot. 🙂
    I couldn’t find my answer, or I missed it… the biz I’m starting is all PC / Windows. But I don’t mind running an iPad based POS *if* I can do all of the behind the scenes work, data entry, etc. on a PC. I’m assuming this is not a problem. Thoughts? At my current job I use Clover. It’s quirky, but I’m very comfortable with it in many ways. On the other hand, it’s hardware is quite outdated and I don’t want to be locked into First Data. This is for a large wine shop and wine bar.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated. (I also wrote Merchant Maverick privately)

    Best,

    Neil

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Sue Pap

    Shopkeep is so easy to program and use. I love the cloud feature. The customer service is so fast and helpful. The easiest POS I have ever used. I would refer this to anyone.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jessica

    As a new business owner, I needed something that was easy for both me and my employees to use. Set up was a breeze and customer service has been very helpful and available – despite not really needing their help much. Being able to check sales, see the time clock and add items to the POS from my desktop on Back Office while the iPad stays free for my employees to ring up customers is incredibly convenient. The only issues I’ve had are minor; difficulty fixing errors I have made entering daily earnings, and occasionally the Bird’s Eye View in Back Office says it’s reporting the day’s stats when it is actually reporting for the week up to that point. Very minor issues that in no way outweigh all of the positive aspects of the software.

    Rating44444

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Kim Boudreau

    I have a ladies boutique and decided to use ShopKeep as our POS. I was pleased that there was a 30 day free trial. This gave me a chance to test run it before I decided to implement the program.
    I found the program was very easy to use and set up.
    ShopKeep works with my book keeping and email program.
    I love that I can access inventory, sales, etc from anywhere there is internet service.
    ShopKeep is a fairly new system so there are a few things that could be tweaked but they are constantly working to make it better and better.
    The monthly fee for the program maintenance is very low compared to other POS I checked into.
    The help desk is amazing to work with.
    The only draw back is the cost of some of the equipment. However, that can be justified by the fact that the equipment is very well made and lasts a long time.
    I hope that helps you with your decision when purchasing a POS.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Adriana Stowers

    Hi Kim!
    I own a boutique and was wondering if we could chat about this system before I purchase it.

    Thank you!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    John Thomson

    Hello Yes we can What would like to know. We are currently moving to EPOSNOW and psconnect for integrated payment as shopkeep do not offer it in the uk anymore

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    robert obrien

    I am a merchant. I have been using this app for over 2.5 years. I run a tea shop with 200 skews. I also use Shopify for e-Commerce but have not adopted their POS. I have my reasons and I can go over those with you as well.
    You can DM me at info@goodlifetea.com and we can chat over the phone.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Edward Denyer

    Shopkeep has been a wonderful addition to our business. The ipad interface is simple to use, the backoffice configutration and reporting has been integrated without any issues, and as a bonus we track all our employee hours with agaon, a simple and efficient interface. I highly recommend this solution for small or medium operations that want to get started with technology based solutions and that cannot afford to spend tremendous amounts of capital to implement. There may be more complete or feature rich options, but the cost side is impossible to beat!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Kathy Fictorie

    Shopkeep has been easy to load, easy to learn and customer service has always been ready to help when we have questions. Perfect fit for our small new business.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Sue Pap

    I have used Shopkeep for 3 years. I love it. It is so easy to program and change prices. When I have had a problem the customers service is answered by an employee right away. I have never been on hold or had to talk to a computerized voice. Have have been in the restaurant business all my life and this is the easiest POS system I have ever used. I love the Cloud. I can be anywhere and see what my shop is doing. I would highly recommend Shopkeep.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Neil Thompson

    Thank you for your comments, Sue. I’m considering ShopKeep, and yours and others reviews that show the history and support of this company are really helping me decide.

    Neil

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Cathy Berden

    I opened Harbor Outlet LLC late last year. By far ShopKeep’s Point of Sale System was the best purchase I made! I would strongly recommend it to anyone. So easy to understand & setup. I struggled for nearly 3 months trying to decide which system to go with. ShopKeep was a little more upfront, but less expensive in the long run with owning it and no monthly payments. I chose to use ShopKeep for everything to keep my bills simple and Simple it is. I owned another business prior to this one using only a cash register and quick books. This is tons easier and less expensive with credit card purchases. No one is paying me to say these things, I am a real person from Michigan and I am thrilled with my choice.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    A.Pelz

    We are using SK in our Canadian store. You think $50 American is alot per month. Try paying that bill monthly with our weak Canadian dollar. SK seemed like the answer for us but price vs benefits just aren’t there. Thought it would help out at tax time but to integrate it with Quickbooks is ANOTHER $40/month. Also in Canada we have to have a separate debit machine as the card reader will not work here. Should have just bought a plain old till. I really wish I would have found this site sooner and learned about everyone else’s trouble. I will add my one star rating and not recommend this system. Oh one other thing. They are relentless with the phone calls both before and after the purchase. They will not stop calling.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Joseph Agno

    Terrible customer service – STAY AWAY. This December their credit card processor did not work at the busiest times of the day in the busiest season – you cannot talk to anyone who can help, their suggestion – get another card processor. We processed a $300 sale (ID verified) and when it was flagged as fraud, Shopkeep did not back us up saying we did not buy the new EMV chip reader (we called in September and they said it wont be available till January so we did not get it – but even this conversation they deny and pass blame to whoever sales person I talked to) really???? They do not care about your business, we are switching to Chase RIGHT AWAY!!!!

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Emily Abernathy

    We have been using Shopkeep for our counter service restaurant POS since July, when we opened. I have used a lot of POS systems over the years and I must say, this is the most intuitive and by far the easiest to use. Every time I have thought, “I should be able to do…” I have been able to figure it out in minutes, or with a quick call to Shopkeep support. Our Shopkeep specialist, Mark Rinaldi, is always easy to get in touch with, patient, helpful, and really knows the hardware and software.
    This would be a five star review except for the fact that Shopkeep payments does not allow you to adjust credit card tips before you batch. If there is a mis-entry you cannot solve it in house, you have to jump through hoops with the payment processor. All in all, we are very satisfied with it’s capabilities, ease of use, affordability, performance, and support.

    Rating44444

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Bryan

    We signed up a 2 years ago. ShopKeep was relatively new, and it seemed as if they were Very Customer friendly. 2 Years later– Exactly the opposite. In order for my business to grow- I need a POS system to grow with me— ShopKeep is limited to it’s functionality and requests for improvements fall on deaf. Very Poor Decision on my part.

    Be careful before you choose ShopKeep as you POS System

    Rating22222

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Sandra Burn

    I have three stores using shopkeep and initially was thrilled! It was so easy to set up and use. I recommended it to several friends who were looking for a change in their POS as well. I started having problems with my iPads holding a charge and was told it was the responsibility of Apple because it was the iPads. I believe the card swipe is draining the battery life, there is no way that 3 different iPads could have the same problems. Customer service has been no help! Apple replaced the first iPad, but now the other two are having problems and about to be out of warranty. Shopkeep will take no responsibility for this and also offers no solutions.
    We have also had multiple double charges to customers. The registry will say it charge didn’t go through and to swipe again but the customer is charged twice. The worst part about this is that it doesn’t show up on our records, so we are unaware until the customer notices, calls us, and we have Shopkeep look it up. This is embarrassing and not a good way to do business!
    As for referrals, I had two friends give my name as a referral, and have even got an email, which I thankfully saved, that says I am to get a free chip card reader, but I haven’t seen anything and we have been trying to get this resolved for weeks. Not sure what the deal was with the $150 for each referral, I’ve never sen that either!
    I have a lot of money invested in shopkeep hardware and really don’t want to switch systems, but I’m very disappointed and looking around. I certainly will not recommend it to anyone at this point.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Theresa Conway

    Sandra, I feel your pain. I’ve had the same experience and more.

    I’m seeing a trend here though. It would seem that the system works more effectively initially and then begins to have problems. My experience with customer service is that it depends on who you get on the phone. So if you haven’t had to call very many times or have dealt with one person, thus very likely to have had a good experience.

    I’ve been pulling reports from Shopkeep since July of 2013. Today’s excuse for a glitch or whatever is causing the summary report to report two conflicting numbers for “Net Sales” is a supposed update that is causing the a 24 hour delay. So I was told to use the “Old Summary Report”. Really? When they transitioned to the new platform they said they were going to eventually discontinue the old summary report and discouraged from using it.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Paul

    We’ve had ShopKeep for about 9 months now.

    It is a very simple system. We’ve never had any technical or speed issues; it has always been right on the money.

    Here’s the deal: we’re primarily a web retailer with a physical storefront. We use a 3rd party aggregator to send inventory out to our channels. Unfortunately, Shopkeep can’t keep that shop. For some crazy reason, they don’t use SKUs. That means no updates. We use Quickbooks as well, and given the journal only entry, we weren’t willing to pay for that functionality. What does that mean? Well, dual inventory. We tried that for awhile. Now, we just load everything online, and take it from the store. When we get a store sale, there is no update to the web. We put SKUs into every description(Shopkeep’s primary driver), so that we just delete the description on Excel to make the sale work on QB. We’re about to move over to Shopify just to get the POS functionality.

    Seriously, ShopKeep, use Skus! Why wouldn’t you?

    Rating33333

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Mr. Rezvan

    ShopKeep has had exceptional customer service. More specifically Kevin Duffy has been extremely communicative and helpful throughout the process. Although new to ShopKeep we are very excited to implement and integrate this new POS system.

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Lorn Estes

    Shopkeeps level of support has been completely unacceptable. I should not be playing middle man for my credit card processing provider. I do not know the exact details of what they need from you. We are out at least three-thousand dollars in unfunded CC transactions. Everytime I call the number you provided, after sitting on hold for a substantial amount of time I end up talking to someone unfamiliar with the case. On an ongoing issue like this I should have had one person assigned and been provided a direct # to reach them, further, they should be capable of talking with my CC processor representatives. Obviously shopkeep has them on file. The level of support has led to me requesting a terminal from my processor to take shopkeep out of the CC loop, while it will add an unneeded layer to the process at least it will allow simplified troubleshooting and reliable payment. I will be looking for an alternative to shopkeep going forward as well.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Theresa Conway

    Hello Lorn,

    I completely understand what you are talking about. The interesting part of your discussions is how ShopKeep should be able to talk to your CC processing company. I found it interesting that Linda Tran was my contact for our CC processing company and yet her name and picture are on the ShopKeep website. I think there is a bigger picture here, but I don’t have time to figure it out.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Min

    We are using Shopkeep for our retail store now for a year. There is not a way to do an exchange for products. You have to do a complete return, and rering. This is not feasable for gifts etc. You also have to enter in a 25 digit trans# to do the return. If someone lost a receipt, it takes a long time to find the item they purchased. Also, doing inventory is horrible. There is no way to scan items you have in inventory and do a report. I recommend a different POS system for retail stores.

    Rating22222

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Gary

    I have used shopkeep for both of my retail locations for over a year now. I will simply recommend that anyone looking for a good POS based on an IPad should look somewhere else. The system itself is pretty good. As are the competitors versions. It’s shopkeep’s customer service which is horrible. They’re usual solution to any system problem is to update and reset the app. This works 1% of the time. Otherwise they will transfers you until you are diconnected. Managers are as little help as the techs and call center employees. And the “Live” help is for them to tell you to “reset your app” via text rather than over the phone. Please look at any other system unless you would like to waste hours of you day waiting for call backs, which lead to dead end results anyway. The company seems to believe only its time is of value.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Theresa

    I could write a book listing my dissatisfaction. Customer Service is a huge element. If you e-mail support, you’ll get a customer survey before you even hear from Shopkeep. There must not be very many support reps because I see the same name often and they still can’t keep track of the issue. I’ve written a straight forward message in an email including screen shots etc. and the rep would reply with an “out in left field” response. I’ve gotten the same run around about the ap. Hmmm… why not fix the software is my question. Now they are so intense about changing the interface and the software is still glitching. Feedback does not seem to impress them. I’ve been with Shopkeep for two years (not by choice) and in the last year they have consistently been going downhill. Errors on reports due to the software dropping credit card sales, tons of split tenders due to the software glitching, changes in the interface that require more clicks to get to where you want to go (so navigation sucks) plus all the time it takes for the user to transition along with Shopkeep developers that think they have nothing better to do then play with the way the web based program displays on your screen. Two last comments. The price is not a blanket $49.00 a month. Our monthly subscriptions have been increasing with no explanation of charges. Also you will see on these reviews a comment at the end that reads, “This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.” I’ve read the comments and for the most part, they are not outdated.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Dennis

    Wanted to go with something cutting edge for my multiple locations. So I went with Shopkeep and had a great deal with them for five terminals. I was going through my charges on Amex a noticed I was charged on three ocassions. So I called Shopkeep and was told this was the charge for 9 terminals. They had no clue of any deal. I had to forward a previous email of the deal in writing. I was so annoyed by the lack of customer service I returned all of my hardware. They do not make this process easy still waiting for my credit to my Amex. If you decide to go with them make sure it’s in writing.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Paul

    Shopkeep is a quick, simple way to run a small store. It’s fast, and it does some things well. For $49, you get pretty good reporting.

    What it lacks is Quickbooks functionality(yes, there is a connector, at an extra cost, and this only places a journal entry, not detail), and functional SKUS. What I mean is that it doesn’t work on SKU numbers, like everything else, it works on description or barcode. So, when we do an inventory, and want to import the store inventory into quickbooks, we can’t- because there are no skus to import. That was the frustrating thing.

    If you simply have a small store and you’re doing your books simply, this is it. Otherwise, they have a ways to go.

    Rating33333

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Brian Jowaisas

    Our sole complaint is that ShopKeep’s customer service personnel seem unable to understand that we have three partners and two of us opened trial versions of ShopKeep to see if it would work. One of us was concerned with the back office and accounting, the other wanted to see how the front end would look. Once we finally settled on ShopKeep as our POS, they turned off our system because there were two copies and they killed the wrong version, then after 30 minutes on the phone they turned it back on. Then, three weeks later, they revisited the working POS system and turned it off again because they saw some discrepancy…which caused another 40 minutes on the phone…then they turned it off a third time because they didn’t transfer the credit card information as we’d asked. I realize this is a complex operation…running a software company, integrating with with a payment processor… but I’m sure we’re not the only group to have a couple versions running at the same time…they’ve got to get a handle on this. It’s a disaster to turn off a start-up’s POS system. They need to tighten that up a bit…We’re stunned by the ineptitude. Love the POS, hate the customer service.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    J Johnson

    I bought this system for my store. The support is an uninformed crew and they have repeatedly told me things that just were not true about the system and most of the time they don’t seem to have a clue about more complex issues. Which is saying a lot because this is not a complex system. My latest debacle is with one of these uninformed support persons who decided to import a bulk management file that wiped out all of my triggers, re-order amounts and screwed up all my descriptions for 2100 items. I kept calling back getting yet another clueless help person until I finally demanded to speak to a supervisor that did not call me back until I sent a scathing email describing by situation to the support line. She worked all afternoon to find a file that restored my system. This took a week. But, unbelievably they have NO backup if you make a mistake, or someone else does, to restore your system. Now it appears that all of my quantities on hand are wrong and I am going to have to basically do another full inventory on my store for 2100 items to get it back to what it was before their support imported that bulk file without my knowledge and without knowing what they were doing and messed all of my inventory up. They need a knowledgeable support staff that does not have a prima donna attitude.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jessica Bowers

    I have worked in restaurants since I have been 18. I am now in my mid thirties and own my own. This is the least reliable system I have ever encountered. The problems are every single day and vary like crazy. First I had to buy wireless extenders to boost the router’s signal (even though I explained in detail the shop’s layout before purchasing the system). That didn’t work. Then I had to pay to have contractors run wire and hardwire the whole system- this has solved absolutely nothing. My kitchen printer receives tickets about 25% of the time. I have to turn it off and restart at least 6 times a day everyday. My receipt printer goes down about every other day. We have cc problems constantly. Sometimes the drawer won’t open for cash sales and I have to give the cashier the key to get it open. Sometimes the no sale button on one register pops open the drawer on the other machine. About twice a day in the middle of a sale the entire screen will go black and shut the app down completely. One day the receipt printer was printing blank receipts which is a real mystery considering the ink is in that paper. The service is pretty bad as well. One tech had me jamming a thermometer into the ipad’s headphone jack while he was promising that was the reset button even though I told him it was the headphone jack. He finally believed me after 4 attempts. Frequently when I call for help they are too busy to take the call and never return it and I have to call back again 3 hours later. It has been a horrible experience all the way around. There has not been one single day of business that it has not malfunctioned. Do yourself a favor and run in the opposite direction from this system.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Eileen

    I run a volunteer community coffee shop and the shopkeep app in general works well for us. As our staff only work 3 hour shifts each week or two weeks the ease of use is essential. However I was greatly disappointed by the purchasing experience as I was sold more than I needed (and returned part), was told certain options would be cheaper (but the salesperson didn’t inform me of the huge shipping cost to Canada). In the process of setting up this non profit coffee shop I was regularly out of my depth when purchasing – in every other case when I was up front about this and relied on the knowledge, honesty and good will of the salesperson we made out really well as people pitched in to help us get off to a good start. With shopkeep I had the opposite experience. Although I would recommend the app, it is definitely buyer beware when purchasing.

    Rating44444

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Leslie Howard

    ShopKeep (just a few minutes ago) closed out a supposed user Q&A which ended up coming off as a controlled infomercial. Three different offices here tried to ask questions, including one about the infamous multiple tax issue, and the marketing guy who fed questions to the founder, Jason, kept saying, “If there are no more questions…” and then moving to another prepared issue.

    They damaged their credibility with all of us–we aren’t sure we can comfortably recommend this product to clients if this is how ShopKeep in its newly branded mode handles business. Sad!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Katie

    “Full service restaurants would do well to look elsewhere–the system lacks the ability to suspend sales (crucial for managing several tables’ orders at once).”

    As of about a week ago, suspended tickets have now been added…this small cafe owner rejoices 🙂

    Rating55555

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Dave Eagle

    Thanks for the tip, Katie! I’ll check this out and update the review accordingly.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Terry

    After reading your review, I believed I had found a reason to change my mind from another product I was considering (saving a bit of cash in the process). After checking further, and reading some of the customer forums on the Shopkeep site, I believe it bears repeating that Shopkeep does not support integration with ANY webstore applications that I can find. They had made a decision to move away from Shopify in early 2013, which seemed to start quite the outcry from those who had either just purchased the product or were about to. Shopify CEO, Jason, responded with apologies and assurances that, while difficult, the decision was made to offer better than what they had originally developed and they were working on a solution. My concern is that, over a year later, Shopkeep still has NOTHING in place to offer for web integration with any service provider. That means dual inventory tracking as far as the eye can see. For me, this was absolutely something I was unwilling to do without. Looked like a really nice system, but promises made and not delivered on over a year later give me cause for concern. Just my two cents, and probably not worth much more.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Kelly

    Terry, what software did you decide to use?

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Noli

    Hello Terry,
    Mind me asking, are you aware of a system that will cover inventory for both in store and web store simultaneously? This is exactly what I am looking for at this time.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Michael

    That’s exactly why we chose VEND HQ over Shopkeep. VEND HQ has a seemless integration with Shopify and has been working for us for over 2 years.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Larry Mesiti

    I have been using shopkeep for over a year and have been asking for a second tax rate but no luck yet so I have been over taxing people on items. Also on the latest update they added a prompt for the customer to turn the screen around to the server. I don’t need my customers to do that and they are more confused by the prompt and you can’t turn it off. I have had it and am looking for a new app.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Dave Eagle

    Larry, for what it’s worth: I’m currently researching/testing Shopkeep for an update review, and their support team confirmed that they expect the second tax rate to be available in the very near future. I agree it shouldn’t have taken this long, though – doesn’t seem very complicated.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Larry Mesiti

    How complicated can it be it seems that every other pos system has it already. If you are competing with these other companies how could it not be included in the first version? I’m thinking of going to ncr silver but my gripe with them is you can’t specify what items are being sent to the kitchen to order you have to send the whole order and the chef has to pick out what he needs to make. Again how can a company that says it is tailored to the restaurant industry roll out a product like that? It is made for retailers and oh, maybe a guy in the restaurant business can use it too

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    JOHN

    IM TRYING TO BUY THE SHOPKEEP WHAT DO YOU THINK
    SHOPKEEP OR NCR SILVOR ?

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    JOHN

    How Do You Compare Them Shopkeep OR NCR Silver
    i have A Wholesale Business .

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Fletcher S.

    I have only just installed the hardware, so I may review again after having used the POS for awhile, but thought it necessary to post a warning for others considering purchasing this software.

    I operate a full service restaurant, and my salesman, Josh, sold me on the system complete with a second printer for the kitchen tickets. After setting everything up, I came to realize that in order for the kitchen printer to spit out a ticket, the sale must be closed, and payment received. Since we charge customers at the end of the meal, like every other restaurant on earth, tickets for the kitchen are only printed after the food has been prepared, consumed, and paid for. When I contacted customer service, they told me to hand write tickets for the kitchen – I was flabbergasted to say the least.

    Josh has now advised of a dual – order workaround, sending seperate orders to the kitchen with a zero cost, then sending them again when the client pays, then reconciling the two stacks of tickets. Wow, this is really really really inconvenient. I thought this large expense would simplify my life! Furthermore, I feel I’ve been lied to and ripped off – why would they sell me on a kitchen printer which can’t send in orders until after they are paid for? My guess is they assume I’m too busy to break it all down, return it, and order a different system. We will yet see if they are correct!

    So, if you have a coffee shop or fast food place, and you don’t mind dealing with dishonest sales folks, the interface seems easy and clean, and it’s a breeze to set up.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jeff Bass

    This is not a critique per say as much as it is a warning. This system has a good concept but as the user Michael alluded to in March 2013, the system has some serious flaws. The time clock issue is a concern, because the same pass code used by employees to clock in also allows them access to the register. There is nothing stopping them from entering a .01 sale and robbing you blind. The only possible saving grace is that there is a report that shows who has been in the register. The other problem is that the time is Eastern so the clock is always off by 1 hour. The biggest concern I have with this system however, is the credit card “charge” feature. Whenever you swipe a card to charge a sale, 2 buttons appear – CHARGE and ENTER. The charge button actually charges the card while the ENTER button only place the charge in a “pending authorization” mood. If you accidentally press enter (which is VERY easy to do because it appears much larger than the charge button) you will have to re-swipe the card. If you don’t go back in and swipe it again, the charge will fall off and you will not receive credit for the sale. The bad part is that the customer has 2 charges on their credit card bill immediately afterwards which causes them to call or return complaining about the double charge. As a restaurant owner, I don’t have time to watch each employee to ensure that they are not accidentally pressing enter. I am constantly calling Shopkeep to find out if transactions were charged or to appease customers by having them to delete the pending authorization. I have no idea how much time and money I have lost using this system because they will not go back more than 14 days to verify if a purchase was actually charged or not. I was extremely frustrated when the representative told me that this has been an ongoing problem with the system however there isn’t anything published to warn you of this fact.
    If you don’t have Shopkeep, don’t get it! This system is for VERY small businesses that have time to constantly monitor the system almost hourly and have enough patience to call the Shopkeep “support” team. As soon as I am able to, I will be moving to a different system.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Kathy Schmitz

    I’m researching before buying, and am just looking at ShopKeep now, as well as reviews of it. Since SK advertises that there are no long-term agreements and no cancellation fees, why aren’t unhappy clients moving on to another system? It’s a serious question, not a criticism… I’m wondering if there’s an unspoken or hidden reason why they are tied to this software. Of course, the expense of purchased hardware is a consideration, but I’d guess that some or all of it could be used with another software, or sold to recapture some of the cost. Perhaps it’s the hassle of another software change and the whole new “set up” and training time, effort, and frustration, and the learning curve… all of which are de-motivators. For me, too. But I’m curious and concerned… and would like to know before we go much farther in considering this software.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Royce

    Since you can export all of your inventory data there is not too much of a hassle. If most people export financial data to Quicken or other accounting software, that could all be done before you change over too. I haven’t seen anything that would tie someone to this POS system as all of the hardware parts are quite generic and the service fees are monthly. Once your data is out, you can be gone in a flash.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Michael

    Recently bought this. The customer service is great and they are obviously a company on the right track. That being said………

    The system is AWFUL….

    The time clock is a joke
    the reports lack detail
    The cashout/closeout shows no detail and offers no help/direction if the till is off
    No gift cards
    no split tender
    no customer/employee tab system
    and on and on and on.

    The more we use it the more we find it lacking. I’ve been in the restaurant business for 20 years and the computers/POS of 20 years ago could accomplish these basic tasks. SHopkeep stands on the idea of not releasing features before they are ready but these are pretty basic functions. unfortunately my 4 year old PC finally died and I cant go back, otherwise I would. I don’t want to sound like a hater. Its got merit….. but a long way to go. If you are looking at upgrading, this is not it. We feel like we took a huge step backward.
    I urge you to do your homework before you commit to 50$ a month.
    Simply put, I feel like I bought a cell phone that does everything but make phone calls. You kind of assume these decades old features would be included in your shiny new toy.

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Brenda

    Thanks Michael for your input. I have been researching new systems and you are right, things like split tender and close out details are things that my old register do very easily. Thanks for the information

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    chris h

    Which pos system would u recommend?

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Adam

    ditto Michael’s comment

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    rob rivera

    i own a taco stand and need to do inventory and run sales and do employee time tracking. since you guys said shop keep isnt that good, have any of you found a better alternative?

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Nate Fox

    Try Revelsystems.com it has inventory and time tracking and gift cards from many vendors but you will have to pay for it unlike Shopkeep which is basically free but you get what you pay for.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Phil Shooks

    Hi
    I am a Locksmith, I specialize in Automotive lock & key service, I do not offer commercial or residential service. Most of my work is emergency service. Road service. At the vehicle. Replacing lost keys, programming transponder/chip keys repairing/ replacing locks, unlocking vehicles. I am looking for a cloud based or online POS system w inventory control, bar code scanning, CRM, Scheduling, possibly w quickbooks integration, or 1 w its own reports. Android smart phone and tablet compatible would be nice. These are what I use a motorola droid mini phone, and a samsung galaxy tab 2 . Any suggestions, or ideas would be appreciated. Phil

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Amad Ebrahimi

    Phil,

    I’m going to send you an email so we can discuss.

    Thank you,
    Amad

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Chapin

    NO ECOMMERCE SUPPORT AT ALL NOW!!!

    NOT EVEN SHOPIFY.

    DO NOT USE, WASTE OF TIME.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Craig

    I have a new Star SM S200I bluetooth printer, why can you not support it?. I am a trial user and this might be a deal breaker

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Lisa

    In general Shopkeep is fine. Lots of bugs. Definitely good only for coffee shops, etc. I have a small pet boutique, I have had nothing but headaches.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    sunder

    our is small grocery store
    The Mac register is built for stores with hundreds or thousands of items. This version has no buttons for items, so all goods sold must be rung up with barcode scanning or utilizing the keyboard to run an item search.
    No End-of-day Summary
    Not Customizable
    Button Management Difficult
    Gift Card Processing Troublesome
    No General Ledger System

    when these problems will be solved

    Rating33333

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Royce

    Not sure what you are reviewing but it doesn’t seem to be ShopKeep. It is actually ideal, capacity wise, for your store. I can’t see using this in a huge store. This version has pages and pages of space for buttons. There is an End-of_Day summary. It is the first thing on the Report menu. You can customize MANY of the features of the program and the way it looks to your cashiers. The Gift Card Processing can’t be troublesome because it hasn’t been released yet.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Nate Fox

    If you have thousands of items best you look at Revel Systems iPad POS for such features you are asking for. ONly bad part is you have to pay for it so if you are not in a place then do not bother as they charge 1000 for software upfront for each station and 50 dollars a month for each station. But it will work for grocery stores that have over 10000 items which sounds like you need. It also has gift cards from multi vendors not just one.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Dilip

    Hi thanks for your reviews. I am looking for a cloud based POS solution and I was very close to using VEND. The only problem is I live in Singapore where 1. Service tax of 10% 2. GST 7% is imposed. Vend could not handle two tax types (though I suspect it’s not a difficult problem to get around). Do you know any solutions specifically for a bar/cafe?
    We do like Vend of everything we have seen so far. We require a firm that works globally and not city or country specific.

    Rating22222

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    mitch

    will they be able to take gift cards soon? any time clock function being considered?

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Jon Taylor

    Time clock was recently announced and gift cards are coming before the year end last time I was reading their forums.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Just-a-guy

    Yep, gift card feature will be arriving pretty soon.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Rebecca

    Wow. Good to see the POS system I researched and chose has the highest rating. However, not having gift card integration is TERRIBLE and extremely frustrating having to log in to Mercury Pay Virtual Terminal (which takes logging into the main screen and logging in AGAIN to the second screen just to issue a gift card or swipe it for use.

    When they have this integrated as well as better RETURN options, it will be a GREAT POS system…

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    T Costimo

    Shopkeep software is massively buggy

    Rating11111

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Amad E.

    Thanks for the comment T Costimo. Can you give us some examples?

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Nate Fox

    That is pretty funny as i have tried a lot of software out there even Microsoft that is what 30 years old and it is still buggy not sure what you mean by shopkeep is buggy? 😉 I think software is to be expected buggy. Heck my iPad has bugs in it why you think they put out a 7.0, 7.1 7.2 7.4 so fast for the iPad IOS releases? They got bugs to so don’t knock Shopkeep for being buggy. Respect the software designers that work hard to build software to help the world succeed!

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

    Anthony Carestia

    Very nice look and feel, but only one tax rate and only one special tender type…those are limitations I cannot live with.

    RatingNot Rated

    This comment refers to an earlier version of this review and may be outdated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating

Your Review

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.
Please read the "User Review and Comment Policy" before posting.

Share